1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Map of Beleriand (126x80)

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Pre-made Maps' started by AndrewDJ, Nov 5, 2005.

  1. AndrewDJ

    AndrewDJ Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Messages:
    139
    Location:
    Eau Claire, WI
    This is the first time I've ever posted on a forum--Civ IV is cool enough to make me delurk. :D

    Anyway, this is a map of Beleriand, from the First Age of Tolkien's Middle Earth. I used as a base a very zoomed-out screenshot of the map from my favorite Civ II scenario, Dagor Bragollach: Battle of Sudden Flame, stretched vertically a bit, and started tracing, then ran it through the BMP to WBS program.

    It's got height, terrain, features, and rivers, but not resources; it was run through at a setting of seven civilizations and it needs tweaking for things like starting locations, etc. Unfortunately, its X-Y dimensions are 126 by 80 :eek: and on my 1.1 GHz Celeron, 320 MB Ram, 64 MB GeForce3 Ti rig it takes five-plus minutes to open the darn thing, so I'm not really in a position to make changes until I've saved enough for an upgraded rig.

    Anyway, here it is, along with the bitmaps, knock yerselves out wi' it.

    Andrew
     

    Attached Files:

  2. abbamouse

    abbamouse Rodent

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2002
    Messages:
    177
    This reminds me of my own War of the Jewels mod for Civ II. I'd love to see a version of it for Civ IV but my big weakness has always been art. I can design maps just fine but units and leaderheads are out of the question.
     
  3. civaddict098

    civaddict098 Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Messages:
    455
    Location:
    USA
    care to post a screen shot?
     
  4. AndrewDJ

    AndrewDJ Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Messages:
    139
    Location:
    Eau Claire, WI
    Eh, a screenie of the map would probably crash my computer, but here's an enlargement of the Beleriand_R.bmp, which gives you some of the flavor.

    The major river system in the center is in the Forest of Doriath, the ring of hills to the south-west is Nargothrond, the ring of mountains just to the northwest of Doriath is Gondolin, and the arc of mountains in the center of the north edge is Thangorodrim/Angband. The north-south chain of mountains in the east is the Ered Luin. The hilly region immediately north of Doriath is Dorthonion, while the mountain range separating Dorthonion and Doriath is the Ered Gorgoroth, the Mountains of Terror.

    The patch of tundra between Ered Gorgoroth and Dorthonion is supposed to be Nan Dungortheb, the Valley of Dreadful Death.

    Andrew
     

    Attached Files:

  5. MSTK

    MSTK Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,154
    Awesome work! Great to see another Lord of the Rings "fan" who doesn't think that watching the movies makes them an expert and have actually read the Silmarillion and the HoME series.
     
  6. AndrewDJ

    AndrewDJ Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Messages:
    139
    Location:
    Eau Claire, WI
    Heh, thanks. I read Lord of the Rings and the Hobbit for the first time when I was eight or nine, tried to read the Silmarillion but got bored, then finally did read it when I was 14. I used to be a regular on ElendorMUSH back in the day, but I kinda outgrew it, I guess.

    Anyway, back on topic, I'm working on a Third Age Map, based off of Harlan Thompson's Civ II scenario--another favorite. I've got height, terrain, and features done (subbing in jungle for swamp), but the rivers are giving me fits--once you shrink the bitmaps down, you can't see where the rivers are on the source bitmap. I think I can come up with a work-around, though.

    Andrew
     
  7. t3h_m013

    t3h_m013 Prince

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2004
    Messages:
    481
    thank god for tolkein. I might have to give making a redwall map a go one day...
     
  8. GoldEagle

    GoldEagle Deity of All Drummers

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Messages:
    804
    Location:
    Florida's Space Coast
    No resources? X(
     
  9. AndrewDJ

    AndrewDJ Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Messages:
    139
    Location:
    Eau Claire, WI
    No, no resources. In part, that's because resource placement is to some extent a game-balancing issue, and I'm not very good at that. I had planned to put them in with WorldBuilder, but my PC is just barely below minimum specs, and trying to load a map the size of Beleriand is a Bad Thing. :sad: I'm running CIV on a Celeron 1.1 GHz with 320 MB RAM and a 64MB GeForce 3.

    However, thanks to a timely inheritance, I should soon be replacing my slowpoke machine with an Alienware Area-51 5500. :D That should give me the oomph I need to play & edit huge maps.
     

Share This Page