1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

[MAP] Ozzy's America for The Authentic Colonization [TAC] mod

Discussion in 'Civ4Col - Mods and Files' started by OzzyKP, Apr 25, 2012.

  1. OzzyKP

    OzzyKP Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2000
    Messages:
    1,684
    Location:
    Washington, DC USA
    This is a map/scenario for those of you who want to play a more historical/realistic game. I've taken the great New World map by Modfather and added several terrain tweaks. Then I paired it with The Authentic Colonization mod.

    All the natives have been placed in earth-accurate locations. I've also set the French, Dutch, Portuguese, English, and Spanish to start in more accurate locations so each are closer to more historical territory for them. The Spanish have been given a small head-start too.



    I've also tweaked the high seas, so no player is burdened by being too far away from Europe.

    So if you are tired of playing as the English and ending up in Argentina next to the Sioux, this is the map/scenario for you!

    Download Here

    To play you need The Authentic Colonization mod. Unzip this file into your PublicMaps folder and enjoy!


    To change leaders:
    Spoiler :

    1. Open up the map in a text editor (like Notepad).
    2. Do a "find" (ctrl + f) for "BeginPlayer"
    3. You'll see a list of all the leaders in the game. Find the one you want to change.
    4. Find the lines that say something like:
    LeaderType=LEADER_ADAMS
    LeaderName=TXT_KEY_LEADER_ADAMS

    5. Change that to any of the following leaders (note that LEADER_SAN_MARTIN will get you Cortes and LEADER_ADAMS will get you Penn):

    LeaderType=LEADER_WASHINGTON
    LeaderName=TXT_KEY_LEADER_WASHINGTON

    LeaderType=LEADER_ADAMS
    LeaderName=TXT_KEY_LEADER_ADAMS

    LeaderType=LEADER_CHAMPLAIN
    LeaderName=TXT_KEY_LEADER_CHAMPLAIN

    LeaderType=LEADER_FRONTENAC
    LeaderName=TXT_KEY_LEADER_FRONTENAC

    LeaderType=LEADER_BOLIVAR
    LeaderName=TXT_KEY_LEADER_BOLIVAR

    LeaderType=LEADER_SAN_MARTIN
    LeaderName=TXT_KEY_LEADER_SAN_MARTIN

    LeaderType=LEADER_DONCK
    LeaderName=TXT_KEY_LEADER_DONCK

    LeaderType=LEADER_STUYVESANT
    LeaderName=TXT_KEY_LEADER_STUYVESANT

    LeaderType=LEADER_DE_SA
    LeaderName=TXT_KEY_LEADER_DE_SA

    LeaderType=LEADER_SOUSA
    LeaderName=TXT_KEY_LEADER_SOUSA

    6. Save the file, then play. :)
     
    Last edited: Jul 24, 2019
  2. Writing Bull

    Writing Bull Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    158
    Location:
    Germany
    Thank you for that map, Ozzy! I have written about your project at our TAC development forum. Here is our thread for maps. Perhaps some German, Austrian and Swiss users, who aren't users of CivFanatics, will be glad to get your map. :king:
     
  3. OzzyKP

    OzzyKP Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2000
    Messages:
    1,684
    Location:
    Washington, DC USA
  4. Nolan08

    Nolan08 Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Messages:
    115
    Location:
    Bend
    Can't play this map.

    I didn't edit any of the leader names, am I supposed to before playing the game?

    It just has an error and quits every time I try playing this map.
     
  5. OzzyKP

    OzzyKP Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2000
    Messages:
    1,684
    Location:
    Washington, DC USA
    Did you follow these steps?

    1. Unzip map here:
    My Documents -> My Games -> Sid Meier's Civilization IV Colonization -> PublicMaps
    2. Open game.
    3. Go to Advanced -> Load a Mod -> TAC 2.02d_inoffiziell
    4. Go to Single Player -> Play a Scenario -> [TAC] Ozzy's America

    That works just fine for me. Do those steps not work for you? At which point does it crash?
     
  6. Nolan08

    Nolan08 Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Messages:
    115
    Location:
    Bend
    1. I put the map in Sid Meier's Civ IV Colonization -> Public Maps folder. Although it is not My Documents for me, it is the C drive.

    2. I open the game fine.

    3. I load the mod.

    4. I go to the play a scenario screen and I select a leader and as the game initializes with a loading screen, just as it is about to start the game, it crashes on me.
     
  7. EoJl

    EoJl Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Nolan08, try put in Colonization\Mods\TAC 2.02d_inoffiziell\PublicMaps
     
  8. OzzyKP

    OzzyKP Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2000
    Messages:
    1,684
    Location:
    Washington, DC USA
  9. Writing Bull

    Writing Bull Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    158
    Location:
    Germany
    Ozzy, I had presented your map at the German TAC development forum. Unfortunately it is not possible to play that scenario by using TAC 2.02d, the current version of TAC.

    If the victory conditions independance and domination are enabled, the player wins the game immediately. If domination is enabled and no other condition, Colonization crashs before the map is created.
     
  10. OzzyKP

    OzzyKP Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2000
    Messages:
    1,684
    Location:
    Washington, DC USA
    I've updated the map! I just tried it out and it seems to work ok for TAC 2.03.
     
  11. MrFeline

    MrFeline Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    I love this map! Anyone know of any others for TAC?
     

Share This Page