1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

[Map Script] Chess

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Map Scripts' started by Sto, Feb 20, 2006.

  1. Sto

    Sto Should i code today ...

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,143
    Location:
    Marseille (France)
    This is a very simple map concept that generate 5X5 tiles squares Surrounded by mountain or water . the only one stategy ,get the corners !





    To install:

    -The script is included with other map scripts in Full of Resources

    I keep this thread opened for specific question with chess ...
     
  2. Sto

    Sto Should i code today ...

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,143
    Location:
    Marseille (France)
    This is not a new map , but i want to separate it from the 'full of resources' thread .

    Tcho!
     
  3. Sto

    Sto Should i code today ...

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,143
    Location:
    Marseille (France)
    Hi !

    I added two files which will be used as a basis for a future editor . Sto_Gobal.txt and Sto_Annexe.txt are two current files which are used to generate the map. Script creates also a Sto_Global.bak file which will be used as library (according to MODS played) when the editor will be finished.
    It will be a little tool to edit the start resources ,units , and custom buttons ..

    I've added some few new buttons ,and change the terrain generator (no more replaced) .
    I don't know if the script is compatible with all os or language ,so do not hesitate to reply me if you have problems with the map!! I will finish the editor before applying changes to the classical maps .

    Tcho!
     
  4. Sto

    Sto Should i code today ...

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,143
    Location:
    Marseille (France)
    A bug with resources placement when spreading resources by region fixed !
     
  5. GiantGuineaPig

    GiantGuineaPig Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Messages:
    72
    Played this map a few times now, thanks. How did you get the large rivers/sea between everything, as per that screenshot?
     
  6. Sto

    Sto Should i code today ...

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,143
    Location:
    Marseille (France)
    HI!
    Sorry for this late answer .

    I will make an help for the maps with the editor (i think i need one more week to do it ) .

    To have more lakes , put the large lakes button to yes and it allow to have lakes that touch each other . I recommand you to put replace peak with lakess also : it makes an interest to have little cities that connect seas .

    Tcho
     
  7. Sto

    Sto Should i code today ...

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,143
    Location:
    Marseille (France)
    new version of the map:

    - some new buttons to define : start resources ,default resources .

    - a little editor to customize the parameters .

    Have fun games ,Tcho !
     
  8. Sto

    Sto Should i code today ...

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,143
    Location:
    Marseille (France)
    Bug fixed !

    A strange bug , a missing unit description in a MOD made the editing parameters false !
     
  9. Sto

    Sto Should i code today ...

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,143
    Location:
    Marseille (France)
    New version of the map :
    I've done a new resources generator that allow the player to choose standart placement of resources ,or standart generation of resources .

    Look at Readme.txt for more details

    Tcho !

    (I forgot something ! For those who already have put a previous version : Please delete Sto_Settings.bak before copying the new folder StoFiles ... I'm sorry you will loose your config if you used the editor . I will not forget to update this for the next version !)
     
  10. Sto

    Sto Should i code today ...

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,143
    Location:
    Marseille (France)
  11. Sto

    Sto Should i code today ...

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,143
    Location:
    Marseille (France)
    Sto_Chess compatible 1.61 is out !
     
  12. Sto

    Sto Should i code today ...

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,143
    Location:
    Marseille (France)
    A little bug corrected into the debugger that can prevent tech , animals and barbarians to appear !

    tcho!
     
  13. Sto

    Sto Should i code today ...

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,143
    Location:
    Marseille (France)
    Bug fixed for FFH2 . I also change the water definition of the map .

    Tcho!
     
  14. Sto

    Sto Should i code today ...

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,143
    Location:
    Marseille (France)
    Quick adaptation of Sto_Chess with the new implementation : starting resources, units, technos, traits .

    - For the trait , i add a pop up ( if you play with lots of traits ) to tell you what are your Traits . ( will be include into lakes and archipelago when adding some other maps )

    Tcho !
     
  15. CivTycoon

    CivTycoon A Bit Out of the Ordinary

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    Zangaro
    Looks interesting, but how are you going to get past the mountains on the borders of each "square"?
     
  16. Sto

    Sto Should i code today ...

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,143
    Location:
    Marseille (France)
    There are no mountains on the corners ... just give it a try. You can also replace mountains with water.

    This map is funny with some additionnal barbarians, resources in lakes and a few times in MP ^^.

    Tcho !
     
  17. civ editor11

    civ editor11 Ruler

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Messages:
    999
    Location:
    U.S.
    Is this for BTS 3.19?
     
  18. Sto

    Sto Should i code today ...

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,143
    Location:
    Marseille (France)
    Yes it's included with full of resources.

    Tcho !
     

Share This Page