1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Marnz Motor Company

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Mod Components' started by bmarnz, Oct 14, 2007.

  1. bmarnz

    bmarnz Prince

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2007
    Messages:
    441
    Location:
    Pennsylvania, USA
  2. maverick_mw

    maverick_mw Toy Soldier

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Messages:
    196
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Nice on Marnz, thats another one to add to the collection.

    One thing though, everything works except the little icon on the city bar doesn't display...
     
  3. bmarnz

    bmarnz Prince

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2007
    Messages:
    441
    Location:
    Pennsylvania, USA
    Thanx :D

    If your testing it with worldbuilder, make sure you give yourself appropriate techs and are hooked up to necessary resource.
     
  4. maverick_mw

    maverick_mw Toy Soldier

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Messages:
    196
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Hmm, yeah I was but it even happens (or rather doesn't happen) in game too.

    Same goes for your fashion house one as well. I can see the "icon" is appearing blank because when I assign it it shift any other icons along, there just seems to be a gap where the icon should be...
     
  5. bmarnz

    bmarnz Prince

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2007
    Messages:
    441
    Location:
    Pennsylvania, USA
    Hmmm... Are you using mod as is, or did you merge into another mod?
     
  6. doompigeon

    doompigeon Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Messages:
    98
    How would I combine these two mods so that both Marnz Motor Company *and* Fashion House are available corporations? I realize that your full mod does this, but although I'm sure it's great, I'd rather keep the game simpler for now.
     
  7. bmarnz

    bmarnz Prince

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2007
    Messages:
    441
    Location:
    Pennsylvania, USA
    I have combined my corps into one mod. Follow link in first post.
     
  8. doompigeon

    doompigeon Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Messages:
    98
    That's great!

    ... Is this 3.13 compatible, though? Sorry to be so demanding, but when I checked the civilopedia the original corporate wonders gave +4 gold per city and your new two gave 5. Could you please either look into this or at least tell me which lines I need to change to make the corporations equal?
     
  9. bmarnz

    bmarnz Prince

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2007
    Messages:
    441
    Location:
    Pennsylvania, USA
    Thanks, forgot to change this. I have updated the corporation combo mod to reflect the 3.13 changes.

    If anyone has just one of my corps and would like to update it, open CorporationCombo/Assets/XML/GameInfo/CIV4CorporationInfo.xml and find <HeadquarterCommerces>, change 5 to 4. Make this change for each corporation.
     
  10. Ekmek

    Ekmek on steam: ekmek_e

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2002
    Messages:
    6,045
    Location:
    San Diego, California
    bmarnz,

    I was thinking of making a motor company when I came across yours. I was thinking of having a building called "autofactory" or something that can only be built if you have the motor company and that building grants the promotion of "motorized transport" (giving a move bonus) for all foot units. You think it'll work?
     
  11. bmarnz

    bmarnz Prince

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2007
    Messages:
    441
    Location:
    Pennsylvania, USA
    Neat idea. Shouldn't be too difficult. there's a vehicle factory in BtS scenario road to war. there's corp. prereq tag and free promo tag in buildinfos. For the promo just copy navigation and change name and valid unitclasses. Hardest part would be making promo button. :cool:
     
  12. Aussie_Lurker

    Aussie_Lurker Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Messages:
    7,711
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    This is really good work, but doesn't this risk making the Corporation too powerful? As a suggestion, I would have it grant a bonus to only two areas-like Culture & Science, Production & Science or Production & Culture. Heck, how about Commerce & Culture or Commerce & Science? Anyway, just some suggestions-but great mod!

    Aussie_Lurker.
     
  13. bmarnz

    bmarnz Prince

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2007
    Messages:
    441
    Location:
    Pennsylvania, USA
    The other combinations were taken, and I wanted it to be unique. To compensate for this, the corp receives less of a bonus per resource in each category compared to other corps.
     
  14. rockinroger

    rockinroger WoC Team Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,312
    Location:
    Overland Park, Kansas
    Hi while working on the fashion house for inclusion to the WoC, i ran across a error in your combo mod. The Unit_Merchant does not include Building_Corporation_8. Here is a updated unit info if you want it. Hope it helps! Keep up the good work!:goodjob:
     

    Attached Files:

  15. nikusha_marx

    nikusha_marx Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    please help me...
    how can i install this mod:(
     
  16. Ekmek

    Ekmek on steam: ekmek_e

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2002
    Messages:
    6,045
    Location:
    San Diego, California
    Marnz,

    anyway you can explain Civ4CorporationInfo.xml to me? especially the headquarters, commercesproduced, and yield parts. thx
     
  17. hun+celt

    hun+celt Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2006
    Messages:
    36
    Location:
    East Coast, US
    I'm trying to use your mod as a template for adding my own corporations. The XML is fairly easy for me to work, but this is my first foray into python. I tried visually comparing your MainInterface file with the original file to see what you changed, but I'm stumped (granted, that's not hard...). I eventually want to merge this into Dale's Combat Mod, which also has this file changed, so finding your changes are more important than just using your files. Any help/tips would be greatly appreciated.
     
  18. johny smith

    johny smith Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,273
    Well there is no change in the maininterface.py in these files only changes are the corporation screen. If you want to use my stuff it may help. You don't need his corporation screen if you use mine. Anyway in my screens I added a scroll bar, and here is the link.


    http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?t=260697
     
  19. Amra

    Amra the Lion

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,036
    Location:
    Khauran
    @hun+celt
    A great free program for comparing files to find the changes is WinMerge.
     
  20. Amra

    Amra the Lion

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,036
    Location:
    Khauran

Share This Page