1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Master of Orion 2 unofficial patch

Discussion in 'Other Civ-Related Games' started by Rocco.40, Feb 7, 2016.

  1. Rocco.40

    Rocco.40 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2015
    Messages:
    576
    - save it in folder that has the other maps, that you already found /150/mods/maps
    - it will show in Launcher after restart of the Launcher
    - if it doesn't show, then make sure the extension is really .CFG and not for example .cfg.txt or something
     
  2. plasmacannon

    plasmacannon Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,559
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Orlando, Florida
    I found it. It was accidentally saved in the MOO2 folder.
    I moved it to the correct folder, however, even though I saved with the cfg extention, Explorer shows MAP5_GM3_MP.cfg as a text document.
    I don't think Notepad recognizes cfg as it's own format.
    I could try to resave it in WordPad or MS Word?
    Don't know if that would work.
     
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2018
  3. Rocco.40

    Rocco.40 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2015
    Messages:
    576
    yes, by default win explorer shows .cfg as a text doc. nothing wrong with that.
    but does Launcher now show the map?
     
  4. plasmacannon

    plasmacannon Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,559
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Orlando, Florida
  5. Rocco.40

    Rocco.40 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2015
    Messages:
    576
    can you try again, this time by right-clicking the link and choosing 'save-target-as' from pop-up menu, pointing it to the /maps folder.
    that should do the trick
     
  6. plasmacannon

    plasmacannon Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,559
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Orlando, Florida
    I think we are getting close. I believe it's not finding it because it's not in the correct folder.
    So, lets figure this out.
    I have 1.50 installed in the C:/Program Files (x86)/GalaxyClient/Games/Master of Orion 2 folder from when Gog installed it.
    In that 150 folder, there is a mods/150 folder which just has the languages (150c, 150i, 150m).
    mods/ice for it's appropriate files.
    and a mods/maps folder. This is where I first placed it.

    If I avoid the mods folder and look into the 150/launcher folder, there is a MOO2.1.50.11 folder.
    That too has a 150/mods folder.
    In it there is a 150 folder, again for the language folders.
    There is the ice folder again.
    and the maps folder.
    In this maps folder within the launcher main folder is where I just right clicked and saved the file.
    So, now it's in both locations where I thought it should be.

    EDIT: Oh wait. I saved it again into a maps folder and it shows up now. TY.
     
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2018
  7. Rocco.40

    Rocco.40 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2015
    Messages:
    576
    ok, good it works now.
    fyi- if you look in Launcher menu 'Tools' you can see 'Mods directory' which automatically brings you to correct /mods/
    (and subfolder of it is /maps/)

    fyi2-the Launcher directory you mention is place where all original install files reside. they are not used in-game, but you can restore files from here by c/p should files become corrupted.
     
    plasmacannon likes this.
  8. neilkaz

    neilkaz Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    975
    Location:
    Chicago Suburbs
    I believe I've noticed a small bug in ICE 18a, Distortion Fields research costs the same 3500 RP as Subspace Fields which precedes it. Per tech tree online, D. Fields should cost 4500 RP.

    .. thx .. neilkaz ..
     
  9. Rocco.40

    Rocco.40 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2015
    Messages:
    576
    Good catch! Fixed it for next release (also next Quantum Field, which is also too low).
     
  10. neilkaz

    neilkaz Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    975
    Location:
    Chicago Suburbs
    Just a question here. I don't recall that Damper Fields were supposed to affect planets. Perhaps somehow I missed this over the years? Please elaborate as once you have Dampers there's no reason to tech any planetary shields (assuming you researched basic Radiation Shields so you could terraform.
     
  11. Rocco.40

    Rocco.40 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2015
    Messages:
    576

Share This Page