1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Max amount of loans n Lending to other civs

Discussion in 'Civ3 - General Discussions' started by JohnInLearning, May 12, 2020.

1. JohnInLearning

JohnInLearning Chieftain

I started playing on Monarch, my strategy was to prevent the AI from trading with each other and declaring war on me by constantly borrowing money from them.

I would borrow 17 gold for 1 gold each turn from each civ if they had 17 GOLD.

This worked really well for an while, I got the great library and set my research to 0% etc....

I kept all of the CIVS broke and they stopped trading with each other. I pulled ahead in tech.... And THEN... :(

They stopped trading with me all together,even though I was extremely careful not to violate any trade agreements or get into any war with any civ.

Is there are hard cap on the amount of financial trades you can do in CIV3? Or will the civs simply refuse to trade / lend money or be lent money too if your way ahead?

Just curious, someone out there must know the answer. It's not really fun if they won't make trade deals using the Gold per turn option anymore :(

Best

2. WeirdoJoker

WeirdoJoker Prince

I've never gotten a loan before at any level, and just started playing at Monarch (preparing to start my second game at that level). That kind of strategy never occurred to me, so I'm wondering - like you - what the pitfalls are.

3. JohnInLearning

JohnInLearning Chieftain

The pitfalls are that if any civ declares war on you --- IF you owe them money

A) You can never do an Gold per turn trade again to any civ for tech, luxury resoruces etc

B) It seems to me that if the CIV owes you $$$ and it can't pay it back it has to sell an building, and it damages your reputation????