1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Maya and Spain switching starting places

Discussion in 'Civ3 - General Discussions' started by hahntsak, Dec 20, 2003.

  1. hahntsak

    hahntsak Clueless Barbarian Fool

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2002
    Messages:
    211
    Location:
    oakland, ca
    on a world map with all positions assigned. 31 players.
    dunno why - standard rules
    culturally linked starting turned off [it still switches them]
     
  2. Ision

    Ision Master

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Messages:
    452
    Spain is seafaring - if you assigned them to a starting location that is NOT coastal - the game will flip them out with a civ you assigned closer to the coast. I bet the Mayans are on the coast or 1 square away from it, while Spain is not.
     
  3. Allemand

    Allemand Chief

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2001
    Messages:
    218
    Location:
    Olympia
    I've noticed this problem, too. First it was Byzantines and Romans switching, then France and Ottomans. I thought maybe the colors had something to do with it.
     
  4. hahntsak

    hahntsak Clueless Barbarian Fool

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2002
    Messages:
    211
    Location:
    oakland, ca
    spain and maya are same color and i'm trying to use an earth map with madrid in central iberia. i want spain to be seafaring.
    would it help if i put the first city down? i'd rather not have to.
    only spain and maya switching - no others.

    maybe next patch could stop switching

    i dunno...
    i'll try with first city down -guess that's what it takes
     
  5. warpstorm

    warpstorm Yumbo? Yumbo!

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    7,688
    Location:
    Snack Food Capital of the World
    You could make a map with no start locations (and no settlers) and rather have all the starting cities pre-placed.
     
  6. Chieftess

    Chieftess Moderator Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Messages:
    24,160
    Location:
    Baltimore
    The fix to this is to select the custom player data tab in the editor.
     

Share This Page