Me? A traitor? Never!

King_MJS

Chieftain
hey guys.
i am befuddled...
im new to civ 3. i got civ 3, play the world and conquests. in my last game i played as the celts. after destroying the measly germans, many centuries of peace passed... before my old allies the french stole my only source of saltpeter!
so, i declared war on them, signing a military alliance with the russians and spanish. what i didnt count on was that ever nation in the world (dutch, arabia, persia, scandinavia, england, portuguese) except the ottomans signed a military alliance against the french. so even the mighty french empire fell to the 7 nation alliance.
the french were defeated and i thought everything was glory for me. largest and most powerful empire i nthe world. until i found out that all my old friends hated me!
every nation in the world except the spanish and dutch were 'annoyed' with me.
i thought that with time this may pass, but it didnt. and wen i decided that iwanted to go to war with the russians and asked for a military alliance with other nations, they all rejected (except the netherlands) saying that i had betrayed them in the past. WHEN!!? i also noted that my foriegn advisor was telling me that 'we no the spanish/portugese/arabians betrayed our 'friends' the french.
FRIENDS! i wiped them off the face of the earth?
can someone PLEASE tell me y this happened! i dont no wat i did rong.
PLEASE HELP!!!
(oh and by the way, i went to war with the russians by myself... they smashed me.)
thanking you all i nadvance,
King MJS

Sounds like you killed off the french, instead of letting the AI do it. The AI doesn't like it when you take the last city. It tends to give you a bad rep for it. Better to let the AI take the last city and the rep hit.

Check out this article in the War Academy, and it explains about AI Attitude.

And of course, stop back in with any questions you have. :)