1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Medieval Radiotower = Garrison

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Graphics Modpacks' started by rifleman, Dec 2, 2004.

  1. rifleman

    rifleman Varangian Guard

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2002
    Messages:
    415
    I came up with this in the process of working on a Byzantine/Middle Ages Mod and figured that the added defensive bonus provided by the Radiotower in modern times could be applied in medieval or even classical times by planting a troop garrison in strategic areas. Here's a view:



    It works just like a radio tower for a few reasons. First, taking into account that one 'Unit' is actually composed of many fighters, a garrison provides a refuge for fighters that have been on the front line too long. And since it is already manned by the workers/citizens/whatever that built the Garrison, these people would help to fill in the gaps when the Unit is weakened.

    Second, the 'Range', like a Radiotower, is effected by terrain because if a garrison were to be placed on a hilltop of mountain, it would be stronger and more effective.

    I've been working on a whole new line of techs, and I might post those later, but this becomes available with the advance 'Military Logistics', but this is only possible with another tech - 'Roman Roads'. I used Pounder's gravel roads to replace railroads (really because I couldn't figure out how to make an additional road type with a different movement bonus). I figured that my map is not much larger than Europe, and most turns are at least one year, so I can't see a deliberate move across Europe taking more than one turn - if there are well engineered and maintained roads, something the Romans knew how to do well.

    Here's a view of the buttons. It also has the button that I replaced the Watchtower with.



    I've attached the files for this and the Classical and American Western garrisons, from this post.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. rifleman

    rifleman Varangian Guard

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2002
    Messages:
    415
    Oh...

    The buttons also have the old Railroads/new Roman Roads (Paved Roads) button. Really it's the same as the railroads but without the teeth:



    Just in case you wanted to use it.
     
  3. Pounder

    Pounder Phaethon was here

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    Messages:
    5,698
    Location:
    Your territory
  4. Master Kodama

    Master Kodama Nitpicker

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Messages:
    407
    Location:
    Off Topic
    I had a similar idea about garrisons some time back, but never implemented it in anything. Well, now that you've so kindly supplied this graphic, maybe I just will!

    :goodjob:
     
  5. Kyriakos

    Kyriakos Alien spiral maker

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Messages:
    54,494
    Location:
    Thessalonike, The Byzantine Empire
    This is a very nice graphic, but if you plan to use it for byzantines you should get rid of the houses on top. Make it more linear there :)
     
  6. Hrafnkell

    Hrafnkell Alheithinn

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2004
    Messages:
    788
    Location:
    The Beltway
    Very nice addition, Rifleman. I look forward to trying it out. I've been debating the "Roman Roads" issue for my Medieval mod and the problem is that the Romans built those roads long befor the "Byzantine" era and all the Romaioi did was keep them useable...that and the fact that Western European roads of the same era were muddy cart tracks if that, outside of the Roman roads they inherited.

    I was debating laying a series of Roman roads down with the stone road graphic and providing no tech to build them, then replacing rail roads with dirt roads with less movement allowed.

    I'm not worried about units moving to fast because, quite frankly, it's always bothered me that it can take an infantry unit hundreds of years game time (depending upon era) to move from Antioch to Jerusalem - simply ridiculous.

    Anyway, good job!!
     
  7. Corey

    Corey Djeneral

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2003
    Messages:
    575
    Location:
    Serbia,Belgrade
    Good job by making these.But you could zip it all because it's boring to dl 5 files when you could 1 in single click.
     
  8. hIdDeN_eViL

    hIdDeN_eViL {кοтоя дѕѕαѕѕїй}²

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2004
    Messages:
    458
    Location:
    sydney,down under
    fantastic, now we can have radar towers in medieval mods!
     
  9. vbraun

    vbraun Raytracing

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2003
    Messages:
    3,530
    Location:
    Arizona, USA
    Very nice work!
     
  10. Snorken

    Snorken Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,378
    Location:
    Sweden
    Very nice work indeed! :)
     
  11. rifleman

    rifleman Varangian Guard

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2002
    Messages:
    415
    Thanks everyone.

    @ varwnos - I'd thought about that, but I haven't been able to figure out how to make fortifications and such Culture specific instead of Era specific (tho I'm sure it's possible). So I just came up with something that worked for everyone. If I ever do figure out how to separate the graphics, I have plans for many styles.

    @ Hrafnkell - The idea behind the roads is kind of a long story. I figure that if the Byzantines (or anyone else for that matter) got to the point where they were able to focus more on engineering and learning in general, like the Romans had, they could rediscover ancient techniques and even build on them. Like I said, I have a lot of other Techs/rediscoveries leading up to Roads, so it's not easy to research. But this way, it is a possibility.

    @ Corey - You're right, I'll correct it here and do that in the future.
     
  12. Goldflash

    Goldflash Grumpy Old Man

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    Messages:
    5,752
    Location:
    Land of King James

    Ha. Ha. No, you can't.
     
  13. rifleman

    rifleman Varangian Guard

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2002
    Messages:
    415
  14. Dom Pedro II

    Dom Pedro II Modder For Life

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    6,811
    Location:
    Exit 16, New Jersey

    There's a "but" there though... as there is with everything.

    If you are making a scenario, you CAN make them culture specific. The way you'd do that is by breaking up the "eras" into cultural groups.

    So let's say you wanted a scenario of medieval Europe and you wanted a different Muslim graphic for the radio tower or fort or whatever, you'd have to have the Muslims in one era and the Europeans in another... and if you want them to permanently stay in those groups, you'd have to pack those eras tight with techs or make research very very slow... but if you give each of them two eras, you could still do that too...

    it's up to you.
     
  15. rifleman

    rifleman Varangian Guard

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2002
    Messages:
    415
    I KNEW IT!!!

    Optimism pays off. :D

    Thanks Dom
     
  16. utro43

    utro43 King of Thebes

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    434
    Location:
    Canada
    :bump:
    okay, yes yes i know i'm totally bumping here, but i have my reasons!

    1) where on earth are the files for this?
    2) once i manage to GET the files, where do i put them?

    i'd like to maybe use these, but i can't find and .zip or anything!

    i'd really appreciate some info. thanks!
     
  17. rifleman

    rifleman Varangian Guard

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2002
    Messages:
    415
    Thanks utro, that bump might be some sort of record

    I'm not sure why the link disappeared, but I've reposted it with a readme file attached
     
  18. Bluemofia

    Bluemofia F=ma

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Messages:
    7,976
    Location:
    Dimension called Elsewhere
    3 years? Nah, that's no record. I've seen a 4 year bump recently. But it has been purged because the mods were angry.

    Umm, the CFC servers are known to purge data that hasn't received more than a certain number of DLs in a given time frame through the easy upload. That might be why.
     
  19. utro43

    utro43 King of Thebes

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    434
    Location:
    Canada
    hahahaha
    thanks guys, i was thinking of just PMing rifleman,
    but then i thought, if i posted, then others would get the info too. :)
    perhaps you should consider moving the files to the Download Database.
     
  20. rifleman

    rifleman Varangian Guard

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2002
    Messages:
    415
    Thats a good idea, I suppose I've never done that
     

Share This Page