1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Meeting a Civ

Discussion in 'Civ6 - General Discussions' started by hongyu20, Feb 28, 2017.

  1. hongyu20

    hongyu20 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2017
    Messages:
    86
    Gender:
    Male
    When you first meet a civilization , there seem to be 3 types of scenarios , either you are invited to visit their city , decide whether you want them to visit yours , or exchange information on both cities , is this random or is it based on how close a unit is to the city ?
     
  2. dhialuck

    dhialuck Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    31
    Location:
    UK
    Very good question I have always asked myself. Does anyone have info/confirmation?
     
  3. RaidandTrade

    RaidandTrade Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2013
    Messages:
    305
    If you're close to their city, they invite you and vice versa.

    Capitals may be if you meet when you're both far from your cities? Haven't figured that one out.
     
  4. Evolena

    Evolena Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2016
    Messages:
    17
    I've never thought at city proximity... My hypothesis is about who is meeting the other (e.g. my unit encountering their's, or their troup encountering mine during their tour) leading to the invitation to one's closest city, and capital exchange seems to occur later in the game.
     
  5. ShakaKhan

    ShakaKhan King

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2015
    Messages:
    857
    Along the same lines, what triggers the first contact between you and another civ? In all previous games, as soon as you found either a tile of their territory or one of their units, first contact was made. In this game, I have seen several units (of a civilization, not barb or CS), and spent several turns moving towards them and even adjacent to them, yet first contact was further delayed. This is very odd and presumably glitchy behavior for a civ game.
     
  6. hongyu20

    hongyu20 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2017
    Messages:
    86
    Gender:
    Male
    It is probably a glitch , were you using any mods ? I had a similar problem when on the True Start Location Standard Map , the one in the Australian Patch , where as China , I started right next to Hong Kong City State, I saw their warrior moving towards me , but I did not establish contact and only gained the first to meet envoy a couple of turns later . I was using a couple of mods though .
     
  7. stinkubus

    stinkubus Emperor

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2016
    Messages:
    1,315
    I've experienced the same (moving next to an AI unit w/o establishing diplo) playing the vanilla game.
     

Share This Page