1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Photobucket has changed its policy concerning hotlinking images and now requires an account with a $399.00 annual fee to allow hotlink. More information is available at: this link.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Dismiss Notice
  7. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

middle East Map 84X52

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Pre-made Maps' started by Lokolus, Aug 8, 2007.

  1. Lokolus

    Lokolus Retired...

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    761
    Location:
    Israel
  2. saint1979

    saint1979 Heavy drinker

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    84
    Location:
    EU
    The link is invalid :(
     
  3. Lokolus

    Lokolus Retired...

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    761
    Location:
    Israel
    The file is currently in the moderation queue Because i just updated it
     
  4. Lokolus

    Lokolus Retired...

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    761
    Location:
    Israel
    I have updated the link.
    Enjoy!
     
  5. Carter

    Carter Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Messages:
    43
    Location:
    London
    Nice one Lokolus :)
    Which version does this work with?
     
  6. Lokolus

    Lokolus Retired...

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    761
    Location:
    Israel
    Its only warlords
     
  7. saint1979

    saint1979 Heavy drinker

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    84
    Location:
    EU
    Works with BTS too, but the starting possition arent fixed. I like this map but its kinda to poor on resources, but maybe its better this way.
     
  8. Lokolus

    Lokolus Retired...

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    761
    Location:
    Israel
    Realy? I dont have Bts so I didnt know
     
  9. saint1979

    saint1979 Heavy drinker

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    84
    Location:
    EU
    Hey. I'ts me again. I played a whole game on this map and I love it. Its kinda ok with the low resources; i did build mines and . .. .. .. . loads of good stuff popped up :)

    That area for egypt seem to be little low of hammers tho. In my game, china had that spot (prince) and they only managed to build 3 cities, after that they go slaughtered at middle ages by Sainty him self :)
     
  10. Lokolus

    Lokolus Retired...

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    761
    Location:
    Israel
    I added a Bts map
     
  11. Rellek

    Rellek Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Simply create a small mod, not allowing to found cities on desert and double mouvement cost in desert to make this scenario even more fun.

    So the AI isnt able to found hundreds of crap cities in the huge deserts. Also it promises more realistic tactics.
     
  12. Lokolus

    Lokolus Retired...

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    761
    Location:
    Israel
    Hmm.. my modding knowledge is quite limited and I am currently working on a different scenario (Earth 1790 AD). but if you want you could make this improvements.
     
  13. Rellek

    Rellek Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    A little mod doing two things:
    1. Forbids foundation of cities on desert terrain.
    2. Doubles mouvement cost on desert terrain.

    Here it is:

    http://forums.civfanatics.com/uploads/108016/Middle_East.rar

    Just put it into BTS/Mods folder and unzip. Then copy the middle east map in the subfolder public maps in there.

    I have another idea in my mind. We could put these changes into the Gods of Old mod and using this on this map. Could be fun too. But i have no time now for that. If interested, drop a line.
     
  14. Lokolus

    Lokolus Retired...

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    761
    Location:
    Israel
  15. Hell Hawk

    Hell Hawk Emperor

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Messages:
    143
    Awesome map, I hope you don't mind but I've edited it to included proper regional nations, and fairly accurate starting points (not balanced ones)
    http://forums.civfanatics.com/uploads/88510/BTS_MEASP.rar
    Nations are
    Arabia
    Babylonia
    Byzantine
    Egypt
    Ethiopia
    Greece
    Ottoman
    Persia
    Sumerian
     
  16. Koba the Dread

    Koba the Dread Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    158
    Location:
    New York, USA
    This might be the wrong place to ask this question, but here I go anyway. I have downloaded the Middle East map. BUT . . . I want to include different civs from some of the other modpacks. Can this be done by opening up the map in the worldbuilder and setting certain civs that are not included in the game to appear in designated starting points?
     
  17. Lokolus

    Lokolus Retired...

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    761
    Location:
    Israel
    You can do it with the worldbuilder, or even more simple with the costume game.
     
  18. Koba the Dread

    Koba the Dread Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    158
    Location:
    New York, USA
    No kidding? So, for example, if I had downloaded the Israel civ, the Iran civ, and a few others that might exist. Then I could include them from the worldbuilder and place all of the cities, units, etc.?

    Very, very interesting . . . thank you.
     
  19. Gooblah

    Gooblah Heh...

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,282
    Cool. Thanks for making this. I like it, and if you don't mind, I have a few comments.


    1) The Arabian peninsula is kinda squished laterally, and stretched horizontally. Widening the Peninsula into the Indian Ocean by 10 tiles would help a ton.
    2) Iran is less of desert and more of plains/snow/mountains/hills/grasslands IIRC

    I took your map and messed around with it. I basically redid everything. If you'd like I can post a screenie or a save. Again, hope you don't mind, and thanks for a cool map!
     
  20. Lokolus

    Lokolus Retired...

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    761
    Location:
    Israel
    I don't really mind, It might even help me to see your'e "improved" map.
     

Share This Page