Minor Civs Playable?

texasAAD

Chieftain
Hi there, as the title suggests, I have a question about minor civs in this mod.

First of all, I enjoy this mod, it is superb, and is really fun.
That being said, I do have a one question, though.

Are we able to play as any of the minor civs here, like the Israeli Empire or the Texan Empire for example?

It seems that we can't choose to play as them normally, so is there any way that we can?

Granted, I'm not tech savvy, but could I modify the games' codes or something?

Any response would be greatly appreciated.

They are created for World Map scenario only and they are unbalanced. For example as Israel you can't create settler until you reach Renaissance Era. They also lack unique units, terrain and so on.

It is possible to mod them yourself fairly easily to be not only playable, but playable and balanced. They'll just end up lacking many flavor units, and have less variety in leaders. Almost all have at least one unique national unit already though, but for the unique terrain improvement I tend to use one that's used by a neighbor or a culturally close civ. Like the Spanish mineria for Portuguese also.

To do this involves modifying various files under Realism > Assets > XML folder. You only need a text editor (but do make a back-up before you do anything).

First, under said folder, there is a folder labeled Civilizations and in it various files whose names are self-explanatory. As an example, I'll make the Portuguese playable.

It's under derivative civilizations, so I'll open that file and find their entry. Change the value in <bPlayable> from 0 to 1 and for <bAIPlayable> as well, so the AIs can choose it too. Technically you're already good to go. You can now start a game as Portugal. You can do this for every single civ you find under derivative and other civs folders. But the issues Tabriz mentioned need to be addressed for a balanced (or even half-way sane!) game, especially on a random map.