Minor time bug

Crusis

Warlord
Joined
Oct 26, 2005
Messages
150
I am playing a game on eternity. About 2,800BC the year suddenly changed to about 9,600 AD. I say about because I didn't notice it right away. I played that way for a long time, the clock progressed normally thereafter and gameplay was otherwise unaffected.

I saved the game and reloaded it the next day, when I did the time had reset to the proper year.

Minor bug, very irrelevant, I only report it in case it impacts anything else.

Sorry, I don't have a printscreen. It looks like an ordinary game in every way, except the date is off.
 

ls612

Deity
Moderator
Joined
Mar 10, 2008
Messages
8,078
Location
America
I am playing a game on eternity. About 2,800BC the year suddenly changed to about 9,600 AD. I say about because I didn't notice it right away. I played that way for a long time, the clock progressed normally thereafter and gameplay was otherwise unaffected.

I saved the game and reloaded it the next day, when I did the time had reset to the proper year.

Minor bug, very irrelevant, I only report it in case it impacts anything else.

Sorry, I don't have a printscreen. It looks like an ordinary game in every way, except the date is off.

That is because during V24 development I moved the start date from 12000BC to 50,000 BC, and the modifier recalculation does not take that into account when you update. It is a known issue, my advice would be either ignore it or start a new game.
 

Ethric

Warlord
Joined
Aug 16, 2007
Messages
264
So this is why it's 2460 AD on turn 789 of a snail game. It won't cause some sort of wraparound crash or similar later on, when the year goes really high? And if it's a known issue, why would starting a new game help? The latest patch doesn't seem to fix it, as I had it installed when I started the current game.
 

AIAndy

Deity
Joined
Jun 8, 2011
Messages
3,428
So this is why it's 2460 AD on turn 789 of a snail game. It won't cause some sort of wraparound crash or similar later on, when the year goes really high? And if it's a known issue, why would starting a new game help? The latest patch doesn't seem to fix it, as I had it installed when I started the current game.
It can't fix it because the old start date is stored in the savegame. The main reason for that is that scenarios can define their own start date (but those who do usually use another calendar mode).
But apart from displaying the wrong year there won't be any serious change of game behavior and the years don't get large enough for any wraparound issue.
 

Ethric

Warlord
Joined
Aug 16, 2007
Messages
264
So if I start a new game which isn't a scenario (I play Giant Earth map, pre columbian atm.), it'll be more normal?

But anyway, I can just ignore it in my current game then, thanks :)
 
Top Bottom