1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Misted Forest

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Creation & Customization' started by Valkrionn, Jun 26, 2010.

  1. Valkrionn

    Valkrionn The Hamster King

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    14,450
    Location:
    Crestview FL
    Alright, I'm trying to get some new art working for a new feature in Rise from Erebus. Basically, I need to add mist to various features (Could have the mist by itself, and that's the fallback plan, but then there is no variety... Far rather add it to existing features). I have it displaying correctly in nifskope, but it refuses to cooperate in game... Anyone mind taking a minute to tell me what I'm doing wrong?

    I've attached an edited version of the 'New Forest' nif used by the mod... It's an easy one, just a single nif, unlike other features, so a good one to use here. Again, it is displaying correctly in nifskope:



    In game, however, the mist is not there.

    The xml:

    Code:
    		<FeatureArtInfo>
    			<Type>ART_DEF_FEATURE_FOREST_NEW_MIST</Type>
    			<bAnimated>1</bAnimated>
    			<bRiverArt>0</bRiverArt>
    			<TileArtType>TILE_ART_TYPE_NONE</TileArtType>
    			<LightType>LIGHT_TYPE_SUN</LightType>
    			<fScale>1.0</fScale>
    			<fInterfaceScale>1.0</fInterfaceScale>
    			<Button>Art/Interface/Buttons/TerrainFeatures/Forest.dds</Button>
    			<FeatureVariety>
    				<FeatureArtPieces>
    					<FeatureArtPiece>
    						<ModelFile>Art/Civs/Sidar/New Forest/new forest.nif</ModelFile>
    						<Connections></Connections>
    					</FeatureArtPiece>
    				</FeatureArtPieces>
    				<FeatureDummyNodes/>
    				<bGenerateRotations>0</bGenerateRotations>
    				<VarietyButton>Art/Interface/Buttons/TerrainFeatures/Forest.dds</VarietyButton>
    			</FeatureVariety>
    		</FeatureArtInfo>
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Valkrionn

    Valkrionn The Hamster King

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    14,450
    Location:
    Crestview FL
    Got this working, thanks to help from Tesb. :goodjob:

     
  3. Deon

    Deon Lt. of Mordor

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,956
    Location:
    St.Petersburg, Russian Federation
    Hmm, I can barely see the mist. Is it moving in the game so you could see it better?
     
  4. Valkrionn

    Valkrionn The Hamster King

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    14,450
    Location:
    Crestview FL
    Yes, it is animated in game. Fairly easy to see, screenshots just don't work well for it.
     
  5. Afforess

    Afforess The White Wizard

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    12,239
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    Out of curiosity, what was wrong?
     
  6. Valkrionn

    Valkrionn The Hamster King

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    14,450
    Location:
    Crestview FL
    I'm basically an idiot, that's what. :lol:

    In looking at the original nif, there were nodes that were solitary, not hooked into the main node... So I just pasted the feature into the mist, didn't add it to the main node.

    Looked at it again, saw that the solitary nodes are all effects, not actual structure, added the feature to the parent mist node, both showed up. But mist wasn't animated. So I switched the order, attached the mist to the forest, and boom. Both in game, mist animated, everything working.

    We've pretty much decided that the mist on it's own looks awesome, though. Doubt we'll use it with other features.
     

Share This Page