MNAI-U: unofficial build & bugfixes

Discussion in 'More Naval AI Modmod' started by lfgr, May 15, 2019.

  1. Deaf Metal

    Deaf Metal Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2015
    Messages:
    37
    Remnants of Patria apparently can be attempted to be placed on the same tile as an ancient tower during map generation, so there will be an ancient tower improvement with the event sign Remnants of Patria, but the tile yield will not be modified.
     
  2. Deaf Metal

    Deaf Metal Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2015
    Messages:
    37
    Is it intentional for there to be no Assassin unit model in the bottom left when one is selected?
     
  3. LightAcolyte

    LightAcolyte Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2013
    Messages:
    15
    In Multiplayer, the Kuriotates' choice when settling a city of "Settlement" or "City" does not appear. While this is fairly easy to rectify by having the escorting unit that should be with the Settler anyway casting "Promote Settlement," the problem is that since unit movement speeds aren't always a match you can lose some turns to do this of city growth.
     
    lfgr and Tielby like this.
  4. lfgr

    lfgr King

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    975
    Fixed this for the next version, thank you.

    Which mapscript?
     
  5. lfgr

    lfgr King

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    975
    I do see the model. Which civ were you playing?
     
  6. Deaf Metal

    Deaf Metal Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2015
    Messages:
    37
    Erebus

    Malakim
     
    lfgr likes this.
  7. lfgr

    lfgr King

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    975
    Thanks, with Malakim I get the same problem. It must be the civ-specific model.
     
  8. Tielby

    Tielby Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    369
    Location:
    The sacred and free citadel of mind
    Is there any reason Acheron doesn't fly ("Can move through impassible terrain")? It certainly does have wings. Drifa does fly.
     
    Last edited: Oct 12, 2021 at 3:32 PM
  9. MagisterCultuum

    MagisterCultuum Great Sage

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    16,406
    Location:
    Kael's head
    I believe it is because Flying units do not get fortification bonuses that were deemed more useful for Acheron than flight considering he is supposed to stay put in his city.

    In my modmod I give a lot of unit a a Winged promotion that lets them toggle Flying off and on depending on whether you would rather have the defensive bonuses or the added movement point and ability to move through all terrains, but base FfH2 does not have that. .
     
    Tielby likes this.
  10. Deaf Metal

    Deaf Metal Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2015
    Messages:
    37
    Is it intentional that the Fall from Heaven II Scenarios WB Save unloads MNAI back to vanilla Ffh2?
     
  11. LightAcolyte

    LightAcolyte Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2013
    Messages:
    15
    If you use the scenarios linked by the Scenarios screen, the original ones do this automatically. If you use the scenarios to load them from inside the world editor from the More Naval AI Mod included scenarios, they play with the More Naval AI mod.

    In other news, when I have Advanced Tactics on, it seems the Great Generals cannot be attached to anyone because the spell for this is not present in this version of the mod. When I add the correct spell into the XML and python, the AI lacks any programming to use Great Generals, so they just sit in their cities. In MP, of course, this gives the human players a decided advantage...while the AI just gets sapped by increasing maintenance costs from accumulated Great Generals. Suggestions on whose version of the AI use of Great Generals I should use from another mod/modmod/version?
     
    Last edited: Oct 14, 2021 at 1:05 PM
    Tielby likes this.
  12. lfgr

    lfgr King

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    975
    It works for me (the spell part, didn't check the AI). Maybe you're confusing Great Generals and Great Commanders? The former are only present with Advanced Tactics on, I think, and work just like in vanilla BtS. The latter cannot lead units by themselves, but other units in the same stack can cast "Join Great Commander", which works about the same. Incidentally, Great Generals can also join Great Commanders, giving you a strength-1 unit; that ought to be fixed.
    And yes, it's stupid that there are two types of units for this. ExtraModMod merged the two, but I reverted that change for some reason I don't remember. It's possible that the AI can use Great Generals, but not Great Commanders.
     
  13. Deaf Metal

    Deaf Metal Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2015
    Messages:
    37
    The Hidden promotion seems to have no discernible effect. I had a game in which the Sidar AI cast their world spell and all that happened was their warriors gained the promotion but were still as visible as they were before. All I had were warriors, so there was nothing that would reveal them; and they retained the promotion for turns afterward so they hadn't lost it for being involved in combat nor could they have cast any spells. Unfortunately, I don't have the save.

    Edit: Their warriors were stacked in their city, is that the reason why?
     
    Last edited: Oct 15, 2021 at 4:40 PM
  14. lfgr

    lfgr King

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    975
    Correct. I'll make that clear in the pedia.
     
    jackal1234 likes this.
  15. jackal1234

    jackal1234 Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    101
    Location:
    127.0.0.0
    hey man any ETA on new v.. just wondering, might start a new one soon.. thanks!
     

Share This Page