1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

[MOD] A New Flavour 2.1 - 28th Dec 2011

Discussion in 'Rise of Mankind: A New Dawn' started by zulu9812, Sep 5, 2010.

  1. zulu9812

    zulu9812 The Newbie Nightmare

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    6,389
    Location:
    Athens of the North
    As many of you know, I produced a modmod for Rise of Mankind. That modmod was called ROME, or Rise Of Mankind Expansion. I had been gearing up for another release of ROME, when I read that Afforess had released a stand-alone version of AND. Since that unreleased version of ROME was intended for AND anyway, I went back to the drawing board and rebuilt my modmod from the ground up specifically for AND.

    Latest version is 2.1.5

    Download link is here
    - download is 161.78 MB, and installs to 370 MB.

    Important Patch Download

    Readme for version 2.1
    Some screenshots:













     
  2. os79

    os79 Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,094
    Location:
    Eastern USA Coast
    The first line should read:

    Grab Afforess' installer and install to Beyond the Sword/Mods (Already done for you if you are using his installer for the first time. Correct the path with Browse if your installer remember your old install path to Rise of Mankind to Mods!)

    Otherwise, look nice :D.
     
  3. NBAfan

    NBAfan boss

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Messages:
    3,351
    I like the new graphics very much!
     
  4. NBAfan

    NBAfan boss

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Messages:
    3,351
    Will this be updated for the offical AND 1.75?
     
  5. Afforess

    Afforess The White Wizard

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    12,239
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    Looks like it's made for 1.75 ;)
     
  6. NBAfan

    NBAfan boss

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Messages:
    3,351
    But it was released during the beta phase.
     
  7. os79

    os79 Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,094
    Location:
    Eastern USA Coast
    It doesn't touch on anything in beta that is changed in final version. I know because I dl'ed to see what's up. Don't use it myself but yeah it is compatible.
     
  8. NBAfan

    NBAfan boss

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Messages:
    3,351
    Thank you for that.:) I'm to lazy to try it myself.:crazyeye:
     
  9. soup567

    soup567 MANBEARPIG

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    416
    Location:
    Santa Cruz, California
    Looks really nice.
     
  10. Danwood

    Danwood Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    243
    This improves my game, so definitively a must-have :D
     
  11. chickitycheck

    chickitycheck Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    I love it as much as I loved ROME. But one question... The Ninja Unit looks like an ordinary samurai to me.
     
  12. nutranurse

    nutranurse Unlikeliest of Slash Fics

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Messages:
    2,077
    The problem with the art looking the same is because some of the file names are too long. To be exact they are:

    Spoiler :

    newglossforheavykoreancavalry (both)
    newglossforcarthagepunichoplitechainmail.dds
    Unique_Byzantine_Cataphract_MD_FortifyA_Idle.kf
    Unique_Byzantine_Cataphract_MD_FortifyB_Idle.kf
    Unique_Byzantine_Cataphract_MD_RunDie_Fade.kf
    newglossforcelticshieldoctagon1.dds
    newglossforcelticswordsmanshieldandcape.dds
    Dutch_East_India_Man_MD_Damage_ BackMast_Dam_BckMst1.kf
    Dutch_East_India_Man_MD_Damage_ BackMast_Dam_BckMst2.kf
    Dutch_East_India_Man_MD_Damage_ BackMast_Dam_BckMst3.kf
    Dutch_East_India_Man_MD_Damage_ BackMast_Dam_BckMst4.kf
    Dutch_East_India_Man_MD_Damage_ CenterMast_Dam_MidMast1.kf
    Dutch_East_India_Man_MD_Damage_ CenterMast_Dam_MidMast2.kf
    Dutch_East_India_Man_MD_Damage_ CenterMast_Dam_MidMast3.kf
    Dutch_East_India_Man_MD_Damage_ CenterMast_Dam_MidMast4.kf
    Dutch_East_India_Man_MD_Damage_ FrontMast_Dam_FrntMst1.kf
    Dutch_East_India_Man_MD_Damage_ FrontMast_Dam_FrntMst2.kf
    Dutch_East_India_Man_MD_Damage_ FrontMast_Dam_FrntMst3.kf
    Dutch_East_India_Man_MD_Damage_ FrontMast_Dam_FrntMst4.kf
    Dutch_East_India_Man_MD_Damage_Boat_Texture_DamTexture1.kf
    Dutch_East_India_Man_MD_Damage_Boat_Texture_DamTexture2.kf
    Dutch_East_India_Man_MD_Damage_Boat_Texture_DamTexture3.kf
    Dutch_East_India_Man_MD_Damage_Boat_Texture_DamTexture4.kf
    Ship_of_the_Line_MD_Damage_ BackMast_Dam_BckMst1.kf
    Ship_of_the_Line_MD_Damage_ BackMast_Dam_BckMst2.kf
    Ship_of_the_Line_MD_Damage_ BackMast_Dam_BckMst3.kf
    Ship_of_the_Line_MD_Damage_ BackMast_Dam_BckMst4.kf
    Ship_of_the_Line_MD_Damage_ CenterMast_Dam_MidMast1.kf
    Ship_of_the_Line_MD_Damage_ CenterMast_Dam_MidMast2.kf
    Ship_of_the_Line_MD_Damage_ CenterMast_Dam_MidMast3.kf
    Ship_of_the_Line_MD_Damage_ CenterMast_Dam_MidMast4.kf
    Ship_of_the_Line_MD_Damage_ FrontMast_Dam_FrntMst1.kf
    Ship_of_the_Line_MD_Damage_ FrontMast_Dam_FrntMst2.kf
    Ship_of_the_Line_MD_Damage_ FrontMast_Dam_FrntMst3.kf
    Ship_of_the_Line_MD_Damage_ FrontMast_Dam_FrntMst4.kf
    Ship_of_the_Line_MD_Damage_Boat_Texture_DamTexture1.kf
    Ship_of_the_Line_MD_Damage_Boat_Texture_DamTexture2.kf
    Ship_of_the_Line_MD_Damage_Boat_Texture_DamTexture3.kf
    Ship_of_the_Line_MD_Damage_Boat_Texture_DamTexture4.kf


    Or at least I cannot transfer those files into my RoM/AND directory because they are too long apparently.
     
  13. Isabelxxx

    Isabelxxx DoaNE Explorer

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    381
    259 characters is the max. in windows.

    The mod could work properly if:

    -Game is not installed in sub-folders.
    C\Program files\Firaxis\... will not work because this path will add too many folders (& characters) in the path for art files.

    Try installing CIV 4 directly to C:\ or C:\games\CIV4 , etc... any short path (install it without "firaxis" sub-folder or any useless sub-folder).

    -Rename the mod folder "Rome" to "R" (AND modules). In my case I had 260 characters (which exceeds the 259 max.) , by reducing the folder name (-4 characters) it works.
    Then Rename the appropriate entry in "MLF_CIV4ModularLoadingControls.xml".


    -The author fix the HTML files and the art files. Both should be changed to use renamed files with shorter names.
     
  14. janjetina

    janjetina Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Megaupload was acting up and the file was temporarily unavailable. Now it's fine.
     
  15. Asterix Rage

    Asterix Rage Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,486
  16. Soul oWar

    Soul oWar Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Messages:
    139
    If I want to only use the new art for each civilization what should I load?
     
  17. Alexej

    Alexej Prince

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    437
    I love the new graphics but for some reason options Choose Religion and Limited Religions aren`t working for me now :O not tested 1.75A without this modmod though. Every time i`ll get random religion and i saw and conquered city which was holy of two religions :O How should i fix this ?

    My apologies, its 1.75A problem, I should report there. Those options were working in 1.74H for sure
     
  18. Prenecae

    Prenecae Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    So was this a final release or can we expect an update?
     
  19. Asterix Rage

    Asterix Rage Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,486
    "A new flavour" is great as it looks like. Really really great.

    But bugged

    I played RAND 1.75b + this mode as Roman.
    Big problems accured with caravels (a crucial units...)
    The unit could be selected but without the "command buttons". I couldn't do anything with them. The appearance of the caravels was reduced to a red bowl !

    Also, I feel that the new textures make a kind of "overload" on a 512Mb graphic card (Need to be confirmed)

    I am now back on RAND 1.75b without this MOD. Unfortunately.

    This magnificent MODMOD deserve an update and some care

    Many thanks to zulu9812
     
  20. zulu9812

    zulu9812 The Newbie Nightmare

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    6,389
    Location:
    Athens of the North
    Sorry for the lack of updates, chaps. I am aware of the bug with the Roman Caravel, and that some pathways are too long. Civ4 is currently on my new, water-cooled PC - but the pump melted so I'm having to replace that and do some other maintenance. Rest assured that I haven't forgotten about this.
     

Share This Page