1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Mod cannot be updated

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Bug Reports' started by Thalassicus, Apr 7, 2011.

  1. Thalassicus

    Thalassicus Bytes and Nibblers

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Messages:
    11,057
    Location:
    Texas
    ModBuddy limits version numbers to integers in the range (1, 100). This is a problem for two reasons:

    • Cannot have subversions, the industry standard for version numbering. CiV is version 1.0.1.221. If it follows normal standards that means there have been 221 builds.
    • After a mod has 100 builds, what do we do?
    I'm currently at build 70, with about 3 builds per week. My old Balin's Tomb map for Warcraft 3 had thousands of builds in the eight years I worked on it. With ModBuddy's restrictions on the version numbering system, in 2 months I'll be stuck. :(

    What's needed is to allow decimal points in the version number, and remove the limit on version numbers. Even in old computer systems integers can reach 32,767, so the cap at 100 is very bizzare.
     
  2. SamBC

    SamBC Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,052
    Location:
    Lancaster
    Apparently, the 100 limit is just in ModBuddy, not the service - that does have the right limit for a signed short (32,767)... here's hoping a patch is quick, eh?

    I'd also hope for multi-part version numbers, but there you go...
     
  3. Thalassicus

    Thalassicus Bytes and Nibblers

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Messages:
    11,057
    Location:
    Texas
    Quick.. maybe. Sometimes bugs can be difficult to track down! :crazyeye:

    Still, it doesn't hurt to report these issues.... who knows...
     
  4. SamBC

    SamBC Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,052
    Location:
    Lancaster
    I'm wondering if there's a communication problem between 2K (who Tech Ian works for, IIRC) and Firaxis, as things have been acted on quickly once Sseckman's been made aware, IME. Of course, I can't tell for sure that he didn't know about the problems before the time I know he was aware, but... this one is definitely Firaxis's to fix, which makes a fix more likely, I reckon.
     
  5. dshirk

    dshirk Firaxian

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Messages:
    879
    Thal, we've fixed this one, and expect to update the SDK for testing this weekend. If all goes well, we should have this out to you guys next week.
     
  6. The_J

    The_J Say No 2 Net Validations Retired Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    32,974
    Location:
    DE/NL/FR
    Moderator Action: Moved to the confirmed bugs.
     
  7. Thalassicus

    Thalassicus Bytes and Nibblers

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Messages:
    11,057
    Location:
    Texas
    Thank you! I appreciate you looking into this.
     

Share This Page