1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Mod compatable?

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by Justin 12345, Jul 28, 2010.

  1. Justin 12345

    Justin 12345 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    81
    Is there anyword on a way in civ5 to convert out mods to work with it? Or will we have to completely start our mods from scratch? Because i am releaseing my mod soon unless there is goinf to be a way to convert because then i will continue to add things until civ5
     
  2. killmeplease

    killmeplease Mk Z on Steam

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,690
    Location:
    Samara
    i am 100% sure that there will be no way to convert
     
  3. bjbrains

    bjbrains Man of U-235

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    837
    Considering that it's a different engine, uses LUA instead of Python, and a different game with different rules.... No.
     
  4. Justin 12345

    Justin 12345 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    81
    What about blender and nifs/kfms will they be the same or will i need a new program for that as well. And why no pyhthon? Now we all have to re learn a program
     
  5. paradigmx

    paradigmx Say yes to Steam

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    205
    Because this isn't Civilization 4, just like Civilization 4 was not 3.

    I don't know about the graphics side, but I know the reason for the switch from Python to Lua was more than likely a speed issue, Python is a much slower scripting language than Lua and with how many calculations go on in a civ game, the name of the game becomes efficiency.

    Lua is actually very easy to learn, especially if you already know Python, which is a bit more esoteric in nature. Lua has very simple Syntax.
     
  6. 12agnar0k

    12agnar0k Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,556
    They confirmed you will be able to convert maps from civ4 but not mods for the reasons listed already.
     
  7. The_J

    The_J Say No 2 Net Validations Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    29,759
    Location:
    Germany / Netherlands
    No idea.
    They use another 3D engine, so they probably also use a new format.
    But in general, Blender is THE free 3D programm, you'll probably be able to handle the 3D graphics with it.
     
  8. Le Sage

    Le Sage Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,517
    Location:
    Digging up your garden
    I am so weird that I am actually happy that I get to do my mod all over again. I've been modding Civ4 since January this year and it has all been a big adventure, given me many pals and taught me a lot. I'm excited about getting to do it all over again with Fairy Tale 2. I am also really happy that I get to import some of my game maps into Civ5.
     
  9. Louis XXIV

    Louis XXIV Le Roi Soleil

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2003
    Messages:
    13,579
    Location:
    Norfolk, VA
    I've always enjoyed the new takes traditional mods do with the new system. Having to start over allows them to rethink old things. Sure, it's more work, but I think it has positive results.

    If you can convert old maps, however, it's already a positive step to the future.
     
  10. phungus420

    phungus420 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    6,296
    They built the engine from scratch, so there is no telling. I'll wager Blender will still work for creating unit and building models though. Would be very nice if unit models ended up being portable straight across, but I doubt that.
     

Share This Page