1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

[MOD] Great Diplomat BTS 3.13

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Modpacks' started by tsentom1, May 2, 2008.

  1. tsentom1

    tsentom1 Bubble Dragon

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1,000
    Location:
    New York
    RE-DOWNLOAD v2.0 is up!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Edit v2.0
    Added Social Reform ability
    Changed Icons
    Removed Protection from International Incidents (it was useless anyway)

    This mod adds a new great person along with a city specialist and changes some GPP points to incorporate the new great person into the game.

    Download

    To install, just unzip to your MODS folder.

    Multiplayer Compatible

    ---

    Details:

    Great Diplomat



    Envoy, Great Diplomat & Modern Envoy

    Can:

    - Embark on a Diplomatic Mission (+4 attitude with an opposing civilization)
    - Attach Himself to a City
    - Discover a Military Related Technology
    - Start a Golden Age

    - Prevent International Incidents*

    * This is the ‘Protection of An’ effect from ‘Gods of Old.’ The problem is that as a stand alone mod this ability is practically useless – though it can counter rival Great Diplomats. The reason why it’s in is because in my big mod, which I will be releasing soon, it’s used quite a bit. I know without this extra ability the unit is somewhat underwhelming but I figured some people might find a use for it anyway.

    If you combine this mod with my Great Doctor mod, he will prevent the plague. This is supposed to happen, and I will be releasing a combined mod in the future once I release all my upcoming mods.


    Specialists

    Lawyer: +2 Commerce, +1 Espionage, +3 GP Great Statesman Points
    Great Statesman: +4 Commerce, +3 Espionage

    ---

    Other ‘diplomatic’ additions in this mod:

    New Unit

    Envoy, 2 Movement
    50 Hammers, available at Optics

    National Unit (2 Allowed)
    Can Investigate Cities
    Can Bribe Government Officials (Vanilla ‘Steal Plans’ mission aesthetically altered)

    *However, they require open borders and are not invisible. This unit is all about trust (more for multiplayer than single player games).

    Changes to BTS

    United Nations: Statesman points instead of Merchant
    Versailles: Statesman points instead of Artist
    Itza: Statesman points instead of Prophet
    Courthouse: Allows 1 Lawyer Specialists (in addition to the current Spy)
    Jail: Allows 2 Lawyer Specialists ( replacing the current Spies – I always felt 7 total spies weren’t needed considering Democracy is right next to Constitution)
    Castle: Allows 1 Lawyer Specialist
    Customs House: Allows 1 Lawyer Specialist
    Democracy: First to discover receives a free Great Diplomat
    Recon Units: Can now receive the Woodsman III promotion

    ---

    Credits

    Back in the day, TheLopez released a Great Statesman mod for Warlords, though I could never get the code to work in BTS and I used nothing of his save a few button graphics, this mod was definitely inspired by his.

    Great Diplomat Model: Not sure, from ‘The Road to War’ mod
    Envoy Model: Not sure, from ‘Crossroads of the World’ mod
    Modern Envoy Model: Mozza
    Diplomat Icons & Names: TheLopez
    Specialist Stacker: TheLopez

    Let me know if I forgot anyone : )
     
  2. tsentom1

    tsentom1 Bubble Dragon

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1,000
    Location:
    New York
    Reserved............
     
  3. tsentom1

    tsentom1 Bubble Dragon

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1,000
    Location:
    New York
    Reserved.........
     
  4. keldath

    keldath LivE LonG AnD PrOsPeR

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    6,400
    Location:
    israel
    awesome!! just awesome!
     
  5. wotan321

    wotan321 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    1,218
    Location:
    NC, USA
    Any possibility of getting some instructions on how to incorporate this in other mods?
     
  6. Chuggi

    Chuggi Espada

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,369
    Location:
    Australia
    I really like this mod. :goodjob: What does Social Reform do in v2.0? Also, is it meant to be Diplomat points instead of Statesman points? (very minor thing, but I'm just curious).

    I also made a new diplomat unit (I think it's a little better than the one you're using) specifically for this mod - Download.
     
  7. tsentom1

    tsentom1 Bubble Dragon

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1,000
    Location:
    New York
    I really need to update this, and will, shortly as he's gone through a few revisions that I've incorporated into Thomas' War but not here. Chuggi your new model is fantastic and gives me just the motivation I need.

    Currently, Social Reform gives the target city +3 population and immediately grows any cottage/hamlet/village one level

    As for statesman/diplomat. Originally I named him a Great Diplomat then at one point I changed the name to Statesman for some reason (I think someone said it would be more appropriate given Social Reform).

    As for incorporating this into other mods, my best advice is to download Winmerge compare the python files I have here with the base ones find in BTS and then copy the code I added to the same exact spot in your mod's python. My code should be all labeled, but I'll double check when I update. XML you can just copy and paste the differences to the bottom (my changes are always at the bottom of the XML)

    I think the code can actually use some clean up. I'll release an updated version by the end of the week / beginning of next week. About to release Thomas War 3 as well.

    Edit: Chuggi would it be too difficult to add the great person glow to the model?
     
  8. Chuggi

    Chuggi Espada

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,369
    Location:
    Australia
    I updated the download so it now has a normal diplomat, and a diplomat with the glow effect from the Great Spy. :)

    I think the best solution for naming the unit would be to call it a Great Diplomat (because of the Diplomatic Mission) and keeping the specialist called a Great Statesman to reflect the Social Reform ability. (I think this is what you have already :crazyeye:)
     
  9. snipperrabbit!!

    snipperrabbit!! Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,396
    What about an early Great Diplomat ? With toga and papyrus roll, it will be perfect.
     
  10. Ninja2

    Ninja2 Great Engineer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,142
    Location:
    Denmarkia
    Could this Great Diplomat perhaps be modded so he could e.g. force an ending to a war (with favourable terms, of course, to the player using him)?
     
  11. Chuggi

    Chuggi Espada

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,369
    Location:
    Australia
    Good idea, what wonders should generate the points?
     
  12. Rusty Edge

    Rusty Edge Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Messages:
    2,895
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Cheeseland
    Off of the top of my head, it would be things that foster international interaction.... that would lead to improved communication and understanding of other cultures... Religious and trade route stuff, mostly.

    Religious shrines... harbors.. Great Lighthouse? Apostolic Palace? Custom houses.. United Nations.. Palace?
     
  13. Chuggi

    Chuggi Espada

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,369
    Location:
    Australia
    Sorry, I just realised that it's possible to get Great Diplomats in the earlier eras if you get Chichen Itza or Versailles (I thought it was limited to after Democracy for some reason).

    Some new art might be required. :D
     
  14. tsentom1

    tsentom1 Bubble Dragon

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1,000
    Location:
    New York
    Okay guys, sorry it's going to take me a little longer to post an update to this.

    I had thought that it still worked in 3.17 (as I used the same exact code in my Thomas War mod and had no problems with 3.17) but when trying to update this I saw it didn't even load in 3.17.

    So, I'll need to go through a rewrite a lot of this... or at least figure out how I fixed it without even realizing I fixed it for Thomas War (which actually works fully in 3.13 and 3.17)

    In terms of the Diplomat ending war... I had that originally, but could never figure out how to make it a peacetreaty and not just a ceasefire (the difference being that the former has a 10 turn time limit before you can declare war again). It ended up being kinda abusable saving Diplomats to declare war make a big attack, force peace, move your units, attack again, force peace, etc.

    I'll have an update for this, hopefully sooner than later. I'm posting like 12 different modcomps/mods tonight, so I've been a little busy.

    In the meantime I invite people to try out my Thomas War mod which has the unit in working order.
     
  15. wotan321

    wotan321 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    1,218
    Location:
    NC, USA
    So did you ever get this thing to work?
     
  16. tsentom1

    tsentom1 Bubble Dragon

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1,000
    Location:
    New York
    I'm pretty sure I identified what I need to do I've just been either really busy in real life or with other projects that I keep putting it off. I will update it eventually, sorry for the delay.
     
  17. wotan321

    wotan321 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    1,218
    Location:
    NC, USA
    No need to apologize, you are not obligated to do this anyway. We appreciate your efforts, so do what you can when you can.
     
  18. tommy357

    tommy357 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Messages:
    142
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Can the Great Diplomat be used to make peace or war between AI themselves? or can improve or worsen the relationship between AI themselves?:)
     
  19. stolenrays

    stolenrays Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,061
    This mod works just fine in 3.19. I was wondering if anybody else has merged it. It seems that not all the code is bracketed. I just wasn't sure which python code was needed.

    Update: I figured it out and it works fine.
     
  20. wotan321

    wotan321 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    1,218
    Location:
    NC, USA
    Could you share with us what is required to add it to other mods?
     

Share This Page