1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

modded Wonders, Imps NOT cumulative???

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Creation & Customization' started by FinnMcCool, Jul 1, 2005.

  1. FinnMcCool

    FinnMcCool Crazy in the right way...

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2004
    Messages:
    608
    Location:
    Walla Walla Washington (really)
    After all the discussion about governments and corruption, I decided to add the City Improvements Forum, Court and Parliament, which all are tagged to reduce corruption. Added also the GW's Angkor Wat and Taj Mahal which had the wonder flag to reduce corruption.

    But playing, I found some examples where putting a Forum AND Court in a city had the same corruption as only a Forum.

    I assume in this case that the corruption isn't changed because the percentage threshold hasn't been reached. Anyone know what the percentage is that's affected by any modded Imp that reduces corruption?


    Also, very annoyingly, I found that Magellan's Voyage (Circumnavigation) gives a +1 to ship movement, but if I already have the Great Lighthouse, my ships don't get a +2. Seafaring +1, GLH +1 =+2, but Seafaring+GLH+Magelan's = +2 also. Can this be avoided?
     
  2. Smellincoffee

    Smellincoffee Trekkie At Large

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Messages:
    5,988
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Heart of Dixie
    Maybe improvements can only do so much to curb corruption? The effects have to be somewhat cumalative, or else there would be no need for a courthouse AND a police station (which requires a police station to build). As per the second question, I don't know.
     
  3. Theoden

    Theoden Deity GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,569
    Location:
    Denmark
    What the corruption reducing improvements do is halve the distance corruption and add 25% to your OCN which in turn reduces rank corruption. This is cumulative so two corruption reducing improvements would make distance 1/4 and OCN 50% higher. The exact effect in % corruption varies.

    Concerning the lighthouse/magellans the game can only apply each of the flags (+1 and +2 ship move) once, but the seafaring is a seperate bonus and will always show up.
     
  4. Turner

    Turner Deity Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2002
    Messages:
    28,169
    Location:
    Randomistan
    Moderator Action: Thread moved to C&C

    I'm thinking extra movement for ships doesn't stack. At least, it doesn't in RnR.
     
  5. CyberChrist

    CyberChrist You caught my attention

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2001
    Messages:
    1,424
    Location:
    The Matrix
    Maximum possible boost to ship movement is +4
    +1 from Seafaring trait
    +1 from "Lighthouse" wonder flag
    +2 from "Magellan" wonder flag

    Having several wonders with the same speed increase flag does not increase naval speed more than if you only have 1 wonder with that flag.

    If you need a ship to move significantly faster with each boost you could mark the ship with the All Terrain as Roads flag, increasing movement by +3 for each bonus up to a maximum of +12. This is assuming movement along roads is set to 3, but that can of course be increased/decreased to fit your need.
     
  6. FinnMcCool

    FinnMcCool Crazy in the right way...

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2004
    Messages:
    608
    Location:
    Walla Walla Washington (really)
    Sorry about putting this in the wrong forum. D'oh!

    Thanks for the good comments! :goodjob:
     
  7. sourboy

    sourboy Awakening...

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2001
    Messages:
    5,560
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Hmm, so is this rule also consistent when it comes to say, increased science output?

    If I have two wonders that both give the same flag of 50% research bonus in the same city, does that not stack either?
     
  8. CyberChrist

    CyberChrist You caught my attention

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2001
    Messages:
    1,424
    Location:
    The Matrix
    Yes, that would stack.

    Here is a list of the flags that have been confirmed as being cumulative and not cumulative:

    Cumulative
    *Doubles Sacrifice (!)
    +50% Research Output
    +50% Luxury Output
    +50% Tax Output
    Resistant to Propaganda
    Reduce Corruption
    Reduce War Weariness
    Increases Food in Water
    *Increases Trade in Water
    Increases Shields in Water
    +1 Trade in Each Trade-Producing Tile
    Doubles Research Output
    *Treasury Earns 5% (max total earned from interest is still 50gpt)
    Reduce Corruption
    Reduces War Weariness in All Cities
    Doubles City Defenses (Bombardment defense only)

    Not Cumulative
    Defense bonuses of improvements
    Removes Pop. Pollution
    Removes Bldg. Pollution
    *Increase Luxury Trade
    Doubles Combat Strength vs. Barbarians
    +1 Ship Movement
    +2 Ship Movement
    Halves Unit Upgrade Cost
    *City Growth Causes +2 Citizens
    Increase Chance of Leader Appearence
    Build Larger Armies
    *Allows Healing in enemy Territory

    Text in italics indicates a wonder effect.


    EDIT: I realized the list was not entirely up to date - so I added a few more (marked with *) ;)

    EDIT2: Corrected Treasury Earns 5% effect
     
    Adrain likes this.
  9. FinnMcCool

    FinnMcCool Crazy in the right way...

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2004
    Messages:
    608
    Location:
    Walla Walla Washington (really)
    Wow, thanks, CyberChrist for such a sweeping and informative post! :goodjob:
     
  10. Bjornlo

    Bjornlo Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Messages:
    3,701
    Location:
    Hjørungavåg
    Yeah, CyberChrist. That is very helpful info. Thanks for sharing it.
     
  11. CyberChrist

    CyberChrist You caught my attention

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2001
    Messages:
    1,424
    Location:
    The Matrix
    Just updated the list I posted previously in this thread.
     
  12. Wolfhart

    Wolfhart The Last in Line

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2001
    Messages:
    973
    Location:
    Capita, Sweden
    Excellent list! Good to have when you're modding.
    One thing though: Treasury Earns 5% are in fact cumulative, but you can't earn more than 50 gold/turn.
     
  13. CyberChrist

    CyberChrist You caught my attention

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2001
    Messages:
    1,424
    Location:
    The Matrix
    Aha, I wasn't aware of this - well spotted, I will correct the list.

    That actually opens up for some interesting possibilities :)
     
  14. Wolfhart

    Wolfhart The Last in Line

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2001
    Messages:
    973
    Location:
    Capita, Sweden
    This one surprised me when I read about it the first time, but does anyone know which defense bonus will be used when there's more than one improvement with defense bonus in the city? The highest?
     
  15. CyberChrist

    CyberChrist You caught my attention

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2001
    Messages:
    1,424
    Location:
    The Matrix
    @Wolfhart: Yes, only the highest defense bonus will be used.
     
  16. KrikkitTwo

    KrikkitTwo Immortal

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Messages:
    12,337
  17. CyberChrist

    CyberChrist You caught my attention

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2001
    Messages:
    1,424
    Location:
    The Matrix
    @Krikkitone: Yes
     
  18. Willem

    Willem Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Messages:
    7,313
    Location:
    Canada
    Fraid not. Most of the Wonder effects don't accumulate. In fact, can't think of any that do off hand.
     
  19. CyberChrist

    CyberChrist You caught my attention

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2001
    Messages:
    1,424
    Location:
    The Matrix
    Lol - try reading my first post in this thread :p
     
  20. Willem

    Willem Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Messages:
    7,313
    Location:
    Canada
    OK, I stand corrected. Thanks for the list. I didn't think the "Treasury Earns 5%" stacked. I only noticed the 50 gpt cap and made the assumption that it didn't.
     

Share This Page