1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Modders Guide to Civilization V

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Modding Tutorials & Reference' started by Kael, Sep 28, 2010.

  1. Kael

    Kael Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    17,400
    Location:
    Ohio
    It's a massive document so it may take a while to load. I would highly recommend you save it local.

    Moderator Action: ATTENTION, this guide is not anymore up to date, many parts are outdated. Not all is outdated, many things are still worthwile to read, but not everything. So if you have problems following the guide, then this might not be because you don't see the problem, but because this part might just be wrong now. If you encounter problems within this guide, then please create a thread in the main modding forum to ask for help.
    Download: Modders Guide to Civilization V

    If the Modder's Guide is helpful to you please think about providing a little documentation of your own. Start a thread here and document the process you figured out to make something cool happen. The temptation is to keep our cool little tricks to ourselves, so that our mods are more unique, this is a mistake. The mods we can make alone are time consuming and limited. The mods we can create together are incredible.

    Have Fun!


    Disclaimer:
    My PM box flowth over. There are lots of great people trying to create mods right now and I know you may be stuck and want help (trust me I feel your pain, imagine when Dale and I were first doing it and trying to teach ourselves). But I can't keep up with the requests. I do want to help, which is why I spent so much time writing this guide.

    But I would recommend rather than PMing me that you post your questions publically in the Civ5 - Creation & Customization forum. Chances are other people are wondering what you are, and that someone will be able to answer a lot faster than I can.​

    Other tools:
     
  2. Thorn

    Thorn Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2002
    Messages:
    803
    Location:
    Project Tic-Toc
    Nothing happens when I click the link. :(
    It appears to be an .exe file. I saved to my hard drive but I'm told it's not an .exe file when I try to run it.
     
  3. croxis

    croxis Chat room op

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2001
    Messages:
    3,277
    Location:
    Portland, OR, US
    It is a pdf file. You will need acrobat reader or foxit reader.
     
  4. Thorn

    Thorn Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2002
    Messages:
    803
    Location:
    Project Tic-Toc
    It is a .pdf file now. Twasn't before. ;)
     
  5. Thorn

    Thorn Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2002
    Messages:
    803
    Location:
    Project Tic-Toc
    Just took a quick look at the manual and I have two things to say:

    1) It looks awesome. Great work!:goodjob:
    2)My head is spinning. :faint:
     
  6. pathos

    pathos Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Messages:
    32
    Location:
    Arkansas
    Nice, thanks!
     
  7. Sephi

    Sephi Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,908
    thanks a lot Kael
     
  8. Thorburne

    Thorburne Centurion

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,431
    Location:
    Carney, MD
    Good deal Kael! This will be quite helpful to us unexperienced folks! :)
     
  9. Grave

    Grave 1 Goat = 400 Horses

    Joined:
    May 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,530
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Excellent guide, Kael!

    I've only read the first 13 pages, but from what I've read so far, this is guide is a "must have" for any modder. Having prior Civ IV modding exerpience, a lot of the "lingo" makes perfect sense to me, but you explained everything in such a way that even the a beginner can pick this guide up and dive right in!

    Thanks for making this!
     
  10. Dale

    Dale Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Messages:
    6,976
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Kael, error (sorry more like an omission) in your document:

    Deleting a resource you also need to edit AssignStartingPlots.lua as resources (especially strategic resources like horse that you use in your example) are hard coded in the script. If you don't remove the references to the resource in that lua script you'll get lua errors and potential problems as the script will abort if there's a serious error.
     
  11. Kruelgor

    Kruelgor Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,165
    Location:
    The United States
    Thank you Kael. This will definitely come in handy.
     
  12. CrazyAce

    CrazyAce Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    396
    Location:
    I'm here, soon to be there.
    :woohoo:

    Nice Kael thanx, this will prevent me from asking noob questions. Hopefully it will help others from asking same noob questions also :)
     
  13. Abremms

    Abremms Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    436
    I am amazed at how easy modding is in civ5. I just made my first mod, a simple courthouse tweak. it took me 15 minutes, and that included skimming Kael's guide to learn how to use the modbuddy.

    Cannot wait to try some more complicated stuff.
     
  14. CyberTyrant

    CyberTyrant Formerly known as low

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2002
    Messages:
    1,258
    Location:
    Wisconsin, USA
    Thanks, Kael. :goodjob:
     
  15. Kruelgor

    Kruelgor Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,165
    Location:
    The United States
    Sure is a lot of obsolete features. Some of it seems like it would have been very cool.
     
  16. deanej

    deanej Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,859
    Location:
    New York State
    WOW, this is great! I've added it to the modiki, though you may have just made it obsolete.
     
  17. LoneGamer

    LoneGamer Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Thank you!!!:D:D
     
  18. Beardy Dan

    Beardy Dan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2009
    Messages:
    150
    All hail Kael!
     
  19. HTF

    HTF Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Cheers for this, really helped me figure out how to add civs. I figured out 90% of it myself but you had that extra step I was missing!
     
  20. Wirapuru

    Wirapuru a happy dog

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    122
    Thanks a lot for this, priceless information!
     
  21. salaminizer

    salaminizer Colorado Internacional

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    221
    Location:
    Porto Alegre, Brasil
    I'm not sure where should I ask, but I suppose it could go here:

    what do I need to add in the mod properties when I want to replace a lua file? specifically, I have changed the TopPanel.lua file and added a new XML tag in a new file. I have added the UpdateDatabse action to the XML file, but repeating it for the LUA script didn't work.
     
  22. Kael

    Kael Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    17,400
    Location:
    Ohio
    If you replace Lua files you don't need to reference them in the mod properties. Use Queen of the Iceni as a reference. It replaces quite a few base Lua files and doesn't reference them in the mod properties.

    Make sure that your name is an exact match. Make sure that your code is working (their is a lua log file in the logs directory that usually shows any errors).
     
  23. Huck Finn

    Huck Finn Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    114
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    After I build the mod, how do I test it in game before publishing it?
     
  24. Soduka

    Soduka Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2007
    Messages:
    288
    I'm getting frustrated that they spelled Bismark a thousand different ways in their files. Very hard to track this guy down in here.
     
  25. Dearmad

    Dearmad Dead weight

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2001
    Messages:
    1,403
    ^^this.... I BUILT my mod and then I see it in the game- I enabled it... but then it doesn't seem to be working? It should change game selection options. I know it works as it works if I replace the original files... so...
     
  26. Keroro

    Keroro Dororo: Ninja Frog

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Messages:
    1,789
    Location:
    The Hinata Residence
    Hi Kael, I just wanted to say a huge thank you for putting this together. It must have taken some serious time. I've never modded anything in Civ 4 so I'm basically a newbie to XML but your explanations are really clear and I feel like I can get started without fear now.

    Although it is 4:45 in the morning here so maybe I should wait until tomorrow? ;)
     
  27. Abremms

    Abremms Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    436
    i think thats what the tuner is for, you can use it to adjust your game to the point where your mod would come into play. also, depending on what sort of changes you are making, they may be reflected in the pedia automatically.
     
  28. Kael

    Kael Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    17,400
    Location:
    Ohio
    Once you've built the mod you can play it. Gong into Online services makes it available to everyone else, but it is available to you without doing that step.

    Keep in mind that replacing XML files isn't the way modding works in Civ5. If you are doing the same thing you did when modifying the original files then it won't work.

    No, the tuner isn't for that.
     
  29. Dale

    Dale Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Messages:
    6,976
    Location:
    Melbourne
    If you're changing actual in-game setup screens, that won't work as a mod.
     
  30. Dale

    Dale Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Messages:
    6,976
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Sorry, but it is. If you add a unit, Tuner can allow you to give yourself the tech that enables it. If you want to see your unit in-game, Tuner allows you to place the unit on the map. If you want to see the diplomacy screen of a Civ you've added, reveal map through Tuner to get the diplomacy screens up. If it's terrain, place some through Tuner. Buildings? Yep, Tuner does that too! Even if it's a Lua event, trigger it through Tuner.

    Tuner is most definitely the way to test stuff!
     

Share This Page