1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Modding the game? Removing tech trading.

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Creation & Customization' started by Ondskan, Oct 29, 2008.

  1. Ondskan

    Ondskan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,133
    Hi.

    Does anyone have an idea of if its possible to mod the core engine and overall gameplay?

    For example would it be possible to remove tech trading?
    By for example removing the notion of tech trading to the AI or simply making it extremely protective of its technologies?
     
  2. blue_inStinCt

    blue_inStinCt Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Messages:
    41
    thre is a flag for every tech that says: can be trade (or something like that)
    just uncheck it and the tech is no longer tradeable

    and there is a setting in the editor that says: AI to AI trade
    this will increase/decrease the AI trade in any aspect (including techs) as it says:from AI to AI
     
  3. Ondskan

    Ondskan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,133
    xD Forgot that you could do so with single techs and just click down all of them ^.^ Thanks!
    Still the trade AI to Ai ratio would be nice to lower to in general so one has a chance to buy up some resources sometimes.

    Where exacly is that setting?
     
  4. Virote_Considon

    Virote_Considon The Great Dictator

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Messages:
    9,249
    Location:
    Skaville UK Reputation: 1
    Difficulty settings, I think.
     
  5. Yoda Power

    Yoda Power ✫✫✫✫✫✫✫

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    13,852
    I tried doing that actually. You have to play at a higher difficulty level, since it's a pretty big disadvantedge to the AI. Otherwise it makes for some interesting games.
     

Share This Page