1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Modern Real Civ Flags

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Graphics modpacks' started by KnelRivendare, Jun 29, 2012.

  1. KnelRivendare

    KnelRivendare Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012
    Messages:
    271
    Download Site:
    http://forums.civfanatics.com/downloads.php?do=file&id=19509


    if you want to change a flag for a Civ just go into \XML\Civilizations

    and change the number

    <Update>
    <Set PortraitIndex="24"/>
    <Where Type="CIVILIZATION_GERMANY"/>
    </Update>

    or if you want to add a new one add these lines:

    <Update>
    <Set PortraitIndex="3"/>
    <Where Type="CIVILIZATION_AMERICA"/>
    </Update>
    <Update>
    <Set IconAtlas="CIV_COLOR_ATLAS_TWENTIES"/>
    <Where Type="CIVILIZATION_AMERICA"/>
    </Update>
    <Update>
    <Set AlphaIconAtlas="CIV_COLOR_ALPHAI_ATLAS_TWENTIES"/>
    <Where Type="CIVILIZATION_AMERICA"/>
    </Update>

    numbers/civ names have to be changed of course.


    0= Nazi Germany
    1= Britain
    2= Soviet Russia
    3= USA
    4= Japan
    5= France
    6= Italia
    7= Republic China
    8= Spain (Franco era)
    9= Turkye
    10= Greece
    11= Poland
    12= Benelux
    13= Denmark
    14= Sweden
    15= Brazil
    16= Argentina
    17= Macedonia
    18= Modern Germany
    19= Deutsches Reich
    20= Modern Russia/Imperial Russia
    21= Netherlands
    22= Iran
    23= Arab League
    24= Deutsches Reich with Prussian Eagle
    25= Austria-Hungary
    26= Saudi Arabia
    27= India
    28= Korea
    29= Canada
    30= Australia
    31= Switzerland
    32= Ireland
    33= Israel
    34= Mexico
    35= European Union
    36= Sctoland
    37= Communist China
    38= North Korea
    39= -----
    40= Prussian Eagle on white ground
    41= Imperial Russia with Eagle
    42= England
    43= Ethopia
    44= Qing China
    45= Spain
    46= Egypt


    if you have any request for new flags feel free to tell me and i see what i can do.


    also feel free to use the file for your mods or whatever
     

    Attached Files:

  2. KnelRivendare

    KnelRivendare Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012
    Messages:
    271
  3. daviiadams

    daviiadams Prince

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011
    Messages:
    369
    Location:
    London
    Is this an updated version to the one in the Workshop?

    Would also be nice to see an English flag :)
     
  4. KnelRivendare

    KnelRivendare Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012
    Messages:
    271
    i dont have anything on workshop :O

    looks like that is pretty much the same thing as my mod didnt know that! well now it makes sense im having such few downlaods ^.^

    but mhm my mod is more of a modders resource with some templates for beginners.

    i will add a English flag when i have atleast 4 more flags to add, i dont want to do the whole converting process just for one flag :p
     
  5. daviiadams

    daviiadams Prince

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011
    Messages:
    369
    Location:
    London
    I've had a go with the one on the Workshop, but it doesn't look nice when coupled with mods that change CS icons for their major Civ ally ones and yours also appear to be a cleaner, circular affair. That will probably look considerably better for such things anyway.

    Haha, chop chop - make with the flags! Nah, just seems odd that the English flag is the one that gets left out in favour of the Union one, when one of the major civs is England and not the UK. Tis often the same all over the net when you see language icons... Ok, my Lil Englander rant is over :blush:
     
  6. KnelRivendare

    KnelRivendare Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012
    Messages:
    271
    yepp! we non English people always consider the Union jack to be the English flag which is indeed odd since i added Scotland, Ireland and almost even Wales. ;)

    today im goin over it anyways, darken the flags a bit while doin that i will add the English and maybe some others (if i find som more important flags)
     
  7. KnelRivendare

    KnelRivendare Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012
    Messages:
    271
  8. daviiadams

    daviiadams Prince

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011
    Messages:
    369
    Location:
    London
    Oh I didn't mean that people equate the Union one the same as the English one :)

    Ah, the Welsh...terrorising everyone with their close harmony singing... :p
     
  9. KnelRivendare

    KnelRivendare Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012
    Messages:
    271
  10. Thorn

    Thorn King

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2002
    Messages:
    820
    Location:
    Project Tic-Toc
    Awesome, cool mod! Thanks for doing this. :goodjob:
     
  11. toft

    toft King

    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    Messages:
    758
    Location:
    €urope
    Nice mod. Kinda funny that we both made similar mods at the same time. The mod on steamworks is mine :) I just popped by the give a little tip. You can disable the civ icon coloroverlay in "CityBannerManager.lua". There's a textcolor that just needs to be deleted. Then you can use the original bordercolors again if you want to :)

    Anyways just a little tip.
     
  12. KnelRivendare

    KnelRivendare Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012
    Messages:
    271
    hey toft indeed funny and thanks for the tip :D

    but as im totally lost in LUA i have no clue were to delete that, i guess its somewhere there:

    but i dont dare to touch that as i have no clue what may happen, and G&K loading times are loooooong sheesh!
     
  13. Thorn

    Thorn King

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2002
    Messages:
    820
    Location:
    Project Tic-Toc
    Is there any way to have the flag icon for my Civilization to be displayed all of the time instead of what's being built in the city? I never look at the 'being built' icon anyway.
     
  14. KnelRivendare

    KnelRivendare Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012
    Messages:
    271
  15. Thorn

    Thorn King

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2002
    Messages:
    820
    Location:
    Project Tic-Toc
    After rooting around a bit I found the following two files that seem to control the city banner:
    CityBannerManager.xml
    CityBannerManager.lua
    I have yet to try any modding with Civ5 but perhaps if I get some time I'll attempt to get the new flag icons to replace the production icons. But hopefully someone else will beat me to it. :p
     
  16. Ravenant

    Ravenant Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    The Spanish flag is the dictatorship flag with the eagle, when Spain was ruled by Franco for 40 years after a million death-civil war. It is very offensive for Spaniards. If I were you I would change change it. From a spaniard ;-)
     
  17. KnelRivendare

    KnelRivendare Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012
    Messages:
    271
    im sorry! had no clue i will add a normal Spanish flag asap.
     
  18. isnorden

    isnorden Amnesiac Modder

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Messages:
    608
    Location:
    Madison, Wisconsin, USA
    Agreed--from an American. :) Unless you're running a scenario under Franco, using his "dictatorship flag" is akin to using the Japanese WWII flag with the central sun emitting rays. (I could've made the more obvious comparison, but *cough* Godwin's Law *cough*.)
     
  19. Ravenant

    Ravenant Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Hey, don't worry :). It is a common mistake. The problem is the shield of the eagle. I would just use a flag without shield to avoid controversies like this one or at least the current one
     
  20. toft

    toft King

    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    Messages:
    758
    Location:
    €urope
    Sorry I didn't follow up on that hint :)

    The file you need is here:
    Code:
    ..\Steam\steamapps\common\sid meier's civilization v\Assets\DLC\Expansion\UI\InGame
    The file name:
    Code:
    CityBannerManager.lua
    Copy that file into ModBuddy and edit it. Find line 472 with this code:
    Code:
    controls.StatusIcon:SetColor( textColor );
    Replace that with:
    Code:
    controls.StatusIcon:SetColor();
    Set "Import into VFS" to true. That's it! :)
     

Share This Page