1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Modification

Discussion in 'Alpha Centauri' started by Bllasae, May 24, 2009.

  1. Bllasae

    Bllasae Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    315
    Location:
    Canada
    Can you modify the size of a Planet Buster explosion?
    Also, can you modify how the other civs think of you if you use a Planet Buster (Remove negative effects, etc.). Thanks.
     
  2. Jack Hawksmoor

    Jack Hawksmoor Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    I believe these are hardcoded.

    Planet Buster explosion radius depends on reactor type though.
     
  3. Bllasae

    Bllasae Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    315
    Location:
    Canada
    Can I modify the explosion radius by editing the reactor, then?
     
  4. Russia4Life

    Russia4Life Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    69
    Location:
    Wisconsin, USA
    You can use the workshop to add a different reactor to the planet buster design. Provided you have researched a more advanced reactor.

    Or if you just wanna have fun blowing stuff up like I do every now and then you can cheat using the scenario editor and blast everything on the map into smithereens.

    You could also play as one of the Firaxin factions since they start with singularity mechanics(the required tech for the most advanced reactor) You just go about your business until you have the tech for planet busters and you can start blasting people away that way as well.
     
  5. Bllasae

    Bllasae Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    315
    Location:
    Canada
    I know how to play the game, but I just want to modify the reactor power, to create a huge nuke (296 gigatons is a bit too small in the game).
     
  6. Russia4Life

    Russia4Life Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    69
    Location:
    Wisconsin, USA
    There is a reactor section in the alphax.txt file but changing the reactor values does nothing in game as far as I can tell. Maybe ask Darsnan he is into modding stuff and might be able to help.
     
  7. Bllasae

    Bllasae Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    315
    Location:
    Canada
    Thanks, I tried to change the reactor in the alpha.txt file, and yes, nothing happened. Thanks for the help, I'll try and contact Darsnan.
     
  8. Darsnan

    Darsnan Emperor

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1,024
    I believe there is a pcx file which shows the various stages of the mushroom cloud which you could modifyif you wanted. I can see about looking up the file's name.

    Short of this I don't think there is anything you can do to change the actual potency of a nuclear weapon: it is what it is.


    D
     
  9. Bllasae

    Bllasae Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    315
    Location:
    Canada
    Is there a way to change how the others think about it.
     
  10. Jack Hawksmoor

    Jack Hawksmoor Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Yes, through evidence and argumentation, and failing that conditioning and biochemical alteration. :)
     
  11. Russia4Life

    Russia4Life Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    69
    Location:
    Wisconsin, USA
    Thanks for that extremely helpful answer Jack :goodjob:
     

Share This Page