1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

[ModMerge] Religon and Revolution with 2 Plots City Radius

Discussion in 'Civ4Col - Mods and Files' started by Commander Bello, Nov 29, 2012.

  1. Commander Bello

    Commander Bello Say No 2 Net Validations

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Messages:
    3,794
    Location:
    near Koblenz, Germany
    As Religion and Revolution has adopted the 2 Plots City Radius since long, this modmerge is outdated (RaR 1.3 isn't even available anymore, but has been constantly updated to current version 2.0).
    In case you are interested in the "no entering peaks" feature, please load my modmod (see my signature).

    Spoiler :

    Since it has been asked for (here) and I had it available:

    This is a merge of "Religion and Revolution (RaR)" (v. 1.3 - download link can be found here) and "2 Plots City Radius".

    Please be informed that this is just a merge.
    No corrections, balancing changes or any other adaptions have been made.
    It is purely meant to give you the chance to play the standard RaR with bigger cities.

    Nevertheless, any findings and bug reports of course are welcome, but don't rely on me to have them fixed, as I am just a beginner in coding. You will play at your own risk.

    Update
    19th of January, 2013: due to the alternative version (see below) available now, please make sure that in case of problems, you state the date of the version being in use.
    End of update

    Procedure:
    • Make a copy of your RaR folder in the "Mods" directory.
    • Have it called "Religion_and_Revolution1.3_2PCR" (or any other name, but then you would have to insert the files manually).
    • Just start the game and load this new mod (yet unchanged from RaR) to make sure that your new copy of RaR is running correctly.
    • Close the game.
    • Extract the 7z-file attached to this posting to any place you like (for instance, to Desktop)
    • Once again, make sure you have named your copy correctly.
    • Copy the extracted folder structure to your Mods folder.
    • If asked to incorporate existing folders and/or to overwrite existing files, always say "Yes".
    • Start the game again
    • Select "Religion_and_Revolution1.3_2PCR" again as mod to be played
    • Your first settlement should show up similar to the first screenshot below
    • After having gained more than 20 bells, it should look similar to the second screenshot below
    • That's all. Happy playing.

    Screenshots:
    Spoiler :

    Spoiler :



    Credits:
    Credits go solely to the RaR-Team for creating their mod and to Nevermind for creating the "2 plots city radius"-mod. None of them can be held responsible for any issues related to problems arising from the combination of both mods.
    Except for merging, I haven't done anything. :)

    Version history
    Version for Religion and Revolution 1.2(c) has been downloaded 43 times

    Alternative version (forbids entering of mountains [peaks]) can be found here.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Androrc the Orc

    Androrc the Orc Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Messages:
    1,620
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
  3. Commander Bello

    Commander Bello Say No 2 Net Validations

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Messages:
    3,794
    Location:
    near Koblenz, Germany
    Thanks. :)
     
  4. Willi_Tell

    Willi_Tell praefectus praetorio

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    259
    Location:
    City of the Bears, Switzerland
    Interesting merge, thank you! :rockon:
     
  5. Commander Bello

    Commander Bello Say No 2 Net Validations

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Messages:
    3,794
    Location:
    near Koblenz, Germany
    You're welcome. :)
     
  6. Lady Lydia

    Lady Lydia Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    Antwerpen
    On the moment im trying something new.

    I am playing with the Mixtec (natives) and am just trying to figuer out how i can get professional professions i can make all buildings but lack the skill of teaching them or train them.
    And i cant buy some materials needed (horses) i have to figuer that out aswell.

    I am glad to hear that a other victory option is in development.

    And thanks on the tip for the bigger radius.
     
  7. Commander Bello

    Commander Bello Say No 2 Net Validations

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Messages:
    3,794
    Location:
    near Koblenz, Germany
    Sorry, I don't have any experience with playing natives - I even didn't know that this is possible. :)
    On a general level, natives shouldn't have any chance to get professional units.
    Horses they can get only by assaulting European colonies or by trading.

    Regarding the bigger city radius: you're welcome. :)
     
  8. JosEPh_II

    JosEPh_II TBS WarLord

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    15,661
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Western IL. cornfields
    Do Native settlements also receive the expanded city radius?

    JosEPh
     
  9. Commander Bello

    Commander Bello Say No 2 Net Validations

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Messages:
    3,794
    Location:
    near Koblenz, Germany
    In my test game (currently ~turn 75) they don't, as they don't produce culture.
    But I did notice that they are asking for money if settled near their villages, although the cultural radius of the new (European) city doesn't collide with the radius of their settlement.

    So, the feature of 2 plots per city for sure requires some work in the future, something which I have to admit not to be currently able to do.

    As I've said in the opening posting: you will be playing at your own risk. Technically, the features seems to work but balancing and interaction with other features has not yet been tested and not been adjusted.
     
  10. JosEPh_II

    JosEPh_II TBS WarLord

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    15,661
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Western IL. cornfields
    Thanks.

    Always wondered what good the Colonies expanding culture radius actually did for that colony as you could never work those tiles without cramming in another settlement.

    JosEPh
     
  11. Commander Bello

    Commander Bello Say No 2 Net Validations

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Messages:
    3,794
    Location:
    near Koblenz, Germany
    That's about pros and cons, I guess.

    You gain the ability to access more tiles but you have to pay for it....
     
  12. Lady Lydia

    Lady Lydia Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    Antwerpen
    It is possible to get horses without trade or conquer with natives.
    And Natives can get proffesions even in time, it can also be learned if you build a school if you have 1 native with the proffesion.
    Only proffesional soldiers i cant get (yet) .
    Now its looking for graphics for the buildings and proffesional jobs and ships that are not so European.
    Then i have to figuer out how to code them.
     
  13. orlanth

    orlanth Storm God. Yarr!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2001
    Messages:
    1,760
    Hi Lady Lydia, I'm glad to hear you're working on playable natives :goodjob::king: I'm interested in that too, and I did enable playable natives for the Colonization 2071 mod.

    Basically, in Civ4Civilizationinfos.xml I created a "King" parent civ for each native civ, like the regular colonial civs have; this allows them to have access to the Europe screen and goods prices for trade. I gave native civs a Trait with a big disadvantage in producing Crosses, but still made it possible for them to attract a few immigrants if they work hard at it. Then I gave them access to many of the units and buildings and professions of standard civs , also with some unique buildings and units especially for them. If you want, you could do a similar thing with the regular colonization natives. I have some nif graphic files of primitive buildings that may be good for natives if you'd like to have them. Here is a thread about making playable natives mods in Colonization:

    http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?t=447895
     
  14. Robert Surcouf

    Robert Surcouf Civ4Col Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    665
    Location:
    France
    Hi Commander Bello! I'm impressed. :goodjob:
    Do you intend to do the same with version 1.3 and following?
    When I have some spare time, I might check your source codes? What tags do I have to look for?
     
  15. Commander Bello

    Commander Bello Say No 2 Net Validations

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Messages:
    3,794
    Location:
    near Koblenz, Germany
    Hi Robert! :)
    Thanks for the kind words, but I don't deserve them. :sad: For sure, it isn't my source code.

    All what I did was merging the two mods, nothing else.
    And yes, I might do it for 1.3 too, if people are interested.
    The keywords to look for would be "//nm" and the changes are very simple That's, why I succeeded. :)

    What I would be interested in, would be to adjust the city screen a bit to cover the whole extended radius so that the more remote units aren't placed almost outside anymore. But since I lack any knowledge about Python... :sad:
     
  16. Pallando

    Pallando Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    Messages:
    94
    Commander Bello, thanks for the work in merging RaR 1.2 and 2PCR. It is awesome playing it.

    I look foward to the merging of 1.3 with this.

    Great work.
     
  17. Commander Bello

    Commander Bello Say No 2 Net Validations

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Messages:
    3,794
    Location:
    near Koblenz, Germany
    You're welcome. :)

    And I agree, I have fun in playing with this little addition, too. :)
     
  18. Pallando

    Pallando Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    Messages:
    94
    Yes, it does really add a new dimension in the game. It does makes the game more fun for me to play, because I tend not to make that many cities (from 5 to 7) and that really makes each city much more self reliant and have access to lots of resources.

    I have a city with cattle, grapes, silver, with lots of fisherman.

    Can I ask you what software do you use to compile in c?

    Are there other mod mods out there that you are contemplating adding or something that interests you?
     
  19. Commander Bello

    Commander Bello Say No 2 Net Validations

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Messages:
    3,794
    Location:
    near Koblenz, Germany
    Oh, compiling has been an almost endless story for me. :lol:

    I am using VS2008 right now with the 2003 SDK. I might release a description of how to set it up in the next days, but this needs some preparation first.

    And the next thing I would like to integrate is KJ Jansson's "Codex" (here), which - and I feel honoured by that - was based on an idea I once discussed in the German CivForum.
     
  20. Pallando

    Pallando Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    Messages:
    94
    Where do you get that software?
     

Share This Page