1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Moments that made you smile :)

Discussion in 'Civ3 - General Discussions' started by Xethorsiph, Nov 14, 2009.

  1. Xethorsiph

    Xethorsiph Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007
    Messages:
    65
    Location:
    N.J. U.S.A.
    So I havent played Civ III in a while and decided to pick up the game again. I decided to try it at Reagent level to get back into the game, and went right into working towards the philosophy sling shot. At last I get philosophy, and lo and behold, i am the first, and sling shot straight to republic! After getting my new government, I settle in for my mild struggle with the Irqoius (No I will NOT give you 24 gold), and then I see it....the republic sling shot netted me a Scientific Leader!

    So what moments have you guys had of sheer fortitude that just made you smile? A timely Scientific great leader, killing the ENEMIES tank with YOUR spearman, or just getting a start surrounded by a field of resources.
     
  2. D.Durand

    D.Durand Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    178
    Location:
    France
    Remember my post where i posted my all-lucky starting position (18 cows, lot a wheat and tobacco, all ressource under hand - just a fight needed for coal) ?

    With the first hut, just at two tiles of my capital and only city, popping a settler ?

    And the one or second tech giving me a leader (with who a insta-build the pyramids, of course) ?

    I ask you : Who need womens ?
     
  3. Xethorsiph

    Xethorsiph Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007
    Messages:
    65
    Location:
    N.J. U.S.A.
    Saw that thread after I posted this one...I was awestruck by the start, and I envy you for rolling it :)
     
  4. Aabraxan

    Aabraxan Mid-level Micromanager

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,314
    Location:
    Arkansas
    I remember my first successful Emperor-level game. I remember that I played as the Iros, and I believe it was on continents. By the time I had 4 cities up, Caesar had begun crowding me from the north. If I remember rightly, I had iron very near my capitol, but couldn't see it yet. He planted a city something like 3-4 tiles from my capitol, and even closer to another city.

    I had to start my first Emperor-level war with the magnificent military might of 4 archers! (All of my warriors were busy on MP duty & playing defense.) Three of my four archers died in the first attack, but the fourth took the city. :ar15:

    That made me smile.
     
  5. Spoonwood

    Spoonwood Grand Philosopher

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,887
    Location:
    Ohio
    I have around 25 four-cavalry armies in 770 AD. I'll post back with a bigger smile once I get to 1000 AD.
     
  6. Bartleby

    Bartleby Remembers laughter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    4,353
    Location:
    Englishman in Cork
    I don't play much at the moment, but in a recent game I got twin SGL's for Philosophy and Republic.
     
  7. IvanDolvich2

    IvanDolvich2 Order of Lenin

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    157
    Location:
    Japanese Imperial Army
    I thought you couldn't have more than one Leader (SGL/ MGL) at a time. :eek: so..you obviously didn't get them on the slingshot, or did you?
     
  8. Bartleby

    Bartleby Remembers laughter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    4,353
    Location:
    Englishman in Cork
    You can only have one Military leader at a time, but you can have more than one Scientific leader. This is because the game checks for a pre-existing leader during combat, but not for completing a tech.

    And yes, I got them on the slingshot. :D
     
  9. Turner

    Turner Deity Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2002
    Messages:
    28,169
    Location:
    Randomistan
    This:
     
  10. timerover51

    timerover51 Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    Messages:
    3,526
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Chicago area in Illinois
    Probably the first time that I added a unit to one of my mods, the Carthaginian War Elephant to Ptolemy's Map, and it WORKED!
     
  11. twilson

    twilson Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Ai stupidity in last game... i played archi as the english, got an amazing start (huge island to myself). And got miles and miles ahead. Im trading with the americans to their advantage, got about 200 units, artillery and modern armour etc... was bored of being so far ahead and going for a quick space victory.

    Suddenly im invaded...by american horsemen and pikemen... which definitely made me smile...

    Strange combat results!...same game i decided to punish the americans by killing them off, sent 20 modern armour to wipe their little island... thinking it would be plenty... but i hadnt counted on their 'super pikeman' who wiped out the first modern armour i used, made me chuckle imagining the fight...but also had me worried for a bit.
     
  12. Sensei 35

    Sensei 35 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    49
    Location:
    In your head...
    I started out with crap for resources, but then when I discovered the tech for oil, THERE WAS A HUGE OIL FIELD IN THE CENTER OF MY NATION!!!!!! I dominated from then on.
     
  13. Theov

    Theov Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    2,220
    Location:
    Taiwan
    When I have a boatload of privateers.
     
  14. Bowsling

    Bowsling Deity

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,000
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    the third time the Celts try to rebuild Richborough, the city that was right next to my regrouping three-man chariot stack. Honestly, what did i build my own workers for.
     
  15. Kaidonni

    Kaidonni Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    Messages:
    76
    Last night, when I realised that, in my current game, the Iroquois (sp?), a 'powerful' neighbour whose lands I am jealous of, do not have access to iron :lol:! Both they and I are in the Middle Ages, and they lack iron, so they can only build Spearmen, Archers, and Warriors. Not sure if they have horses, they might (add Horsemen to the equation), but it doesn't make a whole lot of difference - I do have iron :mischief:. So, an opponent who I have made many military alliances with (and who broke at least one!), who are now attacking the Japanese (who yet again signed a military alliance against me with the Aztecs), and who have beautiful lands, can be defeated more easily. RNG be damned, I'm gonna prepare the armies!
     
  16. The Professor

    The Professor Emperor

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Messages:
    260
    Location:
    at my desk
    I have a large empire, and I have only a few defensive units defending on the front lines. Then, my enemy, England, learns Amphibious Warfare. I scramble to cover my coastal cities that are within range of her majesty's navy. But, out of the fog comes 3 destroyers and one transport and drop off a single marine, NEXT TO an undefended coastal city.
     
  17. Spoonwood

    Spoonwood Grand Philosopher

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,887
    Location:
    Ohio
    34 four cavalry armies in 1000 AD, having lost 2 on that turn, and probably 6 overall, with 65% of the territory, with the Dutch only having 2 cities left, and the Hittites having 12-18, on a Huge Deity 60% pangea map which started with 15 opponents. I also put the Military Academy in a corrupt 1 shield per turn location, and had 2 turns left on Sanitation needing only Flight, Mass Production, and Motorized Transportation to enter the modern era.
     
  18. Aabraxan

    Aabraxan Mid-level Micromanager

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,314
    Location:
    Arkansas
    34 cav armies! That'd make me smile, too. Out of curiosity, why put the MA in such a corrupt town. Obviously, you're not in dire need of the ability to build armies, but I always put the MA in my capital, so that I've got something to use as a prebuild, assuming there aren't any Wonders available for that.
     
  19. Rustwork

    Rustwork Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    Messages:
    138
    playing sid recently (i don't do this often) and i was over the dom limit for land, but was only high 50s for pop. one rival left on a tiny arch map. beating back attackers, i climbed to 65% pop. stayed there for many turns. i look at the victory screen and see i have 66%, end turn. no victory. what? rival must have grown because i was back to 65%. that turn my rival landed a strong force on land i was not prepared to defend. i would lose some cities in a turn or two, and i knew i would not regain the advantage. this was a bitter ending to a long hard game, end turn. waiting for the attack next turn, when this appeared: Domination Victory! i suddenly had over 70% pop. what? looking closer i noticed all my rival's cities had lost pop. they made a conversion to fascism on their turn causing the loss in population and giving me the victory. :lol:
     
  20. Spoonwood

    Spoonwood Grand Philosopher

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,887
    Location:
    Ohio
    I had a build on the Military Academy going on my capital actually when I got an MGL. The corrupt town I placed it in, as I recall, could use that MGL immediately while no other city closer to my core could. So, the MGL went to that city, and I bought some of the other armies and got some off of MGLs.
     

Share This Page