1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Photobucket has changed its policy concerning hotlinking images and now requires an account with a $399.00 annual fee to allow hotlink. More information is available at: this link.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Dismiss Notice
  7. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Monarchy vs despotism

Discussion in 'Civ3 - General Discussions' started by boardinfailboat, May 15, 2009.

  1. boardinfailboat

    boardinfailboat Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    is monarchy really better than despotism? I mean the army costs really become unberable no matter how large your empire or how well developed you cities(2 for normal settlements, 4 for big ones)(obv talking about late ancient age early medieval, and no hospitals whatsoever).
     
  2. Tone

    Tone Chieftain Hall of Fame Staff

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Messages:
    4,548
    Location:
    Singapore
    Well I don't tend to use monarchy much (I much prefer republic) but one of the key factors that you have not considered is the despotism penalty. (Any tile that produces more than two gold/food/shields loses one of them.) This can limit growth (no point in irrigating grass under despotism), production (mined hills only give two shields rather than three) and you will not gain the full value from high commerce tiles.

    A large empire will not need to have a large number of units as the towns that are not on the border will not need protecting. You may think that you need MPs but if you have a decent number of luxes with markets your towns will be happy. This leaves sufficient free units to protect your borders and also attack one of your neighbours in force.
     
  3. timerover51

    timerover51 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    Messages:
    3,450
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Chicago area in Illinois
    I use monarchy, and another factor to consider is that the corruption factor is one lower, from "rampant" to "problematic", as well as avoiding the Despotism penalty. That Despotism penalty can really hurt in the early game, as well as when you start sending out colonists.
     
  4. ThinkTank

    ThinkTank RL Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,084
    Location:
    An inaccessible possible world
    What they said. And in addition to that, you can cash-rush improvements in monarchy. In despotism you can only pop-rush, which you normally don't want to do in your good cities, as it costs you happiness and production capacity.
     
  5. Spoonwood

    Spoonwood Grand Philosopher

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,791
    Location:
    Ohio
    The answer is, as Tone hinted at, Repbulic.
     
  6. vmxa

    vmxa Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    13,615
    Location:
    Oviedo, Fl
    Well the question did not involve Republic, but is Monarchy really better than Despotism. The answer is given by Tone.
     
  7. boardinfailboat

    boardinfailboat Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    no option of republic for aw games. But as soon as i switch to monarchy i find that i can't run the tech at higher rate than 10% esp if i dont have 2-3 luxes. Most I can do is about 50% :( with monarchy.
    edit: atm i got iroquis 550 ad just starting medieval age. monarch about 20 cities.
    income 155
    10% science 10% entertainment(1 lux and hanging gardens) and only making 50 per turn. Trying to mass build aqueducts to save a gold in bigger cities.
    forbidden palace in use, although couple of big corrupts cities are there.

    military:
    10 workers
    1 settler
    28 spearman
    9 catapults
    31 mw
     
  8. TheOverseer714

    TheOverseer714 Overseer

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    5,077
    Location:
    Ohio
    The 28 Spearmen and 10 workers are your main problem, you should only build defenders to guard against initial attacks at border towns and you need more workers to road every tile in use to boost your income. Reverse those numbers and you'd do much better. Those Spearmen sitting around aren't earning their keep, but workers can boost income by improving high gold tiles (rivers and resource tiles).
     
  9. boardinfailboat

    boardinfailboat Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    doing much better now, i hurried sun tzu's and saved about 10 gold on barracks upkeep and will also reduce number of defenders by upgrading to pikeman. Hopefully i will spawn another leader to b uild bach's cathedral as well as finally road the newly captured furs.
    edit: 79/60 now for military allowed
    also i have 29 slaves
    +90 gpt
     
  10. TheOverseer714

    TheOverseer714 Overseer

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    5,077
    Location:
    Ohio
    The preferred ratio of Workers per city is 1.5 if Industrious, 2 for other traits, so good job on getting those slaves to get to the number. I count 2 slaves as 1 worker, so you now have adequate workers, just remember to group them properly to get things improved as fast as possile..
     
  11. boardinfailboat

    boardinfailboat Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    I always had a lt of slaves. That's why i dont build workers except for 2 initally and I built more b/c i wasn't able to cut forests/fix hills fast enough(the area wasn't very good).
     
  12. Rodrig0

    Rodrig0 Monarch

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Messages:
    327
    Location:
    Cd. Juarez, Mexico
    Don't slaves get the faster work rate from industrious trait? I remember playing industrious, where I would need 3 regular workers to irrigate in one turn, so if slaves work at 1/2 efficiency, shouldn't it be 6 slaves instead?? :confused:

    And by the way, this might be off topic, but I've been wondering... do crusaders get the industrious bonus for building fortresses? And then from replaceable parts? There have been times when I still keep crusaders after the industrial age, only for MP, and sometimes I send them to help slaves build fortresses... I wonder how would they look? :lol: A bunch of war prisioners with chains in their feet, being directed by some weirdos on chain mail and white coat.
     
  13. TheOverseer714

    TheOverseer714 Overseer

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    5,077
    Location:
    Ohio
    Slaves don't get any advantage from the Industrious trait until Replaceable Parts is researched. AFAIK, Crusaders always work at the same rate, but I've never tested that for a fact.
     
  14. timerover51

    timerover51 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    Messages:
    3,450
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Chicago area in Illinois
    Crusaders work at the same rate regardless of civilization unless you play around with their data in the editor. I keep them around for use later as combat engineers, as they do build fortresses faster than workers. I think that might be hard coded in the program. I like using the Crusader, both unmodified and modified, and have used them with several civilizations, both Industrious and not, and I have not seen any difference in work rate. I think that their normal work rate is equal to that of an Industrious Worker prior to Replaceable Parts.
     
  15. Desertsnow

    Desertsnow πr²

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,794
    I'm at war most of the time for most of the game, and almost always from about the middle of the ancient era onward, so I usually establish a Monarchy at my earliest opportunity. It works for me.
     
  16. Rodrig0

    Rodrig0 Monarch

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Messages:
    327
    Location:
    Cd. Juarez, Mexico
    Quoting myself :crazyeye: Yes, they do. I just tested it now, they built fortresses in 16 turns before replaceable parts, and then it was halved to 8 turns after RP. It seems even a holy templar knight could use a shovel made of replaceable parts... made in Taiwan, of course :D
     
  17. Theov

    Theov Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,973
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Despotism
    A.k.a.: Despo
    'Base' government, this is the government where you start with. Good for starting Civs with little income, happiness problems (lack of luxuries) or without the income to support a large military.

    Worker Efficiency: 100%
    Hurry Method: Forced labor
    Corruption: Rampant
    War Weariness: none
    Draft Rate: 2
    Military Police Limit: 2
    Unit Support Town/City/Metro: 4/4/4
    Notes: Any square which produces more than 2 food, commerce, or shields produces 1 less. (aka 'Despo Penalty')

    Monarchy
    The lack of war weariness (WW) can be more valuable than the commerce bonus in Republic and Democracy, if you plan to be at war for a long time.
    The presence of military police can compensate a lack of luxuries and makes a good combination for small kingdoms at war and have an army a Republic can't support.

    Worker Efficiency: 100%
    Hurry Method: Pay citizens
    Corruption: Problematic
    War Weariness: none
    Draft Rate: 2
    Military Police Limit: 3
    Unit Support Town/City/Metro: 2/4/8
     
  18. Theov

    Theov Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,973
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I'd say that when you're empire has grown and the income increases (think: 6 cities and mostly roaded) then the corruption becomes a problem, and moving to Monarchy can be much better than Depo.

    I also don't think you took the despo penalty into factor; any square which produces more than 2 food, commerce, or shields produces 1 less. This cripples you too much not to change to republic or monarchy.
     
  19. Calis

    Calis on time

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    8,967
    Location:
    Germany GMT+1
    I can only think of two reasons not to switch to Monarchy ASAP.

    1. The unit upkeep for towns is higher in Despotism
    2. Wrong time for an anarchy because you need new units while at war.

    Other than that Monarchy is always better.
     
  20. Nergal

    Nergal Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    Messages:
    390
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    Monarchy is way better than Despotism, although its harder to get than Republic normally due to the longer Tech path which means popping Monarchy with Philosophy doesnt work too often. Its a good choice for early wars when your towns arent established enough to fuel Republic. Personally I wouldnt have built catapults, maybe 2 spears per town for garrison and a mixed stack or two of swords, archers and spears for attacking the nearest Civ.
     

Share This Page