1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Mongols

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Completed Scenarios' started by volbound1700, Mar 16, 2005.

  1. volbound1700

    volbound1700 Emperor

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    372
    Location:
    Tennessee
    This is my 2nd scenario I have posted in this forum, check out my Rise of Rome one. This is based on the time of the Mongols right before Temujin begins his conquests. There are 3 Chinese Civs: Jing,Song,Xia Xi. Japan, Khmer Empire(Cambodia) Six Islamic Civs: Khwarazm Empire, Sultanite of Delhi, Abbasids, Almohad Caliphite, Fatamid Caliphite, Seljuk Turks. 2 Orthodox Nations: Byzantines, Kievan Russia. and 9 Catholic Nations: England, Scotland, France, Spain, Holy Roman Empire, Hungary, Poland-Lithuania, Scandanvia, Italian City States. The Mongols have a Dramatic Military advantage with their Keshlik units and are the main civ meant to play. I have a VP victory option but you can turn it off. By the way the map is small on this and wars are inevitable, after all this is the dark ages. Scenario in next post.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. volbound1700

    volbound1700 Emperor

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    372
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Here is scenario, email me back any comments. This file is pretty big. Instructions: Make folder called Mongols and put the file texts in their and make folder in mongol folder called art then put all the rest of the folders in there. Look for 2nd post because I still got more dl.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. volbound1700

    volbound1700 Emperor

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    372
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ok this is getting confusing because file is so big, take all these files and put them under folder called otomo spearman, put it in folder called units, then put units in folder called art which should be in folder called mongols in your scenario folder.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. volbound1700

    volbound1700 Emperor

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    372
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Finally you need the flic files(there too large to upload) for the leaders, go to the scenario folder under the civ3ptw folder. Go to TETurkhan folder and then to art then you will see flic folder copy it and stick it in the mongols folder under the art folder. So you should have in the art folder, these folders: Advisors, Civilopedia, leaderheads, units, and flics in any order. Under Mongol folder you should have the art and text folder.
     
  5. volbound1700

    volbound1700 Emperor

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    372
    Location:
    Tennessee
    my posts were kind of confusing so dl the readme file and it will explain to you how to get the scenario to work.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. INVINCIBLE

    INVINCIBLE Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    Really thanks for your scenario. But i am a scenario-noob :D . I encouter 2 probs:
    - i only have C3C and no PTW. How can i get the needed flic files?
    - If i try to play the scenario it tells me FILE MISSING! The missing file is some .ini-file of the ottomon-spearman.

    I downloaded all your files and read the instructions. I hope u can help me cause i was looking for a mongol scenario.

    Thx in advance
     
  7. Plotinus

    Plotinus Philosopher Administrator

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Messages:
    16,810
    Location:
    Somerset
    volbound, it shouldn't be necessary to have to copy files that people already have from one folder to another. You can tell the scenario to look for them in other folders.
     
  8. volbound1700

    volbound1700 Emperor

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    372
    Location:
    Tennessee
    The C3C cd should have PTW scenarios on it just look for TETurkhan scenario that my readme described and it should be under there: INVINCIBLE.
    Yes I know you can tell your scenario to look for files in folder but half the time it dont work and it just easy to start your own folder and copy the files you need into it, Plotinus. I have had trouble in past doing that, that is why now I just copy files over into folder. Thankyou both for your inputs, I was wondering if anyone has problems with the gameplay or any advice for updates, I plan to make 2 more scenarios using the same files one about Timuerlane, and one about the 4 successor Mongol states(Like Kublai Khan in China, or the Golden Horde in Russia) after genghis khan and I will update the other civs around the map as well.
     
  9. INVINCIBLE

    INVINCIBLE Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Messages:
    7
     
  10. volbound1700

    volbound1700 Emperor

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    372
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Hey Invincible TETURKHAN scenario folder should be under the C3ptw folder in the folder labeled scenarios. It was a scenario for the Play the World expansion pact. If you continue to have questions just email me about mclaibor@utk.edu. I want to help you get it to work on your system, I tried to keep all the scenario together but it was too big of a file to upload so I had to split it up like this, I might could even send you the files you need through email because I think I can upload them better.
     
  11. tjedge1

    tjedge1 Writer of writerly things

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Messages:
    4,682
    Location:
    Central Texas
    I do believe that if you got C3C without getting PtW, that you may not have the Otomo Spearman. TETurkhan's mod used that, but was it in the scenario folder or was it in extras? The extras folder didn'tcome with the C3C version of PtW. You'd have to download it from the forums in which all the units in there are posted here somewhere.
     
  12. INVINCIBLE

    INVINCIBLE Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    i checked my Civ3PTW folder again and have only the folders Art, Extras, Redist, Saves, Sounds and Text. No scenario folder! The folder Extras only get a folder labelled: Medieval Japan. So if u can send me the neccesary files to my email: supersimon3@hotmail.com. I would be more then pleased then Volbound!

    Waiting for your reply...
     
  13. tjedge1

    tjedge1 Writer of writerly things

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Messages:
    4,682
    Location:
    Central Texas
    No scenarios folder in the PtW folder? That doesn't sound right. Either way, the Ottomo Spearman file is in the 3rd post. Right? You just need to install it correctly for the mod to work, if that's the only error you're getting. Which is the message you gave us. The ini for the Ottomo Spearman.
     
  14. volbound1700

    volbound1700 Emperor

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    372
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Hey I was wondering if anyone has any comment about the scenario itself, overall?? I might play around with the original one and make some more mongol scenarios about the later empire, such as the time of Kublai Khan. One thing neat about the scenario is that it has almost the entire medieval world on that map from japan all the way to spain.
     
  15. NeverMind

    NeverMind Proud to be Russian

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Messages:
    618
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Moscow, Russia
    volbound1700

    I like the idea. Unfortunately for me, Kievan Rus is unplayable, but I dont blame you for that-). I played Mongols for some time and after several game crashes conquered China.

    Some notes: - Why dont you use the ideas and units of original Middle Ages Conquest? I hope you'll do that in next version. You should!-)

    And I think you made installation process too complicated. Most people have PTW and basic TETurkhan's scenario in it. Just add links to these folders in biq-file. After that you need only downloads from 2-nd post. Its about 1mb, make one zip-file with right directories. And people wil be able to try your interesting scenario.
     
  16. Blackbeard

    Blackbeard Hangaround

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    68
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Westfalen
    I will give this a try.

    To invincible´s problem. I think if you just have c3c you don´t get the ptw scen´s. I found it out once i´ve to reinstall civ3 and just install civ3 und c3c whitout ptw. In this case Firaxis eliminated the scen´s.
     
  17. striq

    striq Lost at sea

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2004
    Messages:
    344
    Location:
    Racine
    Not to be rude but you could PM Thunderfall for an ftp password, this way you could upload the entire scenario at once and it would be less confusing for people to download, and less work for you too! :)
     
  18. volbound1700

    volbound1700 Emperor

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    372
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Hey sorry I kind of quit CIV3 for awhile and now I am having some computer problems. I do plan to make some improvements to the scenario and some expansions that show other times in history. Hey if any can, put the scenario together into one download and feel free to edit it.
    Thx for Support and try my Rise of Rome scenario too.
     
  19. volbound1700

    volbound1700 Emperor

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    372
    Location:
    Tennessee
    bump for myself so I can find my threads and download them
     
  20. Agent327

    Agent327 Observer

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    16,059
    Location:
    In orbit
    Tried this last week for the 1st time, but crashed to an error relating to the Otomo Spearman (I thought I installed it correctly). Pity, because the map looks great.

    :newyear:
     

Share This Page