1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

More City Improvements Please

Discussion in 'Civ3 Conquests - Requests, Fixes, & Changes' started by joespaniel, Jun 16, 2003.

  1. joespaniel

    joespaniel Unescorted Settler

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2001
    Messages:
    5,260
    Location:
    The Old Pueblo
    Bringing back the Supermarket improvement (ala Civ2) would be really nice. :)

    Give the workers a Build Farm ability? Kind of fun to get cities over size 30. ;)
     
  2. Civrules

    Civrules We the People

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,621
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    US
    Do you always have to say please at the end of the subject? :lol:

    Ah, yes, there are a lot of improvements that can be added like a park or an amusement park or a zoo and many more.:king:
     
  3. joespaniel

    joespaniel Unescorted Settler

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2001
    Messages:
    5,260
    Location:
    The Old Pueblo
    From the Civ2 scenario, "Jules Verne":

    Movie Theatres, makes 2 citizens content/happy.

    Industrial Age.

    Optional (required) tech; Moving Pictures or Photography.
     
  4. skylined

    skylined Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2003
    Messages:
    34
    Location:
    The Third Rome
    One more thing about Improvements.
    I think every improvement should have the ability to be replaced by another one.
    There are two ways of dealing with it.
    The first: To activate the "Rendered Obsolete By" combobox for imrovements and small wonders.
    The second: To add a group of the "Replaces All Impr. with this Flag checked" checkboxes.
     
  5. WillJ

    WillJ Coolness Connoisseur

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    Messages:
    9,471
    Location:
    USA
    Ah, so you're not satisfied with the current limit of 71 in Civ3? :p Okay, okay, you'd have to have all irrigated and railroaded floodplains, but it can happen...

    I think farming/supermarket would be a bit too powerful, but that's just me.
     
  6. G-Force Junkie

    G-Force Junkie Old Vulcan Guy

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Messages:
    405
    City Improvements I'd like to see

    - Supermakets
    - Movie Theaters
    - ICBM Silos
    - TV Stations
    - Radio Stations
    - Zoos/Theme Parks
    - Martial Arts Schools
    - Primary/Secondary Schools
    - City Hall
     
  7. Pembroke

    Pembroke Tribune

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Messages:
    622
    Ok, I admit, I *did* play the Settlers last night... :)

    Idea: Connecting a resource to a city isn't enough. You need to connect it to a city having the improvement to process/refine it and the cities wanting to use the resource have to be connected to the refinery city. For example each iron resource would require an iron smeltery in some connected city to be processed into a useful form.

    E.g. if you had access to 3 iron and two of your cities had iron smelteries then you could build units requiring iron yourself and have 1 iron (but not 2) available for trade.

    And likewise for the other resources: horse ranches, gunpowder factories, oil refineries, ivory sculpteries, gemcutters, gold smelteries, etc.

    This would have strategic implications, too. In addition to protecting your raw resource squares you also have to protect the roads to your refinery cities.
     
  8. Schmek

    Schmek civil engineer

    Joined:
    May 3, 2003
    Messages:
    78
    Location:
    Delft, The Netherlands
    You need to protect your road squares now to, if your at war. But then again why does every square need a road and later on a railroad?

    That should change to. Some main roads/ highways and the rest just roads. If the build time is long enough it should work. And be more realistic. (could it be that I study civil engeneering┬┐)
     
  9. Highgeneral

    Highgeneral Gone forever!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    271
    Location:
    Not here!
    i know you must have a city hall before goveners can run your city for you
     
  10. Aussie_Lurker

    Aussie_Lurker Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Messages:
    7,743
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    OK, I also want Small Wonders and Improvements to potentially be made obsolete by certain techs!
    I would also like to see Small wonders be able to grant the "Counts as X in all cities" and "Counts as X in all cities on Continent". Instead of just "Doubles Happiness of", I'd like to see "Doubles Commerce Value of", "Doubles Production value of" etc etc. I'd also like to see this check box available for improvements and Small Wonders.
    A checkbox for Wonders, and Small Wonders, which increases OCN by x%!!!

    EDIT: Resource required in City Radius checkbox MUST be available for improvements

    Just a few to start with!

    Yours,
    Aussie_Lurker.
     
  11. Pongui

    Pongui Deity

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2002
    Messages:
    4,342
    I absolutely agree. The story of human progress is not about radar towers and railroad grid, or, it shouldn't have to be. Agriculture needs a higher profile in this game.
     
  12. Quasar1011

    Quasar1011 King of Sylvania

    Joined:
    May 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,968
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    California
    I am working on a mod with 64 resources. I have inserted new buildings and small wonders. All of these are based on the new resources, and require 1 or 2 resources to build. Some of the resources (Such as tin or olives) must be with the city's radius.
    Some buildings give production boosts, others give tax or cultural boosts, and the museum increases science. You can't really build all of these buildings, unless you have almost conquered the world. Here is my list of new buildings:

    Brewery
    Bakery
    Museum
    Shrine
    Festival Square
    Brickworks
    Tinsmith
    Coppersmith
    Diamondcutter
    Marble Quarry
    Rock Quarry
    Clay Pit
    Textile Mill
    Florist
    Greenhouse
    Olive Press
    Synagogue
    Nature Center
     
  13. Quasar1011

    Quasar1011 King of Sylvania

    Joined:
    May 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,968
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    California
    That is already do-able. Just set the improvement as a small wonder, and check the "must be in city-radius" box. Set the required resource. Then, change building type from small wonder back to improvement. :) That's how I get a marble quarry to require marble within the city radius, etc., as per my above post.
     
  14. Aussie_Lurker

    Aussie_Lurker Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Messages:
    7,743
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Are you SURE that works. I confess that I don't have PtW, but people who DO have it are still complaining that you can't have improvements with that requirement!!

    A_L
     
  15. warpstorm

    warpstorm Yumbo? Yumbo!

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    7,688
    Location:
    Snack Food Capital of the World
    I'm positive that it works in all cases that I've tried.
     
  16. Aussie_Lurker

    Aussie_Lurker Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Messages:
    7,743
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Thanks for the info, guys :). All the same, though, wouldn't you prefer to be able to do it without having to....circumvent the editor? What I mean is, wouldn't you prefer to be able to make such improvements the normal way?

    Yours,

    Aussie_Lurker.
     
  17. alpha wolf 64

    alpha wolf 64 Byte me

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2002
    Messages:
    696
    Location:
    Madison of Cheeseland
    i created oil refinery(oil), textile industry(cotton), winery(wine), stables(horse) and quarry(marble). since they are all small wonders, every civ can have one.
     

Share This Page