1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

More Lenses - Now compatible with Gathering Storm 5.0

Adds more lenses to the game

  1. sp00n

    sp00n Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    347
    I've just encountered the vanishing lens bug. Had this in my previous game too, but didn't notice when exactly it happened. Now I have the exact turn. I was able to pin this down to when the Mont St. Michel wonder is placed on a tile, which requires to be built upon a march. Maybe this somehow screws with the logic when to display the lens.
    It only happens the turn after you have placed the wonder though. I can't remember if I've built the wonder in the last game it happened, too, or if some AI did it.

    // Edit
    Error message in the LUA.log file
    Code:
    MinimapPanel: Checking wonder 60 if ancient or classical
    Runtime Error: bad argument #1 to 'lMakeHash' (string expected, got nil)
    stack traceback:
       [C]: in function 'lMakeHash'
       C:\Users\xxx\Documents\My Games\Sid Meier's Civilization VI\Mods\More Lenses\UI\MinimapPanel.lua:814: in function 'isAncientClassicalWonder'
       C:\Users\xxx\Documents\My Games\Sid Meier's Civilization VI\Mods\More Lenses\UI\MinimapPanel.lua:592: in function 'SetBuilderLensHexes'
       C:\Users\xxx\Documents\My Games\Sid Meier's Civilization VI\Mods\More Lenses\UI\MinimapPanel.lua:923: in function 'OnUnitSelectionChanged'
       [C]: in function 'func'
       [C]: in function '(anonymous)'
    ModalLensPanel: currentModdedLensOn = 0

    // Edit 2
    Fixed it by editing line 814 in MinimapPanel.lua accordingly:
    Code:
               -- Make hash, and get era
               if row.PrereqTech ~= nil then
                   prereqTechHash = DB.MakeHash(row.PrereqTech);
                   eraType = GameInfo.Technologies[prereqTechHash].EraType;
               elseif row.PrereqCivic ~= nil then
                   prereqCivicHash = DB.MakeHash(row.PrereqCivic);
                   eraType = GameInfo.Civics[prereqCivicHash].EraType;
               end
    I actually have no idea why you're checking for era of a wonder, but if this wonder has no PrereqTech, as Mont St. Michel does, and instead only a PrereqCivic, the function bugs out. This fixes it, and the builder lens is working fine again.
     
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2016
  2. astog

    astog Warlord

    Joined:
    May 29, 2015
    Messages:
    243
    Location:
    Minneapolis
    Wow, thanks for figuring that one out. The reason for checking for era was the Chinese UA only applies to the Ancient and Classical era wonders, but I did not handle when the wonder had a prereq civic not a tech, which you found.
     
  3. astog

    astog Warlord

    Joined:
    May 29, 2015
    Messages:
    243
    Location:
    Minneapolis
    Can you upload a screenshot of what that looks like? I don't play multiplayer but I would like to fix that issue.
     
  4. notque

    notque Artificially Intelligent

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2005
    Messages:
    1,657
    It isn't specific to multiplayer, the builder lense is allowing you to see rivers within the fog of war. So places you haven't scouted yet, you can see rivers.

    Can't get a screen shot tonight, but if you need it can do it in the morning.
     
  5. astog

    astog Warlord

    Joined:
    May 29, 2015
    Messages:
    243
    Location:
    Minneapolis
    Ah, realized why that was happening. It is related to applying the red color on a undiscovered territory. The upcoming update will have fixed this. Thanks for finding the bug for me
     
  6. sp00n

    sp00n Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    347
    I've noticed that the builder lense stays on when you delete a builder unit.
    Also, a lense for archeologists to only show artifacts would be helpful as well.

    And while not exactly a lense, but a way to only show luxury or strategic resources would also be very helpful.
    I also still need to look for a mod that shows in the tooltip for a resource how many of that type I already have (or not). Not sure if something like this already exists, but I think this is out of the scope for this addon anyway.
     
  7. astog

    astog Warlord

    Joined:
    May 29, 2015
    Messages:
    243
    Location:
    Minneapolis
    Missed that. Thanks for letting me know. Should be fixed in the next update.
     
  8. bostonbongrips

    bostonbongrips Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2016
    Messages:
    52
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Chicago
    Awesome idea, I'm looking forward to you expanding on more new lenses in the future. Thanks.
    I have a suggestion for one: a lens that shows current adjacency bonuses. It would be nice to see where your bonuses are coming from so you can relish in your pristine city planning skills.
     
  9. astog

    astog Warlord

    Joined:
    May 29, 2015
    Messages:
    243
    Location:
    Minneapolis
    Hello all, here is a teaser for the update I am currently working on. Keen observers can see the lenses I have added, but I am still working on others.
    Spoiler Teaser :
     
    notque likes this.
  10. flipperbw

    flipperbw Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Looks really awesome. Any timeframe? Especially for some of the bugfixes? I know the NQ guys want to include your mod.
     
  11. sp00n

    sp00n Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    347
    Need any help with the archaeologist lens? I have it working on my local copy.
     
  12. bladex

    bladex Emperor

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,358
    can you make a lens for hills when builders are active?
     
  13. astog

    astog Warlord

    Joined:
    May 29, 2015
    Messages:
    243
    Location:
    Minneapolis
    Will be ready around this weekend. It took time because I had to change how the lenses were being activated to make it less buggy.

    The archaeologist lens is ready for the update

    By this do you mean highlighting hills in a different color in the builder lens?
     
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2016
    sp00n likes this.
  14. bladex

    bladex Emperor

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,358
    ^yeah
     
  15. astog

    astog Warlord

    Joined:
    May 29, 2015
    Messages:
    243
    Location:
    Minneapolis
    That is definitely doable. Will have to see what to color it with but it should not require too much work.
     
  16. astog

    astog Warlord

    Joined:
    May 29, 2015
    Messages:
    243
    Location:
    Minneapolis
    Excellent suggestion. Will try to build that for the upcoming update.
     
  17. bladex

    bladex Emperor

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,358
    i loaded a save file now the builder lens isn't working in that save?
     
  18. astog

    astog Warlord

    Joined:
    May 29, 2015
    Messages:
    243
    Location:
    Minneapolis
    The issue might be the one with wonders. Which Civ were you playing as?
     
  19. notque

    notque Artificially Intelligent

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2005
    Messages:
    1,657
    Looks gorgeous Astog! You're killing it out here!
     
  20. bladex

    bladex Emperor

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,358
    kongo in the test of time mod.
     

Share This Page