Most Difficult Meier game yet / Thread for the Vanquished

Turkic

Chieftain
This ain't an easy game folks. I'm a colonization and civilization veteran of ladder rank prowess, and I haven't beat this game on Explorer yet.

It offers various dilemmas early on. Can you afford missing Founding Fathers by not generating liberty bells? And if you can't, how will you ever defend against the eventural HORDE of Tory units that the King spurs on?

Ships of the line are absolutely pointless against Man-o-War's. Tory Regular stacks make short work of a 20 population dug in city with 20 armed defenders...

What to do...

Well I have two strategies I will try out right now:

a) Employing Washington for his very underrated but apparently EPIC advantage of lesser arms required.

b) Converting more natives for military duty and getting Powhatan for a killer combo.

c) Making sure I don't become crazy infamous early game...

--T

I lost my first two games on Conquistidore level. The first game I developed way too slow and never made it to declare independance.

The second game I learned that when you do declare independance, you can't count on holding a particular city, especially coastal ones. The enemy artillery will massacre you inside cities with an attack strength of 10 with bonuses. No matter how pumped up your units, artillery will take them down in a city if you let them attack. You need to spread your defense industry to many colonies. I focused all my guns and horses production in my initial city right on the coast, and when the King's navy warped in, I couldn't get colonists to safely move there to pick up weapons, and I lost my only military production city.

Lol, that happed to me too. Chalk it up as a lesson learned. I'll be spreading out my war making machine and using inland colonies for it.