1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

moving art from razed city

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by Kin, Apr 17, 2015.

  1. Kin

    Kin Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    86
    Location:
    Alabama
    I capture a city and I don't really want it but it has some great art whatever. How or can I move the great art to my city while I'm razing said city?
     
  2. phillipwyllie

    phillipwyllie Wannabe Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,458
    Location:
    4 Hexes from FoY
    Since you are razing the city it is annexed so you can move it like any other swap. If you want to move art before you must click the tourism icon before accepting whether to raze/annex/puppet/liberate etc. This will bring up the tourism screen and you can swap out the art, which is only useful if you plan to liberate as you can move art from puppets.
     
  3. Kin

    Kin Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    86
    Location:
    Alabama
    Thanks, I'm always learning something new.
     
  4. eris

    eris King

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    623
    Location:
    On this forum
    That didn't work for me for some reason. However, I noticed that if I raze a city and it takes more than 1 turn to burn it to the ground, then the city is there in the standard tourism display. I moved the art work out and it worked just fine.

    A special division of soldiers looting art before it's destroyed in the flames forever, didn't I see a movie about that? Oh, wait, they were retrieving art. That's different.
     
  5. Dr. D

    Dr. D Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    258
    I'm convinced it's not possible to loot great works before liberating a city. I tried it myself after someone said it could be done but the second you capture the city, the pop-up requires you to make a decision to annex, puppet, liberate, etc.... the tourism icon cannot be accessed at that time. You can raze the city, move the work and sell the city but if your intent is to specifically liberate the city, I see no way this can work.
     
  6. dasaard200

    dasaard200 Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2014
    Messages:
    315
    Before Looting, make sure you HAVE the open slots to put the Loot IN ! Otherwise, puppet that city, and get your culture buildings up, fast . I had to keep an exposed army around 2 fat cities (8 various Great Works and Artifacts) until my museums caught up to the Loot load .
     
  7. SeedenGreedens

    SeedenGreedens Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2014
    Messages:
    77
    I also didn't know how to do that. Thanks for asking.
     
  8. phillipwyllie

    phillipwyllie Wannabe Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,458
    Location:
    4 Hexes from FoY
    I forgot to mention I use EUI, and I suspect that's why I'm able to "recover" art before the annex/puppet/liberate/... screen.
     
  9. Dr. D

    Dr. D Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    258
    Ah... that makes sense, that's gotta be it
     
  10. techgiz1

    techgiz1 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Gender:
    Male
    When the annex/puppet/liberate/... screen comes up click on the view city option. Then when viewing the city click on the art and the culture screen with be display. You can now loot the art if you have an open place in your empire to move it to.
     

Share This Page