1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Mulit-player Rhye's?

Discussion in 'Rhye's and Fall MP' started by Mowque, Mar 13, 2007.

  1. Mowque

    Mowque Hypermodernist

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,129
    Location:
    Mating With Your Queen
    Possable? any thought? Interest? outright disgust?:p

    another thread-"Well, we would disable the chance to flip all together. No reason to have players jumping around mid-game. Plus, that makes it too gameable. "The Aztecs are about to spawn. I'm going to disband all my units, then jump to them. Then you can take all my territory!"

    The other problem I think is an SDK issue. It is easy to work around, as long as people are patient and willing to wait before jumping in (Have one player start as Spain, then slowly have other players hop in as France, England, Germany, Arabia, etc.)." whitefire

    can we overcome this?
     
  2. Gunner

    Gunner Emperor

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,389
    Location:
    Goochland, VA
    It would either be impossible or very difficult and time consuming to make the mod multi-player compatible. You would have to do a good amount of recoding in python (and maybe C++) files to not get OOS errors.
     
  3. Whitefire

    Whitefire Emperor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,178
    I didn't even think about the plague. Thats probably a deal breaker.
     
  4. Gunner

    Gunner Emperor

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,389
    Location:
    Goochland, VA
    Why would the plague be a problem?
     
  5. Edungeon

    Edungeon Flying~

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Messages:
    876
    Location:
    Brazil
    Can someone disable the question to change civ? ( that i never use because it has some bugs... )

    Let's first try disabling this and testing, if there is another problem... we discust here and try to change >_<

    Gunner, The Plague is handcaped to have diferent effects in the Player.
     
  6. kairob

    kairob Biohazard

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Messages:
    3,085
    Location:
    The North
    I tried one, but editing a file, (I think the ini) to make it multiplayer. We started as egypt and India, and it would swap once ok, but then never went back to the first player. This was on a much older version but just saying in case it helps any.
     
  7. Rhye

    Rhye 's and Fall creator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2001
    Messages:
    9,553
    Location:
    Japan / South America
    the main problem is random numbers. There are die rolls everywhere, and they're not compatible with a multiplayer environment (they cause OOS)
     
  8. Phallus

    Phallus Freudian Slip

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Messages:
    605
    Location:
    The magical realm of Essex
    What would be the side-effects of fixing these numbers?
     
  9. Tboy

    Tboy Future world ruler

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,111
    Location:
    At my Computer, somewhere in the UK
    This would be great if it could be done, but since I have no experience of programming, I have no idea if it could be done. Probably ridiculously hard.
     
  10. Gunner

    Gunner Emperor

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,389
    Location:
    Goochland, VA
    IIRC you'd also need to replace all of the instances of gc.getActivePlayer().
     
  11. Mowque

    Mowque Hypermodernist

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,129
    Location:
    Mating With Your Queen
    okay, put this on the list of things that would be nice but are immpossable...
     
  12. Whitefire

    Whitefire Emperor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,178

    I wouldn't say impossible. Rather, it would be mind numbingly frustrating.
     
  13. Phallus

    Phallus Freudian Slip

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Messages:
    605
    Location:
    The magical realm of Essex
    Mind numbingly frustrating = worth it.

    Not that I can contribute in the slightest. :(
     
  14. Ghandi Khan

    Ghandi Khan Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Messages:
    106
    I'd love to play this multiplayer. It would be a great way to keep a game going if someone started losing, they could jump to another Civ. You'd just have to have a gentleman's agreement to not do anything stupid like disbanding all your units before a new civ spawned. Foiling rival civ's UHVs would add a new and interesting dimension to the gameplay. I don't see any downsides.
     
  15. obliterate

    obliterate Warrior Monk

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,305
    Location:
    Melbourne, #fiftychat
    You choose to play as late starting civ and then when you finally get to play after waiting all those turns you get the message someone has won a UHV. :lol:
     
  16. onedreamer

    onedreamer Dragon

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    6,580
    Location:
    Torino - Italia
    check the "RFC MP Test" thread if you want to play in multiplayer.
     

Share This Page