1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Multi-Player Bugs and Crashes, v40 & SVN after Oct 2019

Discussion in 'Bugs and Crashes' started by Thunderbrd, Oct 20, 2019.

  1. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    27,264
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Report any OOS errors or issues with Multi-Player simultaneous games here.

    You CAN play Simultaneous Multi-player as a single player and get a semi-real time turn based game that processes turns a bit faster since the AI is moving when you do. We can also try to debug those as well.

    If you are trying to play actual multi-player, the IP connection is the most valid but you're likely to hit some OOS errors. To minimize these,

    1) Turn off events in the game options when you set things up - yes this negates flammability but you'll have lots of OOS errors all game if you don't.
    2) Make sure Rev is off. This tends to cause some as well.
    3) Make sure to try to avoid building any wonders other players are building, even if it lets you, especially if you are on the same team.
    4) Avoid automating anything at all, including sending units beyond the reach of their movement for a turn. For some reason, this is a known issue.

    Beyond that, when you DO get an OOS error (which sometimes happens in the first round even) you should:
    1) report the autosave if you have one from the immediate round before the OOS takes place and you find you can repeatedly hit the same OOS error that round.

    2) report the logs you get - you should have logging turned on for all systems through the config ini settings.

    and more importantly:

    3) save the game AFTER the OOS has taken place, have everyone get out entirely to desktop, all reload and reinitialize the game. If you try to shortcut this to get back on track, you will doom yourself to immediate OOS errors again.

    If you're having a LOT of OOS errors, please post here to let me know to look into it. A 2 player game is something I can TRY to evaluate somewhat, and just knowing the era and when things are beginning to OOS a lot can help.

    We're not totally clean with this yet but my wife and I can often get a pretty good game going without hitting all that many, or at least we were recently. It can only take one bad update to make everything go very south in this department. Keep me posted on your experiences here.
     
  2. margolloxx

    margolloxx Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    Messages:
    32
    v40

    Does this apply to Hotseat sessions as well? i'm playing without revolution anyways but i would like to know about the other points.
    I did play a short test game before with me playing as 3 different civs and beside getting an error message (something something eventhandler(switch players), dont remember exact wording) on turn transition, which didnt seem to affect anything, it was playing fine, although i cant tell about events being managed well or not.
     
  3. Toffer90

    Toffer90 C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Messages:
    6,631
    Location:
    Norway
    Not sure what you mean by "this". There's no special precautions,to consider, compared to setting up a single player game, when setting up a hotseat game like it is when setting up a networked game. Option choices doesn't matter in hotseat afaik.

    Hotseat has more in common with single player than with networked games, as it's not a network game but completely local to a single game instance on a single computer.
    e.g. You can't get OOS (Out of Sync) errors in hotseat.
    Knowing the error message would help.

    Turn on python error logging by changing some lines in ...\Documents\My Games\Beyond the Sword\CivilizationIV.ini
    LoggingEnabled = 1​
    Logs are written in ...\Documents\My Games\Beyond the Sword\Logs\PythonErr.log
    Upload that log if it contains any lines after playing a game.

    To get the error messages that would be in those logs as popups in-game:
    HidePythonExceptions = 0​
    in case you prefer to upload screenshot instead.
     
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2019
  4. margolloxx

    margolloxx Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    Messages:
    32
    That may be true but i am wondering about things getting buggy in general. For instance in my test game i occasionally had one of my own units become invisible to myself. I was still able to select it and give orders and it wasnt really an issue but it is still worth mentioning.
    I'm guessing that in similar fashion there will be instances of one player being able to see invisible units of another player.
     
  5. Toffer90

    Toffer90 C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Messages:
    6,631
    Location:
    Norway
    That happens in single player too, the flag is there but the unit model fails to render.
    The graphical paging could be out of whack and hide stuff that should be visible too so that the flag is also missing. The graphical paging has been worked on lately, made more aggressive in unloading stuff to save RAM, so I won't say for sure that it is working perfectly in all cases, it depends on FoV setting and zoom level and such to decide what is inside and outside your current camera view.
    This would be a bad bug compared to the glitchy model rendering that you described above.
    If it could happen in hotseat then it could most likely happen in single player too.

    ▐▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▌

    I'm not saying there can't be any hotseat specific bugs, just saying that we rarely hear of them, and that they are usually easy to fix the few times they are discovered, usually just a small oversight in code involved in the player switch.
    I don't think any such hotseat specific bugs are currently known to the C2C community.
     
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2019
  6. Yudishtira

    Yudishtira Spiritual/Creative

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    2,683
    Location:
    Brisbane
    This sounds like a hotseat-specific bug, this is the right thread to report it, and it is probably easy to fix, but a full error message (at the least) is needed.
     
  7. Toffer90

    Toffer90 C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Messages:
    6,631
    Location:
    Norway
    May have been introduced with the PPIO modmomd that is now integrated in C2C.
    I rewrote most of the python code there, but I never tested my changes in hotseat, so I wouldn't be surprised if I overlooked something related to the player switch.

    Would need to see the error messages to fix it though. I might run some turns in hotseat today to see if I can get the error myself.
     
  8. Toffer90

    Toffer90 C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Messages:
    6,631
    Location:
    Norway
    Found and fixed the error, so you don't need to provide logs. Fix is currently only on git, but will be on SVN next time it's updated.
    It was pretty inconsequential, only impact it would have on the game would be that if the previous player had the strategy overlay (ctrl/alt+X) visible when ending turn, it would remain visible for the next player in the hotseat revealing the city planning of the previous player.
     

Share This Page