1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Multiplayer Internet Mac-PC

Discussion in 'Civ6 - Macintosh' started by Blondel58, Feb 13, 2017.

  1. Blondel58

    Blondel58 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Location:
    Klosterneuburg
    Hi together,
    I (Mac-user) tried several times to play MP via internet with PC-players, but we couldn't get the session working. We always got error messages, telling "Host versions are different" (or something like that, in German).
    That happened when I started the game, but as well when I tried to join a game.

    Did anyone here manage to get a game working?

    And, if yes - any tips for me?

    And, if no - any ideas what might help?

    (actually the versions are the same)
     
  2. bigwest60

    bigwest60 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Need to wait for Aspyr to update the game to allow.
     
  3. Blondel58

    Blondel58 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Location:
    Klosterneuburg
    Although the version numbers are identical? PBEMs with sending Hot Seat Saves do work
     
  4. oakdragon

    oakdragon Stagnating amongst the Siliconians Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    434
    Location:
    San Jose, CA, USA
    Yes. Crossplatform multiplayer has not been added yet. Aspyr assures us it will be someday soon.
     
  5. Blondel58

    Blondel58 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Location:
    Klosterneuburg
    That is a bit annoying (your first sentence ;) )

    Anyway, many thanks for the information :love:
     
  6. The googles do nothing

    The googles do nothing Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2017
    Messages:
    323
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    I think Mac and Linux can play together. I got on to a server that said it was Linux. The host was afak so I could not ask him. That would be few more player at the very least.
     
    Siptah likes this.
  7. matt91486

    matt91486 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Does anyone else just assume that Aspyr is lying to us about cross platform at this point.
     
  8. Ondolindë

    Ondolindë Emperor

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016
    Messages:
    1,024
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    La Paz, Bolivia
    I honestly believe that they are being polite to Firaxis and probably respectful of their agreement as to not say that it was Firaxis fault the cross platform wasn't working. Let´s remember all the posts from AspyrWoo and AspyrBlair. They have always been honest and straightforward within the bounds of what they are allowed to say. And in those posts they pretty much told us that they were at an impasse with regards to cross platform and that they needed to coordinate with Firaxis and alluded to the fact that it was their responsibility to fix it so that Aspyr could then do their part for Mac and Linux. I have said it before, however, that I think the original plan was to release it with DLC05 that just came out, but couldn't because the pending issues delayed the release. It would have been great to have a concurrent release! So, now we wait the 2-3 week window that Aspyr uses to port it and release it. That´s what Aspyr confirmed yesterday in the Steam Mac thread.
     

Share This Page