My [[very late]] First Impressions {long post}

tnick777

Warlord
First off, Hi guys... New here but not new to the forum world so don't worry I won't be annoying..

Second, yes I just got the game after a long debate... I was weary after seeing the reviews for the game (I LOVE Civ IV and I wouldn't want this game to change my view on the Civ series), and I was waiting for it to come out on Mac (I'm a macbook pro user, but there's a large array of PC's in my house too). But Sunday I finally bit the bullet and decided... what the hell.
And got it...

I played a marathon continental map all the way through the tech tree (at settler mind you; not because I'm bad, but because I didn't want to be thrown into a game over my head with a new game when I'm trying to figure stuff out...)

And here's a list of the +'s, -'s for CiV and the WISHES I have for Civilization VI (CiVIlization)

The Positives
  • The graphics, my GOD this game is beautiful. While it's not "realistic" per se, the entire map, all (most) of the units are breathtaking, and the actual designs of the cities/units are amazing!
  • The next thing I really like is the option to buy tiles. I really diliked the way borders grew in Civilization IV. One, it wasn't organic looking at all, and two you really didn't lose anything when your borders grow. Now you have to think, can I afford to get more land? Is dropping ~1500 gold for a tile good or do I want to use that in other ways?