1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Natives never leave villages, why?

Discussion in 'Civ4Col - We The People' started by scottfreitas, Mar 30, 2021.

  1. scottfreitas

    scottfreitas Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Messages:
    42
    Been playing a We The People game for a few days, 2.8 version. Finally noticed that the Natives never leave their villages, never move across the map, never do anything but just... stand there.

    Mousing over their villages, I can see they have plenty of units made. sometimes 8-10 or more.

    But all I can see on the map, for every tribe, is the one "Fortified" until displayed atop each village.

    There is no unit movement at all. Never had been.

    Any ideas what might cause this? It sure makes for a boring game... and a boring map. ;/
     
  2. Ramstormp

    Ramstormp Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2020
    Messages:
    114
    Gender:
    Male
    Maybe its related to difficulty level. I accidentally started a game on an easy level and everything felt very stagnant. Can't remember if the natives were standing still like that though.
     
  3. CurtnoAnna

    CurtnoAnna Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2013
    Messages:
    56
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Winnipeg
    I've got hours of playing time with this mod and have never seen that, regardless of difficulty level?
     
    Mr. ZorG likes this.
  4. scottfreitas

    scottfreitas Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Messages:
    42
    Well it's definitely happening to me. So boring. nothing ever moves on the map, other than the Europeans...

    I did alter some of the XML files a bit, but I never did anything connected with Native AI movement... no idea why the native AI went brain-dead. :(
     
  5. Hibernian

    Hibernian Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2020
    Messages:
    32
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Ireland
    For troubleshooting, it would probably be best as a first step to copy back the unaltered XML files and let a few turn pass, use the world editor to place a few scouts on the map so you see if anything happens. If nothing moves, try a new game without any altered files, only the files that came with the game. If still nothing moves, try to reinstall the entire mod and start a new game, still no movements at that stage and you could submit a save game for someone else to try.

    As far I remember there is also a setting that shows the movements of the natives, maybe the natives move but it's just not shown when you play your current game.
     

Share This Page