1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Need AW Advice

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Strategy & Tips' started by gmaharriet, Jun 10, 2005.

1. gmaharriet

gmaharriet Ancient Crone

In another thread about moving up from Warlord to Regent, Own gave the following advice and there was some discussion:
    I've been playing Warlord for about 6 months and, um, I'm afraid of war. I can manage workers and citizens, trade fairly well, meet other civs, get an occasional diplo victory, and keep a large standing military of offensive units to scare away the AI and/or defend myself, BUT I just can't bring myself to declare war on anyone who hasn't hurt me first. You'd think it was my own skin that might get hurt. :blush:

I don't think I can move up until I can learn just a bit of aggression, so Own's advice may be good for me as well, but how do you get started on AW? I'm using C3C and thought I'd try the Chinese (I like the industrious trait), but I don't know where to begin or logical builds to prepare for early wars, or a single thing about AW strategy. Do you declare upon meeting the first warrior you see? gather a tiny army first? What early techs are most helpful? Should I use my usual Warlord level or go back to Chieftain?

I started a game with the intention of warring, and then realized I was completely lost and quit. Any advice or a referral to a fairly low-level AW succession game would be appreciated. Thanks.

2. Whomp

Whomp Keep Calm and Carry On Retired Moderator

When are we going to get you in a SG? You're due to join. You will learn very quickly how to use that pointy stick.