1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

[Vanilla] Need help creating my first mod

Discussion in 'Mod Creation Help' started by Reizu, Feb 20, 2018.

  1. Reizu

    Reizu Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
    Hello good night

    Here I come to you because I am creating my very first mod for Civ 6 and I am each step that is indicated in this video:



    But nothing works, the software tells me that there are errors while when I compare to what I see on the video everything is the same, then sorry my English is bad so I use google trad But here are the mistakes.

    https://cdn.discordapp.com/attachments/411981001888104460/415455668967833610/unknown.png

    Thank you in advance for your help !
     
  2. raen

    raen Coat of Arms

    Joined:
    May 12, 2003
    Messages:
    1,694
    Location:
    Portugal
    For starting try my mod (already with R&F support) or sikh civilization, we dont use modbuddy, only file simple file system editing needed.
     
  3. Reizu

    Reizu Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
    What do you advise me to do in this case?
     
  4. Imnimo

    Imnimo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2017
    Messages:
    33
    Gender:
    Male
    These error messages from ModBuddy can be very unhelpful, as they often indicate errors in locations that are actually fine, and don't indicate the true source of the error. In my experience, it's often a file name which does not match a name somewhere in the xml. For example, look through your .xlp files, and make sure that the names they reference in m_EntryID and m_ObjectName fields correspond to your file names. If you want to upload a zip of your mod somewhere, I can take a look and see if I can spot what's wrong.
     
  5. raen

    raen Coat of Arms

    Joined:
    May 12, 2003
    Messages:
    1,694
    Location:
    Portugal
    You can get sikh civilization, that is simpler then mine, and do all modifications like in video. Only the last part of config of modbudy you dont need to use.

    Important: Dont open the "template civ" (sikh civilization) in modbuddy, use the file editor you like instead.
     
  6. Reizu

    Reizu Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
    I do not mind putting it under zip so that we can see together the source of my problem! ^^ In this case how can I contact you?


    Well this is the first time I create a mod of the coup I do not really have any favorite software, after I confess to still have one can be afraid of missing and I still do not know how to do too much to put the units and buffs that I want for my Civilization ...
     
  7. Imnimo

    Imnimo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2017
    Messages:
    33
    Gender:
    Male
    I think you can just upload a file directly here. (There's an upload a file button next to the post reply button)
     
  8. Reizu

    Reizu Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
    After there is still a lot of things that I would like to change but for now I want to see what it gives, the things I want to improve is the buff and unity as I said above.
     
  9. Reizu

    Reizu Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
    I have the impression that the file has not been made available ...
     
  10. Imnimo

    Imnimo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2017
    Messages:
    33
    Gender:
    Male
    Yeah, if you tried to upload it here, it doesn't seem to have worked. I can't see it.
     
  11. Reizu

    Reizu Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
    How do you want to proceed?
     
  12. Balmung_Furuya

    Balmung_Furuya Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    I seem to be having a similar issue, I can't figure out exactly what reference is wrong/blank. I'm super lost. I don't know XML or SQL basically at all, first run as well.

    EDIT: I Fixed it and got it to build, I have no idea what the hell I did

    Spoiler Logs :

    Starting AssetCooker...
    XLP cook starting...
    C:\Users\Balmung\Downloads\Civ Assets\Keniisu's Civ Template Balmung\XLPs\LeaderFallback.xlp
    Opened output file: C:\Users\Balmung\Documents\My Games\Sid Meier's Civilization VI\Mods\Balmung\Platforms\Windows\BLPs/LeaderFallbacks.blp For XLP: 'C:\Users\Balmung\Downloads\Civ Assets\Keniisu's Civ Template Balmung\XLPs\LeaderFallback.xlp'
    Starting 'LeaderFallbacks'
    Loading error asset: ()
    Error entity: () has class: () which is not allowed here! THIS IS VERY BAD!
    Error asset: () has errors itself. THIS IS VERY BAD!
    Removing package asset entry: (FALLBACK_BNB_BALMUNG_NEUTRAL) due to errors in (FALLBACK_BNB_BALMUNG_NEUTRAL)
    The following 2 entities had errors:
    Textures: 2
    FALLBACK_BNB_BALMUNG_NEUTRAL


    ****** Log from Texture: 'FALLBACK_BNB_BALMUNG_NEUTRAL' (ERRORS!!) ********
    --------------
    Object: 'FALLBACK_BNB_BALMUNG_NEUTRAL' has class 'LeaderFallbacks' but no class with this name exists


    ****** Log from Texture: '' (ERRORS!!) ********
    --------------
    I/O error reading XML: C:\Users\Balmung\Downloads\Civ Assets\Keniisu's Civ Template Balmung/Textures/.tex

    Load finished for: 'LeaderFallbacks' in 0.002 seconds
    Cook finished for: 'LeaderFallbacks' in 0.000 seconds
    Disk write finished for: 'LeaderFallbacks' in 0.007 seconds
    BLP: 'C:\Users\Balmung\Documents\My Games\Sid Meier's Civilization VI\Mods\Balmung\Platforms\Windows\BLPs/LeaderFallbacks.blp' HAS MISSING ENTRIES!
    Cleanup finished for: 'LeaderFallbacks' in 0.000 seconds
    Cook completed in 0.204 seconds
     
    Last edited: Mar 1, 2018

Share This Page