Need Help Understand ICS Strategy Please

Aleenik

Deity
I am very new to Civ 5 (Just started today) but I read about the ICS strategy and it looks like the best route to go, even if it almost seems like cheating its part of the game and if the devs were too dumb to fix those issues then so be it I guess.

So anyways, does anyone know where I can find the full details of an ICS strategy? I've seen many threads talking about it, sharing their ICS stories, and laying out a few basic rules, but I can't figure out the actual strategy from that. I'm looking for the full details of it. Basically all I know so far is that I build cities as close together as possible (Not sure if that means I should build cities on the coast first and then build cities in the interior in order to use up the most tiles possible) and I know I need to get colosseums in all my cities (Not sure if I'm allowed to build whatever else I want to besides that or not). I also read stuff about limiting pop growth to 2 until I get certain things, then 3 until I get certain things, etc... but seen people vary on even if pop growth should be halted at all. So ya basically I don't understand the ICS strategy at all. Links or even info here is appreciated.:)

ICS is an older strategy. The devs have made a number of changes since release to make it much more difficult to pull off until later on in the game.

The idea is to pack your cities in as tightly as possible, which is four tiles apart. The theory is fairly simple. Adding more cities gives you more base tiles (which improves the tile), :c5food: from Maritime allies, opportunities to build cheap, efficient buildings and more rapid population growth overall. All of that should translate into more of the outputs you want from your empire: :c5production:, :c5gold: and :c5science:.