Need to overhaul marine unit.

kenrickandbros

Chieftain
Hi, I'm new to Civ Fanatics and to forums in general. Here's hoping I did this right!:)

The current marine is only used in rare cases. It is a naval-land attack unit of the Atomic Era. Here are the current stats:

Production Cost: 400
Strength: 65 (slightly less than Infantry)
Movement: 2
Tech: Penicillin
Upgrades to: None!?!?

Abilities:
- Amphibious promotion (Eliminates combat penalty for attacking from the sea or over a river)
- Embarkation with Defense: Embarked units defend at double strength
- Extra Sight While Embarked

I think it needs to be buffed and there also needs to be an upgrade for it (Special forces?) in the Information Era. I think the buffs should have something to do with its naval-land attack purpose and not just some boring damage buff.

I think it should start with these promotions in addition to the ones it already has:
- +1 movement while embarked
- Pay just 1 movement to move from sea to land (Denmark's bonus)
- Woodsman promotion (Double movement rate through Forest and Jungle)

So, what do you think?

Hi, I'm new to Civ Fanatics and to forums in general. Here's hoping I did this right!:)

The current marine is only used in rare cases. It is a naval-land attack unit of the Atomic Era. Here are the current stats:

Production Cost: 400
Strength: 65 (slightly less than Infantry)
Movement: 2
Tech: Penicillin
Upgrades to: None!?!?

Abilities:
- Amphibious promotion (Eliminates combat penalty for attacking from the sea or over a river)
- Embarkation with Defense: Embarked units defend at double strength
- Extra Sight While Embarked

I think it needs to be buffed and there also needs to be an upgrade for it (Special forces?) in the Information Era. I think the buffs should have something to do with its naval-land attack purpose and not just some boring damage buff.

I think it should start with these promotions in addition to the ones it already has:
- +1 movement while embarked