1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Photobucket has changed its policy concerning hotlinking images and now requires an account with a $399.00 annual fee to allow hotlink. More information is available at: this link.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Dismiss Notice
  7. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

new Civilization: Cherokee

Discussion in 'Civ4 - New Civilizations' started by CivArmy s. 1994, Nov 20, 2005.

  1. CivArmy s. 1994

    CivArmy s. 1994 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Messages:
    3,641
    Location:
    Campinas, Brazil
    The Norther Native Americans civis r right back to the game now :D
    Enjoy!


    The file is: http://www.civfanatics.net/uploads10/Cherokee.zip

    Civilization: Cherokee
    Noun: Cherokee
    Adjective: Cherokee
    Colors: Purple
    Starts with: Hunting and Mining
    UU: Brave (Scout, 1+ power)





    Title and leader: Outacite Ostenaco
    Leader bonuses: Financial and Philosophical
    Leader favourite civic: Representation


    Cities:
    Tugaloo
    Keetoowah
    Ustanali
    Tellico
    Chota
    TO BE CONTINUED...











     
  2. Red Door

    Red Door Man of Mayhem

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Messages:
    12,665
    Location:
    USA #1
    You're still pouring these Civs out. Nice Job!
     
  3. Master Kodama

    Master Kodama Nitpicker

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Messages:
    407
    Location:
    Off Topic
    Very nice. :)

    But I still think that the leaders hair comes too far down on his forhead. :p
     
  4. Wyz_sub10

    Wyz_sub10 CIV Gold - Project Lead

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2001
    Messages:
    2,424
    ARGH! I'm currently almost done my First Peoples mod (which includes Huron, Iroquois, Sioux, Cherokee, Inuit, Apache and several others).

    I thought I'd have more time before someone jumped on it. :p Cannot rest for a moment around here. :)

    Did you want to consider combining? (We're using the sam UU, after all)
     
  5. Jecrell

    Jecrell Ruled: Civ3 - Civ5

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Messages:
    709
    Location:
    California, USA
    I know how you feel, I was going to do The Vikings; however, I feel CivArmy's Vikings may be much more interesting once animated leaderheads come around.
     
  6. CivArmy s. 1994

    CivArmy s. 1994 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Messages:
    3,641
    Location:
    Campinas, Brazil
    :lol:

    As I said on october 26th, this is my to do list for new civis :)



    The topic where I said I'd do that civis that I'm doing today is this one: http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?t=133163 (date: oct 26th). When I finish them I'll do missing civis as Celts, Sumeria, Catharge, Mayans and Neaderlands and them requests as Bulgaria, Inuit, Indonesia, Tibet, Phoenicians, Kushans and many others :) While I'm not able to export these LHs animated they will come static :( The same for units, which use texture work only today.

    But I see our LHs on different styles fellows, I don't see why stop a project cos another creator did the same civ in a tottaly different style ;) :)
    Come on, it is a hobby and it funny, let's continue create, the entire community apprecite that :D
     
  7. Wyz_sub10

    Wyz_sub10 CIV Gold - Project Lead

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2001
    Messages:
    2,424
    Oh, don't get me wrong. I think the work you are doing is terrific. I just think it's funny that you are moving along so quickly while some of us are still catching our breath. :)

    Seriously, I think it's great. If I could use your graphics for my First Peoples mod I would really appreciate it. Graphics are my weakness.
     
  8. LAnkou

    LAnkou Breizh A Tao

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,314
    Location:
    Paris, première ville bretonne
    well, i will have a problem then with Superciv, which one to include?

    Anyway, just a thing, isn't +1 power light for the UU? it's basically a warrior only defending with movement 2

    anyway, great job...
     
  9. Wyz_sub10

    Wyz_sub10 CIV Gold - Project Lead

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2001
    Messages:
    2,424
    You may be able to include both as the Civ names, leader names and city name will all be different. His Brave unit may be different as well (not sure), but if that's the case I'll use 'Warrior Brave' or some such thing.

    +1 power isn't too bad. Many UUs are equal power but start with extra things. I would have given the Brave 'Retreat' to start or 'Stealth' because those were two key strategies for natives of the plains and woodlands.
     
  10. CivArmy s. 1994

    CivArmy s. 1994 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Messages:
    3,641
    Location:
    Campinas, Brazil
    My pleasure to create the LH artworks to your mod, but since I have a long to do list I don't know when I can produce these LHs to u :( I have many model ready, I mean, some work of Civ3 that I can use on Civ4 and models that I've done before the game arrived in the stores, it helps me create faster :)


    i don't know what do for ancient units since the good characteristics (power, moviments per turn, costs...) were all chosen by Firaxis units, cos this sometimes my UU powers came too strong or too weak :(
     
  11. LAnkou

    LAnkou Breizh A Tao

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,314
    Location:
    Paris, première ville bretonne
    i propose you give him some promotion (wood1 seems good for me) or +1 movement rather than +1 power...

    It's not an attacking unit so giving him power is not so cool...

    just my 2 cents
     
  12. Wyz_sub10

    Wyz_sub10 CIV Gold - Project Lead

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2001
    Messages:
    2,424
    One of my leaders is Hiawatha (from Civ3) and one is Sitting Bull (was he in Civ2?).

    Can these be converted to produce static images for Civ4? My 3rd leader is Marten jumping - a woman Inuit leader. Not sure what to do there - wasn't there a Pocohontas model somewhere?
     
  13. CivArmy s. 1994

    CivArmy s. 1994 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Messages:
    3,641
    Location:
    Campinas, Brazil
    good suggestion :) I'll change it



    Sitting Bull was in Civ2 with his daughter (can't remember hers name right now) and u can easily convert a image (Civ3 LHs images, other ones...) for the *.dds file, the extension of the files of the static LHs easily. U just need the free software "DDS Convert" and some software to resize images as Photo Shop or Corel Draw.
    I can't remember the DDS Convert link, I remember I donwloaded it here on CFC, but don't know where :blush: If someone knows that, please, post :)
     
  14. Plankhead

    Plankhead Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Messages:
    53
    Do you plan to eventually udpate all your old Civs from Civ III? I'd really like to see that.
     
  15. CivArmy s. 1994

    CivArmy s. 1994 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Messages:
    3,641
    Location:
    Campinas, Brazil

    Yes for many of them :) Some examples: Tibet, Phoenicians, Kushan, Bulgaria, Argentina (Perón)... for other I want to create a different model, examples, Pedro II of Brazil, Che Guevara of Argentina, Canute...
     
  16. 5star_US

    5star_US Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    81
    YES!! Finally someone doing the Iroquois!! Let me know when you finish!
     
  17. Supreme Shogun

    Supreme Shogun Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2005
    Messages:
    168
    Yeah!! More Civs are cool! Thanks so much CivArmy.
     
  18. rebakan

    rebakan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2006
    Messages:
    221
    Location:
    Japan
    hello, everybody! My name's rebakan, I live in Japan, i bought CivIV from a company 2K, installed in my pc, when I try to put a new civilization, the game nothing happens! I've read and made everything that is taught in "Downloading and install new civs" but I still can't play it! My favorite is the Hittites.Please help me! Can even write me in my e-mail address: rebakan_625@hotmail.com.Thanks a lot!sorry!
     
  19. Impaler[WrG]

    Impaler[WrG] Civ4:Col UI programmer

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,750
    Location:
    Vallejo, California
    Dose the mod name appear in the upper right corner of the screen after loading? If not it not picking up the assets, make sure the pathway is good Civ4/Mods/NAME_OF_MOD/Assets/ under that are the xml and art folders which typically contain the most important data.
     

Share This Page