1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Photobucket has changed its policy concerning hotlinking images and now requires an account with a $399.00 annual fee to allow hotlink. More information is available at: this link.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Dismiss Notice
  7. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

New Civs?

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Rhye's and Fall of Civilization' started by kairob, Nov 15, 2006.

  1. kairob

    kairob Biohazard

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Messages:
    3,081
    Location:
    The North
    If we arn't having the Zulu or Korea then are we going to choose any civs to replace them?

    If so which ones?
     
  2. holy king

    holy king Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    16,323
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    i dont think theres any space for additional civs... theres not even space for the turks and they are in....
     
  3. kairob

    kairob Biohazard

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Messages:
    3,081
    Location:
    The North
    Edit; That is a good point, however I do think that the is space in some areas of the map for civs, including ones that had existed in civ 3...

    Also here is a suggestion how about adding byzantium and it spawning if rome controls greece in year X, or just if greece doesnt exist in year X?
     
  4. Drtad

    Drtad It Stinks!!!

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2006
    Messages:
    838
    This is just my opinion but I think the Turks should spawn in Central Asia, so that if they want Anatolia they'd have to conquer it. With the system now I don't think they really stand much of a chance.
     
  5. Prestidigitator

    Prestidigitator Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2006
    Messages:
    587
    Location:
    Is this a trick question?
    I think the civs that were dropped are now used as 'minor nations'. Didn't one tester say that we now have the celts, some other one and independant states?
     
  6. Hitti-Litti

    Hitti-Litti läski apina

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3,767
    Location:
    äteritsiputeritsipuolilautatsijänkä
    No more civs, I say. Not if barbs are heavily stronger or very much more agressive AI. In my Monarch-games only few nations collapse, if any. And revolutions cause that in 1750 every civ is alive.
     
  7. kairob

    kairob Biohazard

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Messages:
    3,081
    Location:
    The North
    What about if civs collapse easier andwe add civs but only if others are dead, so it increases variaty and the apponants we must face but without increasing turn times,(e.g. Italy apearing in turn X if rome is dead, Byzantium appearing in turn Y is greece is dead, Timur apearing if persia is dead in turn Z etc...)

    The only possible downside to this that I can see is the extra work required to impliment it, as it shouldnt slow the game down any more than the same civ comming back.
     
  8. Hitti-Litti

    Hitti-Litti läski apina

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3,767
    Location:
    äteritsiputeritsipuolilautatsijänkä
    ^^ Nice idea, but it would be better if:
    1)For Byzantium Rome must conquer Anatolia, Greece is dead and Byzantium revolts between 200-1000.
    2)Even better than Timurid Empire may be Mughal Empire, which would appear if Mongols would conquer Persia and a revolution would cause between 1500-1700.
    3)Italy would appear on year 1800--> if Rome is dead and France conquers Italy(France helped Garibaldi to form Italy).
     
  9. Phallus

    Phallus Freudian Slip

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Messages:
    605
    Location:
    The magical realm of Essex
    While it would be great to see dynamic civs in the way Kairob suggests, it seems a hell of a lot of work for something so minor.

    The Timurids and Mughals had very similar backgrounds, so you might as well put them together to create a nice Central Asian empire.

    If Italy were included, they should spawn earlier. Germany is represented as a unified nation long before 1871, and 15th century Italy was arguably more influential than 19th century Italy, after all.
     
  10. lumpthing

    lumpthing generic lump

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    Messages:
    781
    Location:
    Lumpinium, England
    As I've mentioned elsewhere, I would really like to see the Dutch and the Protuguese. It would make the struggle between the european powers for colonial dominance better and I just think you have a huge hole in world history if you leave them out. Since Portugal was under the Spanish crown for such a long time I'm more keen on the Dutch (if I had to choose between the two).
     
  11. Rhye

    Rhye 's and Fall creator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2001
    Messages:
    9,468
    Location:
    Japan / South America

    never say never.
    After the release of warlords version I'll stress your computers with a load of minor civs (and after a comparison with the current number (3) in terms of speed, make the final cut).
    Between these, I could add script-guided Dutch and Portuguese, minor (not playable) civs.
     
  12. lumpthing

    lumpthing generic lump

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    Messages:
    781
    Location:
    Lumpinium, England
    woohoo! :D (i'm aware that what you said wasn't a promise of course)

    But why not playable civs? I'd love the challenge of building a world empire from a one-city homeland.
     
  13. kairob

    kairob Biohazard

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Messages:
    3,081
    Location:
    The North
    then if germany is wiped out before 1930 we could witness a rise of hitler, etc...
    It does seam a lot of work just for flavour that was the only downside I could think of :(, but if you could get it so they always spawn if the player chooses one it would add a lot more choice for a very little if any difference in speed.
    I cant personally mod for the life of me but I am sure the are plenty of graphics available to use it is just a case of installing them all and choosing UHV/UU/UB et al...
     
  14. Hitti-Litti

    Hitti-Litti läski apina

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3,767
    Location:
    äteritsiputeritsipuolilautatsijänkä
    Rhye, are you going to input more nations if we, fellow forum members, make LHs and that stuff? I'd like to see Timurid Empire or Mughal Empire.
     
  15. McA123

    McA123 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    541
    Location:
    NS, Canada
    I agree with Lumpthing about the Dutch and Portugese. It would be challenging and fun to run one-city-in-europe empires. Besdies, it gets kind of boring only seeing Blue, Red and Yellow in the Americas. ;)
     
  16. NitroJay

    NitroJay Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    270
    Location:
    Tecumseh, MI
    I'm pretty sure it's been discussed before, but I miss the Iroquois from Civ3... They were a challenge to play in Rhye's civ3 mod and they'd be even more so with the spawn of America and the more realistic European colonization...

    I'm all for leaving them out though if the Warlords AI still won't invade...
     
  17. thenooblet22

    thenooblet22 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    850
    Location:
    Texas, USA
    I always depict Greece as Byzanium in my games. Even though Byzantium was the eastern front of the old Roman Empire, they adopt the Hellenistic culture.

    So...

    Greece = Byzantium

    But, I would like to see a Iroquois Confederation to give those pesky Europeans some opposition. Even though it wouldn't be an exact match, you could use the Shaka leaderhead. Maybe even mod more appropriate skin to help blend it to the Native American culture.
     
  18. Rhye

    Rhye 's and Fall creator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2001
    Messages:
    9,468
    Location:
    Japan / South America
    I know it would be fun (a kind of "Rhye's Goal-based Challanges" from civ3), but they would require extra work: UU, UB, UP, UHVs, and a leaderhead
     
  19. Rhye

    Rhye 's and Fall creator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2001
    Messages:
    9,468
    Location:
    Japan / South America
    well honestly there are plenty of other minor civs imho more important and useful than Timur or Mughal.
     
  20. lumpthing

    lumpthing generic lump

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    Messages:
    781
    Location:
    Lumpinium, England
    I totally agree with what you are saying, but why would the Iroquois be an exception??!!

    Please, please, please, no Iroquois (or any other non-urban Native American) civ in RFC. It would totally destroy the historical feel of colonizing the Americas. I do not want to see a massive Iroquois empire full of road, mines, irrigation and massive juggernaut-cities in place of the untamed West. Pleeeaasseee.....
     

Share This Page