1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

New Colonies/Leaders Discussion

Discussion in 'Civ4Col - Wild West Mod' started by TC01, Aug 28, 2009.

  1. TC01

    TC01 Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    2,216
    Location:
    Irregularly Online
    v0.3 is almost finished, and I don't think anything more will be added to it.

    However, for the future, I was thinking about expanding the number of colonies and leaders we have currently. We only have 6 leaders and four colonies:

    American Colonies:

    • Oregon Territory: John McLoughin
    • Utah Territory: Brigham Young

    Mexican Colonies:

    • Republic of Texas: Stephen Austin, Sam Houston
    • California Republic: John Fremont, William Ide

    master_akura suggested adding either Jim Bridger or Caleb Walton West as a second Utah leader. Which one should I use? Should I use both? Any other leader suggestions (specifically for Oregon Territory, but also for Texas or California?)

    He also suggested adding "New Mexico Territory". I'd love to add an additional civilization, but I think we should balance it by adding another American colony. I didn't really like "Minnesota Territory". Are there any better suggestions for another American colony? Any leader suggestions for either of these?

    I'd like to add more civs/leaders by v0.4 or v0.5 at least, so I thought I'd start this discussion topic now.
     
  2. blue-army

    blue-army Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Location:
    Leicestershire, England
    why not add one of the Mormon settlers as an American colony. I don't know much about the Mormon exbeditions but I know they did settle in the west.
     
  3. blue-army

    blue-army Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Location:
    Leicestershire, England
    whoops, sorry. Just had a look through my great migrations book and saw that you already had the Mormon settlers in the game.
    New mexico would be a good colony for mexico and you could have kansas, nebraska or arkansas territories for the US.
     
  4. TC01

    TC01 Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    2,216
    Location:
    Irregularly Online
    Yes, they settled in Utah. Hence... Utah Territory as an existing civilization.

    That's another thing that needs to be done- pedia entries for everything.

    EDIT: Never mind, you posted while I was posting.
     
  5. TC01

    TC01 Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    2,216
    Location:
    Irregularly Online
    Any leader ideas for any of those potential civilizations? I'd probably go with Kansas or Nebraska over Arkansas, though.
     
  6. blue-army

    blue-army Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Location:
    Leicestershire, England
    Kansas terriotory could have Andrew Horatio Reeder as a leader since he was the first govenor of the territory. he could have a trait that gives higher production rates because at the time Kansas was a pro slavery territory.
    not sure who to have for Nebraska though.
    Another possible Civ could be Colorado territory with Antoine Janis as a leader.
     
  7. drjest2000

    drjest2000 Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2001
    Messages:
    332
    Location:
    retired
    Just thinking about Dakota Territory (Montana, North and South Dakota), Indian Territory (Oklahoma), Washington Territory (Washington, Idaho), Nebraska Territory (Nebraska, Wyoming), Idaho Territory after 1863, and so on. These are all a bit north of the zone you're concentrating on in the mod, but they were being colonized and developed in parallel with the south-western territories.

    The "Dakota Boom" from 1870 to 1880 saw a large influx of settlers from other western territories as well as many from Northern and Western Europe. The non-American settlers were mostly Norwegians, Germans, Swedes, and Canadians. Abraham Lincoln's cousin-in-law, J.B.S. Todd, personally lobbied for the creation of Dakota Territory, so I'd make him the LH for Dakota Territory.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Ekmek

    Ekmek on steam: ekmek_e

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2002
    Messages:
    6,047
    Location:
    San Diego, California
  9. danzig082

    danzig082 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    texas had its own split up during the civil war look up the Constitution of west texas for your civ revoloution. and use one of the republic of texas flags instead of the state flag also remember that the original republic of texas had part of 5 other states in it so it doesnt look like texas of today ... I need a texas civ :(
     
  10. Androrc the Orc

    Androrc the Orc Emperor

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Messages:
    1,621
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    I wonder if it would be too complicated to make the DERIVATIVE_CIV field in CivilizationInfos an array? I think I saw something to this effect for Civ4 a while ago.
     
  11. Androrc the Orc

    Androrc the Orc Emperor

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Messages:
    1,621
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    Setting multiple civilizations to the same parent was much easier than I previously thought - all that is needed to be done is to change every reference to "DerivativeCiv" in Civ4CivilizationsSchema.xml, CvInfos.cpp, CvInfos.h and CyInfoInterface2.cpp to "ParentCiv" and then edit CvPlayer.cpp so that this:

    Code:
    	//assign europe civilization as parent
    	for (int iParent = 0; iParent < MAX_PLAYERS; ++iParent)
    	{
    		CvPlayer& kParent = GET_PLAYER((PlayerTypes) iParent);
    		if(kParent.getCivilizationType() != NO_CIVILIZATION)
    		{
    			if(GC.getCivilizationInfo(kParent.getCivilizationType()).getDerivativeCiv() == getCivilizationType())
    			{
    				setParent((PlayerTypes) iParent);
    				break;
    			}
    		}
    	}
    
    is replaced with this:

    Code:
    	//assign europe civilization as parent
    	if(GC.getCivilizationInfo(getCivilizationType()).getParentCiv() != NO_CIVILIZATION)
    	{
    		for (int iParent = 0; iParent < MAX_PLAYERS; ++iParent)
    		{
    			CvPlayer& kParent = GET_PLAYER((PlayerTypes) iParent);
    			if(kParent.getCivilizationType() == GC.getCivilizationInfo(getCivilizationType()).getParentCiv())
    			{
    				setParent((PlayerTypes) iParent);
    			}
    		}
    	}
    
    and then that this:

    Code:
    bool CvPlayer::isEurope() const
    {
    	if (getCivilizationType() == NO_CIVILIZATION)
    	{
    		return false;
    	}
    
    	if (GC.getCivilizationInfo(getCivilizationType()).getDerivativeCiv() == NO_CIVILIZATION)
    	{
    		return false;
    	}
    
    	return true;
    }
    
    is replaced with this:

    Code:
    bool CvPlayer::isEurope() const
    {
    	if (getCivilizationType() == NO_CIVILIZATION)
    	{
    		return false;
    	}
    
    	for (int iChild = 0; iChild < MAX_PLAYERS; ++iChild)
    	{
    		CvPlayer& kChild = GET_PLAYER((PlayerTypes) iChild);
    		if(kChild.getCivilizationType() != NO_CIVILIZATION)
    		{
    			if(GC.getCivilizationInfo(kChild.getCivilizationType()).getParentCiv() == getCivilizationType())
    			{
    				return true;
    			}
    		}
    	}
    
    	return false;
    }
    
    The Civ4CivilizationInfos.xml would have to be edited as well, so that the <DerivativeCiv> tags are replaced with <ParentCiv> ones, and changing the civilization references accordingly (for instance, with the original Civ4Col civilizations, that would mean setting CIVILIZATION_ENGLAND's <ParentCiv> field to CIVILIZATION_ENGLAND_EUROPE, while setting CIVILIZATION_ENGLAND_EUROPE's <ParentCiv> field to NONE.
     
  12. TC01

    TC01 Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    2,216
    Location:
    Irregularly Online
    It seems to work... My only concern would be what happened if two civs had the same parent, and one declared a revolution and the other didn't.

    Would the REF be twice the size, like it is if two players sign a Permanent Alliance? Would the King have a separate REF per colony?

    I suspect he wouldn't, but without testing or a better understanding of how things work, I can't definitively say. All I know is that prior to Revolution, the REF units are stored in the King's Europe.
     
  13. Androrc the Orc

    Androrc the Orc Emperor

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Messages:
    1,621
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    I haven't tested that, but though I thought too that it was stored in the King's Europe, after taking a look at CvPlayer.cpp it seems that the REF units aren't stored in the King's Europe, but rather in the m_aEuropeRevolutionUnits array in the child.
     
  14. TC01

    TC01 Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    2,216
    Location:
    Irregularly Online
    Ah. Looking at CvTeam::doRevolution, I see that REF units are spawned in Europe when revolution occurs.

    Still, though, I could see a problem where one civ revolts and is crushed, and the REF still on the field joins with the REF for the other civ.
     
  15. Androrc the Orc

    Androrc the Orc Emperor

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Messages:
    1,621
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    Yes, I'm almost certain that that would happen.
     
  16. Ekmek

    Ekmek on steam: ekmek_e

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2002
    Messages:
    6,047
    Location:
    San Diego, California
    Delivering on my very late promise.

    Here is William B Ide.

    The attached rar should be all the files


     

    Attached Files:

  17. TC01

    TC01 Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    2,216
    Location:
    Irregularly Online
    Thanks Ekmek! I'll include this in the next patch/version.
     

Share This Page