1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

New Colonization/DaoNE v5.23

Discussion in 'Civ4Col - Dawn of A New Era' started by M07, May 21, 2017.

  1. M07

    M07 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Messages:
    511
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canada
    Hello everyone,

    Once again, a minor version for DoaNE, I mainly fix a big issue for the trade routes feature.
    It has impact for AI and humans.

    Next version should be a major version. The economy aspect of the game will totally change.

    Have fun with DoaNE ;)

     
  2. Nexus1980

    Nexus1980 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Hi M07,

    Thanks for putting a lot of effort in this great MOD. any idea yet when the next version will comme out?

    A+
     
  3. Dewion_86

    Dewion_86 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    @M07
    Hi there!
    I just recently tried this mod, have been using RaR for a very long time...

    I was so overwhelmed by different gameplay experience. This mod is like a new game using the same engine.
    Last time I experienced such a feeling was when I played Final Frontier for the first time. :crazyeye:

    Very interesting and exciting. I thank everyone who have taken part to create such a mod.:)

    But I have issues. It seems that the mod, at least for me, is unplayable. :confused:
    I tried many different game options, mostly number of european players and size of the map. I noticed that if I create the biggest map, the game will freeze after 3-6 turns, so I thought that the 2 biggest maps are just so big that those are unplayable.
    But then I tried huge, large and even standard, still the game freezes after some time.

    Is this a known issue and are others experiencing these freezes after 60-100 turns?

    Anyway, keep up the good work.
     
  4. Nexus1980

    Nexus1980 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Hi Dewion,

    Seems M07 is on vacation ;-). First of all i want to talk to you about the game freezing (on standard map) . YES i have the same issue. Let me tell you what i did to be able to continue. I thought it had to do with an european going to war with you... The turn before the game freezes go to World Builder and delete the european capital that havent gone to ware with you yet. (the other cities is not necessary) if that is indead the problem you can try and find the european nation that wanted to go to war and only delete that capital. it should help you to continue the game. It's not ideal.. but it certainly will not let you lose all progress.

    I hope M07 will adress this issue.

    Also i have an issue with 5.23.. The automation of routes with wagon trains (contracts with indian villages & routes to your cities) doesn't work properly when a neighbouring european nation goes to war with you. It stays gray and does nothing anymore. If you could adress this bug i would be very greatful!

    As Dewion mentions. great Mod! The new version The AI is really better! much more difficult! i like it. maybe i'll post some other (positive) remarks & bugs later today
     
  5. Nexus1980

    Nexus1980 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Hi Dewion,

    Seems M07 is on vacation ;-). First of all i want to talk to you about the game freezing (on standard map) . YES i have the same issue. Let me tell you what i did to be able to continue. I thought it had to do with an one of the european nations going to war with you... The turn before the game freezes go to World Builder and delete the european capitals that havent gone to ware with you yet. (the other cities are not necessary) if that is indead the problem you can try and find the european nation that wanted to go to war (1 by 1) and only delete that capital. it should help you to continue the game. It's not ideal.. but it certainly will not let you lose all progress.

    I hope M07 will adress this issue.

    Also i have an issue with 5.23.. The automation of routes with wagon trains (not ships) (contracts with indian villages & routes to your cities) doesn't work properly when a neighbouring european nation goes to war with you. It stays gray and does nothing anymore. If you could adress this bug i would be very greatful!

    As Dewion mentions. great Mod! The new version of the AI is much better! i like that.
     
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2017
  6. Nexus1980

    Nexus1980 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Hi M07,

    There's something odd with the recruitment area (Immigration) whenever you call a specific immigration profession (i.e. master carpenter) and a master carpenter is indead solliciting and you wait a turn (without buying) sometimes more of the same profession are solliciting. i observed this many times. Is there a certain logic behind?

    Small bug (i'm happy to take advantage of) whenever a military ship plunders another vessel with goods you can afterwards when going to europe (only through the warehouse) put other goods in it.
     
  7. M07

    M07 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Messages:
    511
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canada
    Hello Dewion_86,

    Sorry for the delay, Nexus1980 is right about the bug. However for the biggest map, it is strange that the game freezes after 3-6 turns. is it a freeze or a crash (back to windows).?
    Thanks for your comment.

    Hello Nexus1980,

    I don't have a lot of time to work on DoaNE currently, but for sure I will continue working on it.
    One thing you can help me is to send me a save before a freeze or a bug occurs. Some comments will be appreciate, like remove these city to make it work, remove these unit, ...

    Your question about immigration is simple to answer. Every turn, you have probability to have an immigrant for each specialist, even if another immigrant wanted to join your civilization. So it can happen to have two master carpenters if you wait a turn without buying the first one.

    Well done for the military ship, i did not think about this case. I will do fix for this issue.
     
  8. Zadera

    Zadera Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Hey there M07, is there any chance you may fix 5.23 to utilize mulitplayer? My friend and I have been playing 5.10 but 5.23 does not work on LAN for us.
     
  9. M07

    M07 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Messages:
    511
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canada
    Hi Zadera,
    I have just tried a LAN game (2 players) for 35 turns and it works like a charm.

    What kind of issue do you have?
     
    Last edited: Sep 10, 2017
  10. Zadera

    Zadera Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Strange, it would not allow us to see each other's game, so we could not even log in. I can try it again on Tuesday evening and I will keep you informed.
     
  11. M07

    M07 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Messages:
    511
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canada
    I suggest you to use Evolve Download here.
    This application allows us to do LAN games even if you are not playing with a friend that plays in another network.
    I have tested several times and it works well.

    Every player needs an account.
    For a step by step documentation, see this

    If you are in Windows 10, you will have an issue to create or join games.
    1. Open PowerShell: search in the Start Menu "Windows PowerShell", click droit, and click on "Run as administrator"
    2. Copy the workaround script below and paste it into the PowerShell window by right-clicking. Then, press Enter to run it. Accept the permission prompt.
    3. If the message "Success!" is displayed, restart your computer.
    Code:
    Start-Process powershell -Verb runAs -ArgumentList '-EncodedCommand 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'
    
    I did it some minutes ago and it is working.

    In Colonization, you just have to create a LAN game and it will work.
    And if you face some issues to use it, feel free to ask me.
     
    Last edited: Sep 10, 2017
  12. Zadera

    Zadera Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    You rock!... thanks so much for the quick response and good answers.
     
  13. M07

    M07 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Messages:
    511
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canada
    Thanks. You are welcome. ;)
     
  14. Nexus1980

    Nexus1980 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Hey M07, is an update in order soon? :goodjob:

    Just that nasy bug when a nearby european nation that you're at war with and then that trade routes are affected by it are a bit bugging me. :mad:

    Thank you for your hard work on this mod!:thumbsup:
     
  15. M07

    M07 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Messages:
    511
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canada
    Hi @Nexus1980,

    I am working on DoaNE and I plan to release DaoNE v5.24 in the next two weeks.

    About the bug, I think it is just a security to prevent your convoy to be attacked.
    In the trade routes screen, you should have a checkbox to allow automation even in war time. It can be risky, but it often worth it :)

    Tell me it has solved your issue. Otherwise you can send me a save by MP. And I will fix the bug for the next version.

    Thanks for your comment ;)
     
  16. Nexus1980

    Nexus1980 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Hi M07. I'm aware of checkbox. Sometimes i use it early in the game for not risking my carracks or galleon. this is another problem. The military escorts won't do anything as long as i have been in war with a neigbouring european or indian nation. . As soon as i have peace i can re-automate them.

    i'll try sending you the savegame. you see between the cities New Amsterdam & Vila do esperita santo.
     
  17. M07

    M07 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Messages:
    511
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canada
    I have sent you my mail address by PM. Tell me if you have received it.
     
  18. M07

    M07 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Messages:
    511
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canada
    I have fixed the issue. Thanks you for the save. The fix will be available in the next version.
    In your game, I saw you were not using trade routes in the right way (in my point of view).
    You should regroup your ships in fleet in order to protect them (In Europe yo can drag and drop two ships together).
    If you regroup and escort naval with two galleons, your escort will in any time try to protect your two galleons.
    However, if you have to much merchant ships and not enough escorts, pirates could attack one of your merchant ship.
     

Share This Page