1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

New Dynamic CIV names

Discussion in 'Rise of Mankind: A New Dawn' started by R3ZPU13LIK4, Apr 5, 2018.

?

What do you think of the suggested names?

  1. I like.

    100.0%
  2. Needs improvement.

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. R3ZPU13LIK4

    R3ZPU13LIK4 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Hey everyone! I'm here looking to update the Dynamic CIV names mod as the update 1068 added a lot of new civics and it was based off of the old Rise of Mankind civics, I believe.
     
    black213 likes this.
  2. R3ZPU13LIK4

    R3ZPU13LIK4 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2018
    Messages:
    7
     
  3. Vokarya

    Vokarya Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    Messages:
    5,967
    The first question is are we going to keep the current system as well, and implement these changes inside it? I'm guessing the answer is yes, so we need to break down the logic of the code and decide where to implement these changes.

    The first thing to pay attention to is to ignore any line that starts with if( self.LOG_DEBUG and bVerbose ). These are for debugging.
     
  4. Vokarya

    Vokarya Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    Messages:
    5,967
    I've already found two interesting things reading through the Dynamic Civ Names code.

    One is there is a flag for "No Real Elections". This is currently set to True if you are running Despotism or Monarchy. I think this flag should be set if you are also running Autocracy (you can't run it with Democracy or Federation, but you can with Republic, so Republic + Autocracy is a sham republic) or Junta or Single Party. I still haven't seen everything this flag does.

    Two is that there is a way to create a "Something Union" name -- it's "Soviet Union" if you are Russia, and your adjective Union for any other civ. But to trigger it, you have to have a Communist civic (Single Party or Planned), either a No Real Elections civic (as I mentioned above) or no Can Do Elections civic (Republic/Democracy/Federation/Senate/Parliament/President), and a Democracy Level of exactly -8. We can't do this right now because there is no civic with a Democracy Level of -8. (Original Revolutions for BTS had this for Police State.)

    Democracy Level is also used for certain checks to push you to a more democratic government. What I want to do here is go back and change the "Union" check to -10. That way if you are Despotism (or for some reason Chiefdom) you will trigger the Union name.
     
  5. R3ZPU13LIK4

    R3ZPU13LIK4 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    So basically you have to make a new civic and add that flag to the commy civics.

    Does it interfere with other flags?
     
  6. Vokarya

    Vokarya Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    Messages:
    5,967
    I don't need to make a new civic, just adjust the check for whether a government is sufficiently repressive enough to count. With the democracy level check at -10 and playing as Russia, adopting Despotism and Planned is sufficient.

    Civ4ScreenShot0007.JPG
     
  7. 45°38'N-13°47'E

    45°38'N-13°47'E Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,747
    Location:
    Just wonder...
    I wonder why the term "Union" should be associated with something "bad" as Soviet Union or other repressive governments. What about European Union?
     
  8. Zeta Nexus

    Zeta Nexus Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    2,928
    Location:
    In a constant brainstorm...
    Agree. Union should require Federation civic instead of democracy check.
     
  9. 45°38'N-13°47'E

    45°38'N-13°47'E Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,747
    Location:
    Just wonder...
    Also IIRC Union is used when Permanent Alliances is active.
     

Share This Page