1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

New Official Version - June 19th (6-19)

Discussion in 'Community Patch Project' started by Gazebo, Jun 19, 2020.

  1. vyyt

    vyyt Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Messages:
    2,249
    Location:
    Czech Republic
    They were probably bribed into the war and were not really interested in fighting you?
     
    JamesNinelives likes this.
  2. rp03ev

    rp03ev Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    70
    earlier i was like 8/10th in military score and total score and i declared war on 2nd/10th military power and 1st overall total score civ bc saw a settler coming near where i wanted to settle....i captured the settler into worker then AIs big city was near mine and it had way more units than me but never once did it come to attack....just sued to peace after 11 turns. emperor difficulty if that matters.

    i remember playing this ~ year ago and denmark declared war on me who was like an ocean away and i didnt really care till i saw a massive fleet and army come invade my home island...i was blown away by how good it was. came back thinking this version gonna be something similar...instead feels like civ 6 ai. i wish i remembered what version i played last summer. maybe some of my mods are messing it up bc the combat ai felt 100x better than this when i played this ~year ago.
     
    Last edited: Aug 5, 2020
  3. CppMaster

    CppMaster Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2018
    Messages:
    1,202
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Poland
    Nah, I don't think AI was better a year ago. It's the opposite. Try again with aggressive civs like Greek, Mongolia, Aztec or Zulu, make them angry and see if they attack you. What difficulty do you play?
     
    JamesNinelives likes this.
  4. Asterix Rage

    Asterix Rage Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,355
    VP(6-19)+patch july29
    Civ5Screen0055.png

    Boarded (I) > -2 moves
    Boarded (III) > -4 moves
    _________________________
    Boarded (II) > -4 moves !
    Intented?
    Boarded (III) dropped ?
     
    Last edited: Aug 5, 2020
    JamesNinelives likes this.
  5. SuperNoobCamper

    SuperNoobCamper King

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2017
    Messages:
    633
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Egypt
    The Iroquois longhouse does not provide production to camps like the normal herbalist ... Is that intended?
     
  6. Stalker0

    Stalker0 Baller Magnus

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2005
    Messages:
    7,063
    Just found this funny. When one turn REALLY matters :)

    Spoiler :


     

    Attached Files:

    AndreyK, cerk, Vhozite and 12 others like this.
  7. jaymrobinson

    jaymrobinson Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Had a strange problem rebasing bombers, where it seemed to overwrite the bombers that were already in the city.
    • Rebase bomber from City A > City B
    • Rebase bomber from City C > City B
    • City B only contains 1 bomber
     
  8. azum4roll

    azum4roll Emperor

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2018
    Messages:
    1,250
    Gender:
    Male
    Sounds like the same bug that removes one of the 0 movement point planes from a city with 2/2 planes.
     
    vyyt and JamesNinelives like this.
  9. JamesNinelives

    JamesNinelives Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2019
    Messages:
    1,566
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Australia
    Intended. I think the rationale was that the longhouse is very strong already, so if forest/jungle camps got an extra buff they would be unbalanced. Unfortunately it does mean that non-forest/jungle camps like ivory and bison aren't as strong when playing Iroquois.
     
  10. SuperNoobCamper

    SuperNoobCamper King

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2017
    Messages:
    633
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Egypt
    Not just bison and Ivory, sometimes truffles and foxes spawn on non forested tiles.
    Wasn't this the case for the Mongolian Ger iirc? It gave bonuses to animal resources only but not the usual resources a normal granary would buff and it was changed later.
    IMO think it's kinda counter intuitive to have a unique replacement be situationally worse than the normal variant.
     
  11. FreedomSS

    FreedomSS Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Location:
    Somewhere on Earth

    Don't think the AI got a nerf, I mean just look at this fleet lol

    Spoiler :
     
    cerk, Kim Dong Un, Erikose and 3 others like this.
  12. JamesNinelives

    JamesNinelives Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2019
    Messages:
    1,566
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Australia
    I'm not against it giving a bonus to camps, but IMO it's already pretty good so it's not really needed. The Longhouse grants 2 food and 1 culture straight up, and the Iroquois have a forest bias. It's pretty rare in my Iroquois games to be in a situation where I would prefer Herbalists in my cities.

    Edit:
    Currently plantations and forest/jungle camps both get the same bonus from the longhouse, which is nice. Improved plantations don't connect cities for the Iroquois or give combat bonuses so they need the buff from longhouses to stay relevant. This way any start with lots of forest/jungle is strong! Non-forest/jungle camp starts are weaker for The Iroquois than non-forest/jungle plantation starts though, which is a bit odd.

    I suppose you could give a simple +1 production to both camps and plantations (as the Herbalist does). That would still put forest/jungle camps above all other starts as the Iroquois though, and make jungle/forest plantation starts weaker. It would shift the focus on the civ slightly away from forest/jungle areas and towards areas with lots of camps.

    Another option would be for longhouses to give a bonus to camps, but only on terrain without features. That way the Iroquois would get a boost from any camp or plantation start without making forest/jungle camps OP or forest/jungle plantations too weak. This would make the civ more versatile, and in particular make Iroquois games with little forest or jungle less painful. It would also make the civ a touch stronger overall though, and they seem to be in a good place at the moment.
     
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2020
    SuperNoobCamper likes this.
  13. SuperNoobCamper

    SuperNoobCamper King

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2017
    Messages:
    633
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Egypt
    You don't need thousands of hours in the game to know that the bias is not dependable and even when it works it's not guaranteed to generate an Amazon like forest/jungle for your Iroquois game or a mississippi like rive4 for your Songhai game.
    You can actually get one or two forest tiles or a single tile long river and the game would call it a start bias.
     
  14. JamesNinelives

    JamesNinelives Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2019
    Messages:
    1,566
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Australia
    True, but as you mention it's not a Iroquois-specific problem. I've discussed the situation with the Longhouse and given some suggestions. Fixing issues with start biases is a much bigger subject.
     
  15. rp03ev

    rp03ev Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    70
    i feel like the mods im running is conflicting. does the AI invade u if you ignore your military or is it too passive like for me? I am in modern era almost and i literally ignored military units, just have one for each of my city and thats it....and AI never try to invade me once even tho my neighbors have 10x more miltary power than me. im dead last in military score bc been totally ignoring building up the military and still haven't gotten invaded once by the ai.

    i remember player this mod a while back maybe year or two ago and always had to be on my toes and had to keep up in military or AI will invade you...that was so much more fun than this passive AI where u can pretty much ignore maintaining a military since you have no threat of getting invaded anymore. i wish i knew what version it was so i can play that again instead of these new versions.
     
  16. JamesNinelives

    JamesNinelives Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2019
    Messages:
    1,566
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Australia
    What mods are you running?
     
  17. rp03ev

    rp03ev Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    70
    Ethnic Units (v 31)
    Slower Science Longer Eras (v 1)
    Global Relations (v 7) <<not an ai mod just a simplified version of infoaddict
    (over) More Unique Components for VP (v 59)
    (9a) Enhanced Air Warfare 4VP (v 1.0)
    Enhanced Naval Warfare for Vox Populi (v 1.6)
    Promotion Flags EUI for VP (v 3)
    Historical Religions Edit (BNW or GK) (v 45)
    Quick Turns (v 10)
    Really Advanced Setup (v 15)
    Krakatoa Fix (v 100)
    Toft flags (individual for each civ not the package for all in one)
     
    JamesNinelives likes this.
  18. FreedomSS

    FreedomSS Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Location:
    Somewhere on Earth

    Not sure, I always have some units and is (usually) around the global average, when i restart another game I'll not build anything and see how the AI reacts lol
     
  19. CppMaster

    CppMaster Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2018
    Messages:
    1,202
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Poland
    Hmm, huge potential for bugs, just saying ;) Try just VP to see if the problem stays.
     
    JamesNinelives likes this.
  20. azum4roll

    azum4roll Emperor

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2018
    Messages:
    1,250
    Gender:
    Male
    Next version will assure Natural Wonders appear at decent city sites, so Krakatoa Fix won't be necessary (and it's likely not compatible with VP anyway) ;)
     
    rp03ev, JamesNinelives and Erikose like this.

Share This Page