New perspective

JohnnyW

Gave up on this game
I've been playing video games for 25 years now. It's part of who I am, sad or not. Recently I just had the idea that maybe I'm not normal in this regard: there are probably a lot more people with less than 5 years of game playing beneath their belts. That got me thinking about what differences we would want in our games.

Being a grizzled veteran of many genres I demand a lot from most games I play. I appreciate games for what they try to be (simple time-wasters like minesweeper for example), but I do expect a very high quality from any game I intend to play with regularity.

When it comes to strategy games I've played quite a few, even board games. Games like Blokus, Axis and Allies, chess, these are examples of games that I've played and achieved some level of mastery. When it comes to video games there is the potential for so much more strategic depth because of the medium. Unless a game provides some insane depth I generally won't feel like the game is a very good puzzle for me to solve - and if the game is not a good puzzle then there should be another reason for me to play the game (for example: immersion), but then is its true purpose to be a strategy game? Grizzled vets like me probably also want complex depth for them to sink their teeth into and learn something new every time they play. But having so much depth could easily be intimidating for people with less gaming experience.

So what is this rant trying to say? Maybe we grizzled vets need to accept that we just aren't who games will be made for anymore. It's not that the games are changing, we have. We demand more and more from video games, perhaps to an unreasonable level?