New To Civ IV - It's Not Grabbing Me

RobS

Warlord
Edit: NOTE, many of my complaints in this post have been resolved downtopic. I'm mostly overwhelmed by the graphics and complexity of this game, compared to the earlier Civs.

So, I'm a longtime Civ player, starting with the original. I graduated to Civ II and then Civ III, which I played since shortly after its release (2001?) until about a couple of years ago, so about 15 years - great game.

I bought Civ IV about a year ago and finally started getting into it about a month ago. It's not grabbing me, like the previous iterations did by this time. I'm playing Civ IV Beyond the Sword, v.3.19, which I think is the final version.

I've so far started about a dozen games, at low skill level of course, Chieftain, and the last couple at Warlord. None were played to completion. The reason I haven't played any to completion is basically because things get really boring once I get into the 1900's, game time.
I obviously know it's a complicated game with complex interactions, and the strong tendency to play according to the Civ III rules that I'm familiar with is still something I need to overcome, although I've definitely been making good progress with that, but there are nevertheless a number of things I don't think I will ever like about this game, which for now include:

Graphics - The graphics are far too busy.
It's too hard to discern the units from the background scenery, and many similar units from one another.
Roads and railroads do not graphically connect properly and are too hard to see. I know the developers were trying to avoid the end-game maze of roads and railroads from Civ III, but they should still be more visible than they are.
The various on-screen texts are far too small. Their colors are often too hard to read on top of the map graphics.