1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

New to Civ V

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Strategy & Tips' started by Camardo12, Jan 30, 2011.

1. Camardo12

Camardo12 Chieftain

I never before played on a huge map before. I am only going for a domination win. What are the best strategies ? I am still learning the game so any helpful tips will be great. I am playing as China.

2. blac

blac Warlord

I would say rush early so you can stop the other civs from expanding, which will only make it more difficult. What map type are you playing on?

3. hellboy909

hellboy909 Chieftain

What he said. More information is needed (map type, difficulty, etc).

4. Michl2602

Michl2602 Warlord

Domination victory on a huge "World"-map is very hard, because it needs you to have the lead not only in the sciences according military units and economics, but also according ships (and you'll have to build lots of them too, and outproducing the others everywhere).
    I so far didn't even manage to find all opps (before satelites, when it's too late to start your domination :)), when playing at this card. Therefore I win by spaceship most of the time.
    At Prince and higher, you'll additionally have to buy (or destroy) lots of CS, to prevent the AI from winning diplomatically.

If it has to be a huge map, I would suggest Panagea (so that you can streamline science to Mech. Inf etc.), otherwise smaller maps make domination a lot easier.

I would suggest you to take the Romans at a smaller panagea map to first learn the technics of warmongering in Civ5, because they are best suited for early domination (without having diplomatic leadership trait like Greek, which calls for a more mixed strategy, and with much less science needed to get their UUs going than the Chinese).